We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“shaka is well worth the trip”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shaka Beach Retreat
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“shaka is well worth the trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2008

I was a guest at shaka surf while in playa hemosa the staff and accomadations are great not to mention the wicked beach break just minutes walk from the camp.this place is a surfers paradise the staff at the camp made me feel like family in no time . i can't wait for my next visit.

  • Liked — The friendly Staff and location from the beach (surf break)
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank VancouverRob_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    18
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
49
30
47
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2008

Had a great time at Shaka Surf camp. The place is brand new. The Cabinas were very comfortable / functional with plenty of storage space, good bedding and remote control A/C. The camp is a very short walk to Playa Hermosa which is a terrific surf site (and not nearly as crowded as St. Teresa). Shaka has a good intimate feel about it and the food is outstanding. Went there w/ 2 friends to learn how to surf and we had a blast. Recommend highly.

  • Liked — new, clean, comfortable
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gustavo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2008

My two teenage girls and I went to Shaka Surf Camp for spring break 2008, and we all learned to surf and loved it! The instructors made it so enjoyable and easy to learn. The inside waves are perfect for beginners. The beaches are so secluded and beautiful (right out of the movies) We really enjoyed watching the pros in the afternoon hit the big waves on the outside. It is really a place for ALL levels. The atmosphere at the camp is very comfortable and we really felt a part of this laid back Costa Rican town. The cabinas are new and clean, and the people are really wonderful. We can not wait to go back. This is a hidden treasure, definately a great place to get away from the hustle/bustle of city life.

  • Liked — secluded, clean, great beaches
  • Disliked — nothing, it was all good
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Skiergirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2008

Just got back from a week at Shaka Surf Camp. Super chill with friendly staff. The food prepared by Gretle was amazing. Some of the best food I have had in Costa Rica. The accomodations were super clean and comfortable. I liked Shaka because it was a bit out of town and was nesttled in the lush jungle. The walk to the beach is short and the waves are uncrowded. We got at least head high surf every day we were there. Great surf vacation spot!

  • Liked — Close to uncrowded surf
  • Disliked — No internet/phone service
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank waverider79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2008

I'm in a wheelchair and Shaka is the only surf camp I have ever been to outside of the US that has put such a high degree of detail into addressing wheelchair accessibility...Every one who works there was so attentive and helpful when it came to making sure I was having a great time!...The beach was literally in the camps back yard, the surf was fantastic and best of all, was almost completely empty! I'd highly recommend it to anyone, especially those who are in a chair and want to experience the real Costa Rica and not the tourist traps!

  • Liked — The accessibility and location
  • Disliked — nothing...
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Wheels831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2008

I spent my spring break 2008 at Shaka Surf Camp in the company of old friends and new friends in the form of the staff at Shaka. We were about the first guests at the camp, and were welcomed as family by Greg & Greta, Frank, and Chris & Co.
Away from internet and cellphones, attuned to the rhythm of the tides, eating simple, delicious food, and surfing my heart out, I sloughed off the stress of living in the US and got the quietude to listen to my body, stretch, and sweat, be salty, nap in a hammock. I got patient, kind, and expert surf instruction from the staff, and have been surfing on my own at home ever since.
Shaka provided a genuine vacation at a fair price, so that my experience and interactions there did not feel commercialized, and I had a spiritual week. I will definitely be returning.

  • Liked — Simple and clean.
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DowntownBrownLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2008

One of my best vacations I ever had was spending time at the surf camp. I had not surfed in a long time. It was great to get back on a board again.This place gives you the opportunity to start out easy and work your way up to bigger waves.One of my favorite things to do was quad riding from beach to beach. Within 30 minutes you can be at your next destination. You can have lunch or drink a beer at the local cantina on the beach. I would recommend that you go to the beach at night to watch the sunset. The beach is not crowded at all, very peaceful place to hang out. Sometimes I would not see anyone, it was like I had my own beach. At night I would just hang out on a hammock listening to music. Now days I like to have everything set for me. I do not like it when I have to get dressed & go find place to eat. For me that is a waste of my time. I like to relax & enjoy my vacation. There at the Shaka surf camp they do all the work for you. They are the friendliest group I have ever met. I can't wait to get back down there. I know you will enjoy your trip, I did!!! Thom

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Thom5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Teresa
11.9 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
3.5 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#3 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#12 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
1.2 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#11 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
2.3 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaka Beach Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaka Beach Retreat

Property: Shaka Beach Retreat
Address: Norte de Escuela 200 M | Village of Playa Hermosa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 5 minutes North of Mal Pais and Santa Teresa, is the highly desirable upscale neighborhood of "Playa Hermosa." Shaka Beach Retreat is a private haven offering an alluring example of modern tropical architecture, nestled in the tropical jungle surroundings, home to monkeys, birds, and fruit trees. A short walk leads to one of the most beautiful quiet beaches the country has to offer. Perfect for swimming, relaxing on the sand, and all levels of surfers. Join us for our popular Surf and Yoga Retreats, offered year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shaka Beach Retreat Hotel Santa Teresa
Shaka Surf Camp Hotel
Shaka Surf Camp Santa Teresa
Shaka Beach Retreat Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing