We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe the Hype”
Review of Fuego Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fuego Lodge
Ranked #2 of 27 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2011

I am assuming that if you are reading this review you already know what to expect or are looking for from Santa Teresa. We were looking for a place to relax, and surf, Santa Teresa was very good for that, and Fuego Lodge is very for good for Santa Teresa.
1) Barbara and Etay (the owners and managers) absolutely rule. Even before we arrived, Barbara would answer our emails with questions within 24 hours before we even arrived in Santa Teresa. When I broke a board surfing early in our stay, Etay took time out of his day and drove me around to various surf shops trying to sort out a replacement. Barbara arranged drivers and tours for our family and she did not make us feel like she was being put out by us. GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE. It's weird to talk first about the owners than the facility itself but they are simply that cool.
2)
* There was a pool. And not a ghetto pool but a real nice pool, we used it more than I thought we would.
* There are very good outdoor showers that help you to keep your floors clean and sand out of your sheets when you come back from the beach or from walking on the dusty road.
* Air conditioning, which is nice when you're trying to sleep.
* Quiet. Even though we stayed in a unit where we shared a wall and had people living about us. We did not hear them.
*Very close to a grocery market so buying food and water was about as easy as it could be.
*Located close to the beach (10 min walk, maximum we kept telling ourselves to time the walk be we always forgot to)
*Good television set up, not that we used it much but it was nice when we wanted to.
*At least two decent surf shops on the way to the beach if you are renting boards it's literally on the way to the water.
*Cool town and F.L. is well located between places to eat and the beach.
* We'd stay here again, no problem.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coachthunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 14, 2011

Those were very nice things to say, thank you!
I'm happy that you had such a great time, you are a very nice family yourselves, and I definately hope to receive you again at my home and Lodge.
I liked very much meeting you, send you my best wishes and lots of love to all!! :D
Thanks again, Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 207 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2011

At first we were all about beach beach beach. Santa Teresa is best enjoyed from a distance especially if you want some peacefulness and serenity away from the chaos.
The reviews speak for themselves.
Thanks
The Kiwi and the Canadian
Ps Barbara the massage from the Italian girl was great! Thank you

Room Tip: The private pool rooms are stunning and the lighting really works! It might be frightning to actuall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 10, 2011

Thank you so much for sharing your experience!!
It was very nice to meet you both... :)
I hope we get to have you over again sometime.
Hope you had a great time in Costa Rica, see you soon!!
And thanks again, Barbara

(Nadia, the Italian girl, says thank you, too) :D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

This was our first trip to Santa Teresa and we found Fuego on Trip Advisor. We were not dissapointed, Barbara and her husband have really gone the extra mile to make their customers comfortable and happy. The location is perfect and the pool is awesome!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Adventure_Lady_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

I had the pleasure of spending 10 days at Fuego Lodge in one of the 3 very modern poolside casitas. Fuego is a beautiful place to hang your hat in Santa Teresa. Owners Barbara and Etay are amazing - they will make sure you have everything you need, thank you Etay for the great surf lesson. I would have spent all of my time in Santa Teresa here if they had the space. Amazing and highly recommended!
Lynn

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn7733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed with Barbara and Itay for 2 weeks and had a wonderful time, the owners made are every wish come true and where very friendly and helpful. Its close to the surf and has a beautiful pool where the kids loved to play. the staff is also very helpful and friendly. We can wait to go back :)

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Idoweinstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

It is so hard to find great hotels with reliable internet. This was a " business trip" surf in the morinings and online in the afternoons. It was such a beautiful location, and to be able get my work done means that I will be able to come back a lot more often.
Such friendly owners too, and 1 block from the surf, what else is there?

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahdeutsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We love Santa Teresa. the village is our favorite location and we have Been there 3 times.
So far Fuego lodge was the best location we staid at in costa rica. The Room was really comfortable with a child.
The pool looked like it was built for a family with children. our son had so much fun at that pool.
The location of the hotel is great, close to all the restaurant near by and to the grocery stores which served us well since we used our kitchen (in the room) often.
The best thing I can say about this vacation is the hospitality. The owners of the place are warm and lovely people that never failed to fulfill our needs.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aviboniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
580 reviews
0.5 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 27 in Santa Teresa
333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#16 of 27 in Santa Teresa
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#13 of 27 in Santa Teresa
339 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 27 in Santa Teresa
237 reviews
0.6 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#7 of 27 in Santa Teresa
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fuego Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fuego Lodge

Address: North from the soccer field 100 m | Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica (Formerly Orquidea Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range: $67 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fuego Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuego lodge, is a family-owned business.We offer 6 units, One and Two-bedroom apartments, a Penthouse or Honeymooners Suite, and 3 Pool Front Suites for up to 4 persons each.All have AC, private bathroom with hot water, free Wi-Fi, Fridge, safe & Coffee Maker. Some also have kitchen and Satellite TV, phone, and daily cleaning service and fresh towels are included in all arrangements.We are located in Santa Teresa, about 1.5 miles from Mal Pais’ main cross road, inside a gated property, on a private and quiet location, off the street yet in the middle of everything, 5 minutes walk from groceries stores, bakery, pizza places, 7-8 restaurants, yoga centers, and with beach access only 500ft from here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fuego Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fuego Hotel Santa Teresa
Fuego Lodge Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing