We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Cool relaxed atmosphere close to the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wave Trotter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wave Trotter
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Cool relaxed atmosphere close to the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at Wave trotter for a week end (2 nights) in dorms. It was fun as we met great people there, the beach nearby is very appealing and not overcrowded of tourists.

The hostel is fine, the dorms are clean, you get your fresh sheet when you check in. And there is a fan in each dorm to survive the heat. There are lockers as well in each dorm which is good to keep your valuables safe.

In terms of safety it was OK, but sometimes you wonder if a few random people could easily access the place without being noticed. So, just as a security measure, keep your valuables safe. By night there is a need of a code to enter the place, which we felt was a great measure.

Apart from that the staff is very helpful, you can rent a surf board directly at the hostel for a fair price. The staff is also happy to organize a taxi to go out at night, as the road is very dusty, and Santa Teresa being quite a spreaded place, you may need to walk a lot to reach the place you want.

Overall positive, it's a good value for money place and friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taipanspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    17
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
15
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Superfriendly staff who helps you with everything you ask for!
Always fresh and clean. Toilet and showers are nice!
I lived in both dorm, private room and the apartment and all rooms were good!!!
It's open and you feel very welcome. Like your own home.
I totally recommend this great hostel to everyone!
I know where to stay next time I go to Santa Teresa!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjiinnnniiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is one of the best places i have stayed at! Absolutely the most "worth the money". Both private rooms and doorms are superclean, Giovanni the owner is so friendly and helpfull! the communal area and kitchen is very nice and clean! Feels like home when you enter the place in the first time and its like one big familly staying in the same place! Made some new friends here and Will definately stay here if i get back to CR!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ericostrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Really friendly athmosphere and a nice welcoming from the owner. The house are really fresch and wellplaned. Nice and clean,open and lightly. Most of the people here do surfing and its a chill atmosphere.
We staid in one of the apparments for four persons with our own bathroom,the best place of all hostels we tryed in costa rica! Its close to the beach and the restaurants. The owner helps you with all your questions and so on. We really recomment this place!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank llazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Chill place. Even though is is a bit more expensive than most other places, it is worth it. Even, if you stay a week it is 10% off. Central, close enough to the beach and not too young ppl (25+). My space the next time too!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank svas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

Wave Trotter is the best hostel I have ever stayed in. The light space open plan layout makes it seem like more of a guest house, with the big high ceiling bedrooms roomy and airy, they could easily fit another bed in but they don't so that you have more space to relax. All the rooms have fans in to help keep you cool. To say the place is clean is an understatement, hot water showers (which for $12 in Costa Rica is not that common!) seperate female and male bathrooms which are done to such a high standard. The open plan living with the family also using the kitchen make it feel more like a guest house or a home then your run of the mill hostel, with tunes playing during the day (except in siasta time) and a laid back vibe. You can happily sit in a hammock or relax in the garden, for surfers and non surfers alike, if you surf there is space for your board, and loads of local knowledge like the best waves for the tides and times of day. They will even pick you up on a quad bike should you miss the turning!

Room Tip: most stunning place I've stayed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotsSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

This Hostel is owned by an Italian and you can tell: the hostel is very welcoming, has a great layout and design. Everything is very open and spacious, while the hostel has only five rooms sleeping six. All rooms are on the first floor above the common hostel area + kitchen - if you walk out of the room you can look down to that area. To the other side all rooms have an exit to one big common balcony facing the nice garden - where you can sometimes watch monkeys crawling in the trees.
As the owner lives in a private area in the same house and uses the common kitchen for himself privately everything is so clean and well kept.
Besides the very good hostel condition the atmosphere is also great. Surfers, but also Non-Surfers chill and hang out, listen to good music and just enjoy themselves.
The only downside of this place are the beds: mattresses are cheap and should be replaced as the are getting close to hammock shape (bud hanging down) which can be a bit uncomfortable.
Enjoy!
Their website gives the right impression: http://www.wavetrotterhostel.com/
(rooms around 12 Dollars a night)

Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jana1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Teresa
96.7 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
95.7 mi away
Tico Lindo Hotel
Tico Lindo Hotel
#19 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 5 in Cartago
5.0 of 5 stars 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
96.5 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#16 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 199 reviews
97.7 mi away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#23 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
96.5 mi away
Beach Break Surf Hotel
Beach Break Surf Hotel
#22 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wave Trotter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wave Trotter

Property: Wave Trotter
Address: Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Wave Trotter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wave Trotter Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing