We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveler rating
181
49
18
1
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
49
18
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loft room costa rica shared kitchen swimming pool quiet location great kitchen breakfast included common areas great advice air conditioning mal pais martin barbara hostel supermarket surf beach
Filter
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 254 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2012

The best hostel in s.t next to a supermarket & a soda place, 100m. From the beach, very clean, the best stuff, planned to stay 3 days, stayed 14 :) great pool, nice beds, crazy clean, big & open kitchen, in 2 words: go there :)

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erezyosef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Cuesta Arriba is a good place especially for backpackers and surfers. It is located right opposite the beach access and one of the main surf spots of the area. The rooms were basic but clean and it had a common kitchen and a wifi, even though the wifi was not always available in the rooms. To my liking the rooms were a bit dark with small windows which you couldn't really open as they were coming out to the populated area of the property, but I guess it might depend on the room you are in. My room also did not have hot water which is not such a necessity for warm place like Santa Teresa but it would have been nice to have considering the room price. The common areas were very nice - there is a TV room upstairs where you can find good wifi signal and the pool which is large enough to swim with some lounge chairs around it. It is a perfect place to hang out and chat to the other tourists and the atmosphere was always very pleasant. You do find a lot of signs around the property with rules and regulations which was a bit over the top to my liking, kind of like school :) All in all a nice place to stay especially if you are there to surf and meet a lot of people.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chear_up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

I read about the hostel in Lonely Planet, so my wife and I stopped in and planned on staying for 3 nights (2 week vacation in CR). After the first day, we extended our reservation to 5 nights, because we absolutely loved it. The place is amazing, it's a close walk to the beach, the owners (Barbara and Martin) were super nice, and everyone there just had a great attitude. Martin even helped me plan a run to a beautiful view point (it was intense, some serious elevation gain). Breakfast was light - toast, jam, and coffee, but we always found ourselves content afterwards. We would surf in the morning (rented boards from the hostel), relax in the shade by the pool during the day, and go surfing again in the evening. Our fellow guests were great company, everyone was respectful, and we spent a few nights chatting over some beers (and I'm not the outgoing type). Don't forget to say high to Vica, one of the cutest puppies you will meet!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Planned on a month long trip around Costa, but once we landed at this hostel, we never left. Easily spent 2+ weeks here, Barbra & Martin have worked tremendously hard to make this spot an oasis. Don't have to wander far from the hostel to find groceries- always a fun gathering in the kitchen after sunset, and after dinner movie & beverage sessions in the loft (they have a selection of good, updated free DVD rentals, just leave your ID at the front desk and borrow a movie), board rentals right here, easy walk to surf. Sure, they've got rules, but it keeps the rowdy crowd in-town, making the whole campus super chill and safe. Bring a small lock, each shared room has small lockers which is awesome for locking up your wallet & passport and hitting the beach with no worries!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Cuesta Arriba was quiet enough that we could get a good nights sleep to wake up at dawn to surf, but friendly enough to hang out and drink Imperials with other travelers at night (but not too late because they close it down at 11). Reviews have been complaining about the rules and the signs, but without the staff keeping things strict Cuesta Arriba would not be the chill place that it is. The pool is an awesome attribute. It's nice to lay under tropical trees and watch the monkeys. It's a beautiful relaxing break from the hustle of the center of town, but If you are looking to party then skip Cuesta and head down the road back towards Mal Pais.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meagan_from_ATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews