We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cuesta Arriba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cuesta Arriba Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Had a great vibe... Martin and Barbara care about their guests and take pride in their place. Sandrina looks after everyone! I found this place to be a great spot... 100 meters from the beach, a pool to lounge around in the evening, a good kitchen, fantastic laundry service, a TV room that served as a great yoga studio for me... what more can a budget traveller ask for?
Tim

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tim j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    44
    16
    1
    4
See reviews for
5
62
80
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seal Beach, California, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

This is my second time staying at Cuesta Arriba and I love this place! My girlfriend and I stayed in a private room for a little over a week and had a great time. The room was small but very clean, very affordable and the a/c worked great. =)

There are many places to stay in Sta Teresa but none like this. The owners Barbara and Martin are the real difference. Whether it is arranging a transfer from the airport, giving directions, or even arranging a stay at another hostel or hotel, they are always there to help.

We had a great stay here and will most certainly be back ASAP!!!

Room Tip: Private rooms have a/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

NOT "our pick"
Was placed in a damp smelling room...with no comfortable chairs or space to just hang out.
The entire hostel, lacks a warm cozy feel. The upstairs "tv room" has no comfortbale seats and poor light.
The entire hostel has posted signs telling you what NOT to do.. a poor welcome for any traveller.
also breakfast should NOT be part of the name, as you receive slices of cheap bread ( with a large sign informing you not to take more than 2 slices per person.

Needs a restaurant, hammocks, and more comfortable layout.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KINLEWIS17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papadopulus, Owner at Cuesta Arriba Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Cuesta Arriba B&B hostel. It is unfortunate that you did not mention any of this to us. We would have gladly helped you in any way possible and make your stay more comfortable.
We offer two thousand square meters of shady haven with trees, monkeys, birds, etc. We believe you did not have a chance to visit our swimming pool area with very comfortable deck chairs, overlooking our garden.
We are sorry if our signs offended you, sometimes they are necessary to give people information.
We never misled you in any way about our breakfast, coffee and toast. We mentioned it to you very clearly in our correspondence and it is also stated in our website.
We work very hard to help our guests enjoy their time here and we believe we provide excellent service, clean and safe accommodation at a very affordable price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

What an incredible place! Having never before stayed in a dorm style bed and breakfast, Cuesta Arriba was quite a surprise. Beautiful, clean and terribly close to the shore, this treasure of a location will be the first, and likely only place I recommend to folks when traveling to Costa Rica. It was perfect in every respect. It is appropriate for persons of all ages. Barbara and Martin, the owners, truly went out of their way to be hospitable and accommodating. I'm not sure that we would have made it there, or home, without their assistance! I extended my stay by several days, because it was all so very wonderful. While reasonable in price, Cuesta Arriba offers all the amenities one would enjoy at home. If you find yourself down in that part of the world, this is one place, you shouldn't miss!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vashti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirghtsville beach nc
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

Over this past summer i was able to travel around central america surfing a bunch of good waves and meeting very original people. While staying on the nicoya peninsula of costa rica i stayed at cuesta arriba, from may through july this past season and couldnt have asked for a arrangement. The rooms were cleaned every day by a cool duo of ticas to insure the quality of cleanliness was up to par with most travelers. Every morning was greeted with the smell of fresh costa rican cafe brewing bringing a pleasant aroma to your senses alongside a side of whole grain toast to compliment your hunger. I got to spend alot of quality time with the owners Martin and Barbara with Sandrina the receptionist who brought to light many things in life that become so apparent upon relizations. We all shared many good talk, good laughs and learned alot from eachother in ambient harmony. Not to mention GOldy the great golden retriever to accompany you on your many daily routines and bring light into the rainier of days. The surf was great, mal pais and santa teresa offer many beach breaks points breaks and even a reef break with good night life and live music to top off a bounty-full day of good surf with your mates. I can wait to get back..

Room Tip: If your traveling with a single friend ask for the loft rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wmc1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

It was tough to leave Cuesta Arriba this morning. With the nice pool, the good dorm rate, cheap board rentals, mellow vibe and less than a 5min walk to the surf - you can't really ask for much more.

Barbara and Martin, the owners, were super nice and hospitable. I would go back here in a heartbeat and recommend it to others as well.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goodmatthunting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

I loved this place! Was supposed to stay for 5 nights and ended up her for more than 3 weeks... Nice beach with mellow waves, great little restaurant next door, good neighbours and great owners. Not to mention the fantastic TV-room where anything can happen! I'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henrik80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.0 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.1 mi away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#22 of 26 in Santa Teresa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#14 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Break Surf Hotel
Beach Break Surf Hotel
#21 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa del Mar Surf Destiny
Casa del Mar Surf Destiny
#16 of 33 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuesta Arriba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuesta Arriba Hotel

Property: Cuesta Arriba Hotel
Address: 150 meters North From La Lora Amarilla, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Colonial-style hotel surrounded by trees and tropical gardens with unique affordable rooms. The hotel features a communal kitchen,resting areas, hammocks and a sparkling pool in the landscaped garden. Complimentary coffee served at 8AM, free parking and Wireless is also offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Cuesta Arriba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuesta Arriba Bed And Breakfast Hostel
Cuesta Arriba Hotel Santa Teresa
Cuesta Arriba Hotel Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing