We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Bang for buck” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luz de Luna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Luz de Luna
Ranked #11 of 31 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bang for buck”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Havier, the amazing French man running the show while we where there was the kindest and most friendliest host one could ever want. Helping us find the best deals for transportation by spending hours on the phone and negotiating for us as my Spanish is horrible. The personal bungalows where super clean and airy that even though there was no AC you couldn't complain. The pool was super clean and refreshing and the hammocks on your front porch made the exotic experience worth every lil penny spent.
I would go back there in a second. It has been my favorite place to sleep since the beginning of my trip, being close to anything you may need, and a host with a huge heart.
Do your vacation a favor and enjoy the small town of Santa Teresa in this amazing lil location.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RevyForestryMuseum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    13
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
27
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

we've been really surprised by the quality of this place during our trip, we've been to 9 different place aroud Costa Rica, and this is our top 1 by far. The bingalowas are very clean, the bathroom is big and made with very good taste, all tropical wood made, 1 minute walking from the beach, wi-fi, swimming pool, you're in the jungle, you can see monkeys, iguanas, squerels it's really confortable and you can cook your own stuff in the bungalow kitchen. Really Strongly recommended.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank guillaume t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canadá
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We found this hotel by chance and it actually saved our holidays.
Our experience was amazing, rooms are really clean and safe (digital locker), surrounded by trees and animals, 5min walk to paradise beach.
The last morning, I woke up early and I had the chance to see monkeys having their breakfast up in the trees... priceless.
A big thanks to Christophe, the owner for giving us good tips and best value for money.
Looking forward to go back soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onurb23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The location is awesome, since the bungalows are surrounded by trees (at night you can hear the howler monkeys) and the beach (Santa Teresa) is located across the street (approximately 100 meters away). We rented a bungalow for 2 persons, and we got more than what we expected since it was pretty comfortable. The kitchen has everything and more than amateur cook needs, like for example we were able to cook fresh snapper fillets in here without problems :)
Christophe the manager was pretty helpful. He even gave us a few cool tips, like where to buy fresh fish (by fresh, I mean just out of the sea fresh!) at great prices, and also told us about a nice small calm beach in Santa Teresa that only locals know about. Loved the place, and we are expecting to come back anytime soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maspeth, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Totally loved this place it was so relaxing and very enjoyable. The bungalows were surrounded by a beautiful garden and mango trees. The monkeys came to visit daily so that was a great addition.The caretaker Oscar was very friendly and nice. Love Santa Teresa such a great easy going place. !!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travel j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

We arrived and the accomodations were fine for $50 a night. We went to the beach and came back and noticed a lot of ants on the floor and in our suitcases. We followed them back to a bed frame where the was an infestation of large biting ants in the bed, an entire ant population. This is Costa Rica, in the jungle, but this was a mess. What followed was worse. We requested a change of rooms, but they were full. We stated we could not stay in this room and were told the only option was a different hotel. After we packed up and were leaving, the owners calls, yells at us and tells us we have to pay for at least three nights (the original reservation was 5 nights). We left almost in tears. Then we get an email saying we have to pay or the owner will submit our names to the police. We have traveled through Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua and Mexico and NEVER had anything like this happen. It was awful!! Never stay here!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KCKe08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christophe32, Propriétaire at Hotel Luz de Luna, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We are sorry that you did not like your stay at our hotel but let me explain my version as you exageretad what s really happened.
You reserved a wooden bungalow for 5 nights, the day you arrived unfortunately i wasn t here. Anyway the same day the manager call me at 6pm and told me that you didn t want to stay because you saw some hunts closed to one bed. The manager immediately changed the bed sheets and clean the room, but you just went away without paying which is not fair as I refused other guests for you. I m really sorry about that but people has to understand that we are living in Costa Rica, a tropical country and even our effort to take bugs out the rooms, sometimes bug are stronger than us and still coming !
You may did not like our place for any personal reason which I can understand, but leaving the place without paying at least your 1st night, it s not very fair....
Hope you find the right place and you enjoyed Santa Teresa...
Pura Vida
Christophe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

I was looking for a place where i can be able to relax, feel at home, feel and be safe (im traveling by my self) and be able to go walking to a good surf spot and food places any time during the day...Luz de Luna not only offers me that, but also a beautiful silent place, sorrounded by gardens, birds and monkeys... The best surf spot in San Teresa is couple of hundred meters from the cabinas, good restaurants of diferent budgets are not too far... The rooms make me feel in a jungle cocoon, they simply gorgeus!!! I highly recomend this beautiful place where you will find your self in the right place...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank somosuno2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.0 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#1 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
0.0 mi away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#23 of 27 in Santa Teresa
3.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beach Break Surf Hotel
Beach Break Surf Hotel
#22 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#16 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Meli Melo
Hotel Meli Melo
#3 of 31 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luz de Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luz de Luna

Property: Hotel Luz de Luna
Address: 600m North the Soccer Field | 600m North the Soccer Field, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 6 pilotis wooden bungalows situated in a beautiful tropical garden where you will meet simplicity, peace and calmness. It is at 5 min walking distance to the Santa Teresa main beach. Each cabin was carefully designed to provide the maximum in comfort and privacy for our guests. All rooms includes private bathroom with hot shower, large mosquito net, ceiling fan, private balcony with hammock in front of the garden. Some include a kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Luz de Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Luz De Luna Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing