We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST hospitality!”
Review of Fuego Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fuego Lodge
Ranked #2 of 27 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2010

I haven't stopped telling people about my experience with Orquidea since I've been back home! When I started planning this trip to Costa Rica I wanted a beach town I hadn't been to yet that wasn't too touristy, and my friends recommended Santa Teresa. So when I found Orquidea online but was slightly confused by the prices I decided to just call. I talked to the owner, Barbara, for almost 20 minutes that evening and we continued emailing back and forth for the month before my trip..she was SO helpful and accommodating! Her personality and genuine interest in making sure we were taken care of was so apparent. When my friends and I arrived in Santa Teresa Itay, Barbara's husband, picked us up from the bus stop so we didn't have to walk in the dark...they had bought water bottles and fresh fruit for us since we arrived late and most restuarants were closed. The rest of our stay there was so wonderful, the place was clean and had everything we could possible need! The lodge had all the amenities (cable tv, a/c, wifi, pool, etc.) of a fancy resort without all the fuss of hundreds of other guests running around . It was so relaxing and in the middle of the beautiful jungle, yet only a few hundred meters from the beach. Barbara and Itay's incredible hospitality throughout our entire stay and their beautiful property absolutely blew me away! I would recommend Orquidea to anyone that is looking for a truly relaxing vacation and exceptional accommodations

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
Thank kvkaleidoscope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 212 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2010

I stayed at Orquidea for two weeks in August and couldn't have had a more wonderful time!! I'm sure if you have read the other reviews, you can see that Barbara and Itay are absolutely amazing people and hosts - you couldn't ask for two better people to meet on your travels! We stayed in the penthouse suite which was beautiful - it has a full kitchen, huge comfy bed, big balcony, beautiful washroom, AC..... basically everything you could ask for! The service is amazing, our room was cleaned everyday and the pool was immaculate. It is also really close to the nicest beach in Santa Teresa (about a 5 minute walk) and a ton of great restaurants are steps away. I checked out a couple other places when I was there as I had friends staying at different hotels etc and Orquidea is by far the best!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whit_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Just arrived home from a glorious 3 week vacation in beautiful Santa Theresa, Costa Rica, where my 3 friends and I had the pleasure of spending 10 days at Barbara and Itay's awesome lodge. The house is spacious with modern amenities throughout, and very clean. It is situated in one of the best area's around, walking distance to everywhere, and is in the process of having a pool added, and 2 more cabana's. Out of all the places we stayed it was our favourite, and the concern and generosity of the proprietors is impressive. I would highly recommend booking a rental at this property, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank finnigan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed here for 2 weeks, and absolutely loved it. Very comfortable, spacious, and clean rooms. 2 steps from a gorgeous beach with amazing surf, and the absolute best hospitality we had in Costa Rica. Very highly recommended !

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mitch087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Staying at Orquidea felt like staying at the home of an old friend. Barbara and Itay were incredible hosts. They went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and welcome. The room was nice, clean and faced a beautiful garden and pool. The lodge is within walking distance to the beach and many good restaurants. On my last day in Santa Teresa, I found out that the tour company would not be able to take me to Arenal Volcano, as I had planned. Barbara made some phone calls, went on the internet, and navigated the confusing Costa Rican bus schedules so that I would be able go on the next leg of my trip. I wouldn't have been able to do this on m own. Not only did she make sure that I had everything I needed while at her lodge, she made sure that I had a great time in Costa Rica! I highly recommend Orquidea. This is where I'll be staying the next time I'm in Santa Teresa.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bordercoolrye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

we are coming to Santa Teresa twice a year for few years now and without a doubt orquidea lodge is one of the safest and cleanest places out there, its a walking distance from the best surf point s and yet very quite, the management is great and the price is very reasonable. Can’t ask for more, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank costarica072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

The place was nice and clean and very comfortable, it was a skip away from the beautiful beaches and other activities. We rented ATV's just next door and cruised around town. It is a great place for surfers and families!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank boris04LosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
588 reviews
0.5 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 27 in Santa Teresa
335 reviews
0.4 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#11 of 27 in Santa Teresa
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#23 of 27 in Santa Teresa
127 reviews
1 mi away
Casa MarBella
Casa MarBella
#1 of 27 in Santa Teresa
514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nautilus Boutique Hotel
Nautilus Boutique Hotel
#4 of 27 in Santa Teresa
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fuego Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fuego Lodge

Address: North from the soccer field 100 m | Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica (Formerly Orquidea Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range: $104 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fuego Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuego lodge, is a family-owned business.We offer 6 units, One and Two-bedroom apartments, a Penthouse or Honeymooners Suite, and 3 Pool Front Suites for up to 4 persons each.All have AC, private bathroom with hot water, free Wi-Fi, Fridge, safe & Coffee Maker. Some also have kitchen and Satellite TV, phone, and daily cleaning service and fresh towels are included in all arrangements.We are located in Santa Teresa, about 1.5 miles from Mal Pais’ main cross road, inside a gated property, on a private and quiet location, off the street yet in the middle of everything, 5 minutes walk from groceries stores, bakery, pizza places, 7-8 restaurants, yoga centers, and with beach access only 500ft from here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Fuego Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fuego Hotel Santa Teresa
Fuego Lodge Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing