We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cuesta Arriba B&B is a Step Up From the Traditional Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cuesta Arriba Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cuesta Arriba B&B is a Step Up From the Traditional Hostel”
Reviewed April 3, 2011

We got into town late one night and where looking for a moderate priced hotel - everywhere in town was booked and when we got to Cuesta Arriba Martin and Barbara were so nice and helpful, they pointed us to their friends hotel for the night because Cuesta Arriba was full - we then made arrangements to stay at Cuesta Arriba the following 3 nights. What a good decision - we enjoyed our stay at their friends Hotel Raratonga it was a great place. When we came back to Cuesta Arriba the following day to get the room we reserved Martin was so helpful and set us up right away with surf board rentals, wax and a local instructor. We met so many cool people at Cuesta Arriba from all over the world and just hanging out at the pool was very nice, clean, and relaxing! They even have a yoga studio onsite. I can't say enough good things about Cuesta Arriba and the service they provide is excellent for the price! We had a great time at Cuesta Arriba and extended our stay here because we liked it so much. We definately will stay there again!

Room Tip: Get the private room with a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SurfGirl60878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    48
    17
    1
    4
See reviews for
7
65
81
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

As a frequent traveler I have come across many hostels, hotel rooms and apartments. Of this list, hostels have become my least favorite over the years as the beds were always crap, the showers were dirty, noisy roommates, small refrigerators, no swimming pool and actually this list can go on and on.

When I booked my flight to Costa Rica a friend of mine recommended me Cuesta Arriba as she had the most amazing time. Myself being a bit hesitant on the hostel-side, took the chance, trusted my friend and headed off to Cuesta Arriba.

Honestly I have never had a holiday where I have stayed in such a nice hostel and met so many amazing people. Every day has been a paradise, roommates were considerate and fun to hang out with, the yoga lessons were divine, the ocean is across the street, this hostel even has a swimming pool, the rooms were nice and broad, the shower and toilet were cleaned every day and even my bed got cleaned once every 3 days. Seriously I will be back. Additionally you have the best soda around the corner and a supermarket 200 meters away so yo can prepare your own dinner as well.

So I would not have wanted to stay anywhere else. I wanted a holiday with surf, yoga, surf, meeting nice people, enjoy the environment and have loads of fun...and I got it all.

Thanks Cuesta Arriba you will see me next year.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnneMarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Just got back from yet another trip to Santa Teresa and can't say enough about Barbara and Martin at Cuesta. The rooms are clean and spacious for a hostel accommodation, had a good sized communal kitchen, a great common room where you can enjoy yoga in the morning with a great instructor or chill watching a movie in the evenings.
I've traveled a lot and stayed many places and I would not hesitate to go straight back here on my next trip in.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Just got back from our Costa Rica/Nicaragua trip and Cuesta Arriba ranked among the highlights of our trip. The owners were very helpful and took their jobs seriously. The pool area is a nice touch and a great place to relax in the shade when the mid-day sun becomes a bit too much. The previous reviewer must have stayed in the same room as us because we too had a damp smell in our room, but it wasn't really a big deal for us. Not too strong, just there, but could be ignored. I agree that hammocks in front of the rooms would be nice. But all in all this is a very good place to stay in Santa Teresa. If I ever return to the town I won't waste any time looking for anyplace else to stay as I know I will be happy at Cuesta Arriba.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hansi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

My girlfriend and I spent 4 fantastic days enjoying St Teresa while staying at Cuesta Arriba – just off Santa Teresa beach. The location is perfect for surfers and for anyone who appreciates beautiful sandy beaches. On our first night we stayed in a private double room with A/C and shared bathroom, for our following three nights we stayed in a double room with a private bathroom and no A/C – during our stay (early Feb) we didn’t need the A/C at all, the rooms were perfectly comfortable without. Our rooms were clean, spacious and cool – and very nicely priced. Comfy bed.
(They also offer beds in dorm rooms – four beds to a room, I think.)
There are shared kitchen facilities at Cuesta Arriba, with coffee and toast provided for guests every morning. A Tico restaurant 30 yards up the road provides delicious and cheap food, and there are plenty of restaurants to choose from nearby.
Cuesta Arriba is run by Martin and Barbara, a truly lovely couple who helped us out with everything we needed; including advice on where to eat, providing surf equipment, booking excursions and booking travel to our next destination. They were brilliant.
One of our favourite features of Cuesta Arriba was the pool. It was somehow lovely and cool all day long, both in the water and at poolside. A welcome respite after time spent surfing.
The atmosphere when we stayed was really great. The guests we met were fun, chatty, all around decent. Everyone respected each other and the few rules in place (reasonable noise levels, quiet after 11pm, etc.).
Santa Teresa is lovely. There is no tourist trap feel, it’s just lovely.
Go to Santa Teresa if you’re in Costa Rica. Stay in Cuesta Arriba if you can.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimeForSumtingNu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

I've been thoroughly impressed by all aspects of Cuesta Arriba. Barbara and Martin (and Helen) have been more than helpful, assisting with travel planning and all manner of bizarre requests. The hostel itself is clean, quiet, friendly and set in beautiful grounds-the swimming pool is a definate highlight. Having a guest fridge and kitchen is great for self catering and socialising with other guests. With the beach a short 2 min walk through the bush, its everything you need from quality, value accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmyj75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2011

We have been to Costa Rica 4 times in the past 6 years and have spent a long time travelling round. For this trip we chose to stay the whole duration in the favourite place we found whilst travelling round - Cuesta Arriba in Santa Teresa.
The setting is beautiful and they've added a pool since our last visit which is a wonderful addition to their already gorgeous garden area. The owners are super helpful and give great advice to travellers visiting them. They provide surf lessons and yoga at the hotel and they have a massive open plan kitchen which makes it easy to meet other travellers. Free wifi and free DVD hire and other touches make all the difference in this place where the service is exceptional. It is spotlessly clean and has everything you coiuld need with a choice of private room or comfy dorm rooms.
They have howler monkeys in the trees overlooking the pool and the position of this hotel makes it the pick of accomodation in Santa Teresa (we have stayed in many other offerings before discovering this gem!) It is in the quieter end of town, and directly opposite the beach access route, leading to a stunning beach - great for surfing.
It has a supermarket really close and a great tico restaurant for great cheap seafood.
We fell in love with Cuesta Arriba and spent a whole month there at the start of this year. We would whole heartedly recommend it to everyone travelling in this area.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.0 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Break Surf Hotel
Beach Break Surf Hotel
#21 of 26 in Santa Teresa
66 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Surf Vista Villas
Surf Vista Villas
#12 of 26 in Santa Teresa
150 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hostel Dos Monos
Hostel Dos Monos
#5 of 62 in Santa Teresa
67 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuesta Arriba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuesta Arriba Hotel

Property: Cuesta Arriba Hotel
Address: 150 meters North From La Lora Amarilla, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cuesta Arriba Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Colonial-style hotel surrounded by trees and tropical gardens with unique affordable rooms. The hotel features a communal kitchen,resting areas, hammocks and a sparkling pool in the landscaped garden. Complimentary coffee served at 8AM, free parking and Wireless is also offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Cuesta Arriba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuesta Arriba Bed And Breakfast Hostel
Cuesta Arriba Hotel Santa Teresa
Cuesta Arriba Hotel Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing