We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pura Vida - magnificient place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luz de Luna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Luz de Luna
Ranked #11 of 31 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Pura Vida - magnificient place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed three nights at Christophe's Luz de Luna. We picked that hotel after having an overlook of the place on the internet. Needless to say that we got even more than what we expected. Absolutely clean place, nice little pool surrounded by tropical plants, hammock on the porch and wildlife all around but no ants! If you need A/C, plasma TV and all that stuff to enjoy your holiday, go somewhere else, there are definitely better places in Santa Teresa as another traveller mentionned. But if you enjoy beautiful tropical gardens, monkeys in the trees and what makes Costa Rica well... Costa Rica, that's the place. For a cheap price we had a comfortable room with our own kitchen to cook our favorite meals and Christophe always ready to answer all our questions about anything on Costa Rica. We enjoyed every second of it. Sad that some people seemed to get a bad experience but that is exceptional. All those people like us that rated this place 5/5 can't be wrong. Gracias y hasta pronto.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    13
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
27
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a standard cabana but there is a much much better place to stay in Santa Teresa at a similar price point. Please look at my other posting as I've rated my stay here to the other place in the same town.

We stayed in Luz de Luna for only one night. For the good, the woman was very lovely at the first desk, they have wifi and the bedrooms and washrooms were clean and big.

Now for the not so good, similar to a posting over a year ago, in the evening there were ants all over the floor, bed, walls, tables ... you get the picture. Since it is a very basic cabana (you can see through the floor boards, there aren't screens on the windows and some of the wall in the bathroom is open) and it had rained the ants and mosquitos all came inside. The mosquito nets on the beds were not adequate. Despite the best efforts they don't actually close properly. It was also very noisy in the evening with dogs barking a lot and cars coming and going.

All in all it was an uncomfortable sleep.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bing375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Just a lovely oasis in Santa Theresa. Very reasonable pricing - 40$ for a great amazingly homey shack, hammock in the porch, a pool, by the beach, very close to great restaurants, nice staff ( lovely Christoff)...
Could you ask for more?
Really enjoying my stay in here (came to S.T. For a week and spent the whole time here)

Room Tip: I took the canine without kitchen at 40$. Travelers who would like to cook might want to take the ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at Luz de Luna, based on NY Magazine recommendation, for four nights. My two friends and I were given a lovely "cabina" with two rooms, kitchen, lovely mosaic tiled bathroom and porch, complete with hammock. Pretty standard for relatively budget CR hotels, but this place has the added benefit of being staffed by the lovely and hospitable Sylvia. Sylvia took great care of us, gave us recommendations and helped us set up surfing lessons and a trip to Tortuga Island. She was well connected in the community and helped us to immediately set up activities. We found Luz de Luna to be very pretty, peaceful, away from the noise of the main road, and convenient to the beach. The pool is nice for dips later in the evening post-beach. The place was very well maintained and clean. Sylvia is a healer and offers excellent massage as well, which we took advantage of - well worth it!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are a good distance from the street and noise. Rooms/cabins are fairly close together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

A very good place with a very reasonable price. They have a small, clean and very refreshing pool. Clean big rooms with mosquito nets and a fa.n. The owner (don't remember his name) was very helpful and laid back. After we moved in here I didn't want to go anywhere else even tough the beach is only 50 meters away. outside the cabins surrounding the pool is a very lush and beautiful garden with a green iguana (at least when i was there).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank franyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Havier, the amazing French man running the show while we where there was the kindest and most friendliest host one could ever want. Helping us find the best deals for transportation by spending hours on the phone and negotiating for us as my Spanish is horrible. The personal bungalows where super clean and airy that even though there was no AC you couldn't complain. The pool was super clean and refreshing and the hammocks on your front porch made the exotic experience worth every lil penny spent.
I would go back there in a second. It has been my favorite place to sleep since the beginning of my trip, being close to anything you may need, and a host with a huge heart.
Do your vacation a favor and enjoy the small town of Santa Teresa in this amazing lil location.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RevyForestryMuseum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

we've been really surprised by the quality of this place during our trip, we've been to 9 different place aroud Costa Rica, and this is our top 1 by far. The bingalowas are very clean, the bathroom is big and made with very good taste, all tropical wood made, 1 minute walking from the beach, wi-fi, swimming pool, you're in the jungle, you can see monkeys, iguanas, squerels it's really confortable and you can cook your own stuff in the bungalow kitchen. Really Strongly recommended.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank guillaume t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.0 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#18 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#1 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
0.0 mi away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#23 of 27 in Santa Teresa
3.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beach Break Surf Hotel
Beach Break Surf Hotel
#22 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#16 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Meli Melo
Hotel Meli Melo
#4 of 31 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luz de Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luz de Luna

Property: Hotel Luz de Luna
Address: 600m North the Soccer Field | 600m North the Soccer Field, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 6 pilotis wooden bungalows situated in a beautiful tropical garden where you will meet simplicity, peace and calmness. It is at 5 min walking distance to the Santa Teresa main beach. Each cabin was carefully designed to provide the maximum in comfort and privacy for our guests. All rooms includes private bathroom with hot shower, large mosquito net, ceiling fan, private balcony with hammock in front of the garden. Some include a kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Luz de Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Luz De Luna Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing