We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Awesome so relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Luz de Luna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Luz de Luna
Ranked #12 of 32 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Maspeth, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome so relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Totally loved this place it was so relaxing and very enjoyable. The bungalows were surrounded by a beautiful garden and mango trees. The monkeys came to visit daily so that was a great addition.The caretaker Oscar was very friendly and nice. Love Santa Teresa such a great easy going place. !!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travel j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    13
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
15
30
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

We arrived and the accomodations were fine for $50 a night. We went to the beach and came back and noticed a lot of ants on the floor and in our suitcases. We followed them back to a bed frame where the was an infestation of large biting ants in the bed, an entire ant population. This is Costa Rica, in the jungle, but this was a mess. What followed was worse. We requested a change of rooms, but they were full. We stated we could not stay in this room and were told the only option was a different hotel. After we packed up and were leaving, the owners calls, yells at us and tells us we have to pay for at least three nights (the original reservation was 5 nights). We left almost in tears. Then we get an email saying we have to pay or the owner will submit our names to the police. We have traveled through Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua and Mexico and NEVER had anything like this happen. It was awful!! Never stay here!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KCKe08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christophe32, Propriétaire at Hotel Luz de Luna, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We are sorry that you did not like your stay at our hotel but let me explain my version as you exageretad what s really happened.
You reserved a wooden bungalow for 5 nights, the day you arrived unfortunately i wasn t here. Anyway the same day the manager call me at 6pm and told me that you didn t want to stay because you saw some hunts closed to one bed. The manager immediately changed the bed sheets and clean the room, but you just went away without paying which is not fair as I refused other guests for you. I m really sorry about that but people has to understand that we are living in Costa Rica, a tropical country and even our effort to take bugs out the rooms, sometimes bug are stronger than us and still coming !
You may did not like our place for any personal reason which I can understand, but leaving the place without paying at least your 1st night, it s not very fair....
Hope you find the right place and you enjoyed Santa Teresa...
Pura Vida
Christophe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

I was looking for a place where i can be able to relax, feel at home, feel and be safe (im traveling by my self) and be able to go walking to a good surf spot and food places any time during the day...Luz de Luna not only offers me that, but also a beautiful silent place, sorrounded by gardens, birds and monkeys... The best surf spot in San Teresa is couple of hundred meters from the cabinas, good restaurants of diferent budgets are not too far... The rooms make me feel in a jungle cocoon, they simply gorgeus!!! I highly recomend this beautiful place where you will find your self in the right place...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank somosuno2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

We totally loved this place!! great location, lovely pool noce rooms amazing experience all the way!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank inque88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
129 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

It is close to the beach and has a tiny pool, which is nice. Part of the walls are not enclosed but have netting so it can be very noisy and you can hear your neighbors. It was only 70 a night and our room came with a queen and a single bed. It is a good value if you dont mind an open air room.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingpowder76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

I cannot say enough about Oscar, the caretaker who was there while my family and I stayed here last summer. My father had a knee infection and ultimately had to take an emergency flight home. Oscar was instrumental in us finding local clinics, affordable taxis, and making the ferry back to San Jose in time.

That being said, these rooms were great for a family traveling on a budget. I was a little surprised to pass by two-story homes of local Ticos on the same road to get to the "Hotel", but the rooms were affordable, had basic kitchen utilities, and access to a pool. The beach, restaurants, surf shops, and grocery store were all a very short walk away. I also liked that there were hammocks, free wifi, and a book exchange library. We were the only people staying at this facility so it was peaceful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed here for a week and we didn't want to leave! So beautiful and peaceful... Christoph the owner was very nice and helpful. The room was very comfortable and we just loved it. Excellent value for money. We will definitely return

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana_te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Teresa
0.0 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#3 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Luz de Luna
Hotel Luz de Luna
#8 of 12 in Uvita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#23 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fuego Lodge
Fuego Lodge
#1 of 32 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zula Inn Aparthotel
Zula Inn Aparthotel
#8 of 32 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luz de Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luz de Luna

Property: Hotel Luz de Luna
Address: North the Soccer Field 600m | 600m North the Soccer Field, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 6 pilotis wooden bungalows situated in a beautiful tropical garden where you will meet simplicity, peace and calmness. It is at 5 min walking distance to the Santa Teresa main beach. Each cabin was carefully designed to provide the maximum in comfort and privacy for our guests. All rooms includes private bathroom with hot shower, large mosquito net, ceiling fan, private balcony with hammock in front of the garden. Some include a kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Luz de Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Luz De Luna Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing