We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't recommend highly enough.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shaka Beach Retreat
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I have been here twice and will be back next year. Second trip was to bring a group of young adults from Ireland, some of whom have disablities and were there to experience the incredible work that is done here at Shaka on one of their projects Ocean Healing Group. Not only were the OHG fantastic to work with, but all at Shaka gave their utmost to make us feel at home and make this an experience never to be forgotten. The staff went above and beyond when I had a fall outside of the property and broke my leg. If ever I was going to hurt myself again somewhere in the world, I hope to have people around me like Frank, Grant, Megan, Larry and Chris from Shaka who took extraordinary care of me in getting me to hospital. Everything about this place is great. Surf, yoga, food, accommodation and fun, lots of it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moisey65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
There are newer reviews for Shaka Beach Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 218 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2013

I was an adaptive surfer who came in outside of OHG with my buddy and everything was smooth with no problems. The place is a real costa rican experience, beautiful country and located at the best beach in CR. Food was delicious and the AC in the room was more than efficient! The staff was terminally chill i love chris brent and jerry. Paco even snuck into our cabina for a night. Staff was helpful setting us up with atvs and jerry gave us a ride whenever we needed one. Stayed for 7 days then 8 days in jaco, wish i spent the whole time in hermosa. This place has the potential to change you for the better!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoryMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Shaka is amazing. It is located right at Playa Hermosa which is a magical beach. Chris is the best surf instructor from beginners to the most advanced in the world. Anyone can learn from him, and he's totally laid back and chill....which is the vibe at Shaka too. Food is awesome, especially Friday PIZZA NIGHT!!! mmmmmmm. The cabins are comfortable, clean and I felt pampered and in pure nature at the same time. I recommended Shaka to anyone looking for an awesome vacation with the best vibes ever! Pura Vida....Shaka!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nestophoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

My husband, daughter and I stayed at Shaka for a week in November, 2013. As we got out of the van, we were greeted with smiles from people who felt like family after day one! We were so comfortable and so taken care of at Shaka, which helped to make our trip, a trip of a life time! It was nothing short of magical. My husband and daughter surfed every day and I took surf lessons for the first time and had a blast!! We can't wait to go back to Shaka! It was amazing! We were also impressed with the accessibility for our daughter to get around Shaka in her wheelchair with no problem!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SarahSBMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I have been to the Shaka Beach resort three times now and I can't wait to go back again. I really enjoy staying at the Shaka beach resort becasue it is a very relaxing and calming place. There is nothing better than going for a surf session and than taking a nice long nap in a hammock. The food is good and you are far enough away from town so it is nice and quiet, but not to far away that going to town is hard to get there. Also having your own private cabana is awesome. They are clean and are spacious. If you are planning a trip to Costa Rica I would definitely suggest staying at the shaka beach resort. Lastly if you are looking to surf they have everything you would need along with one of the owners is an awesome instructor.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tc23224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I spent 5 days at Shaka 11/17 thru 11/21/13 . It was fantastic! I learned the rudiments of surfing (thanx Jerry!) and practiced fantastic yoga as well (thanx Megan!). Shaka now has it's own beautiful teak yoga studio in the jungle. The company was great with a guy from G.B., a gal from Rland, a gal from Switzerland and 2 gals from Canada, as well as many others. The food was healthy and tasty (thanx Cristella! [sp?]) and the beds were made and cabinas cleaned daily (thanx Maria!). The cabinas are beautiful and they have A.C., though I didn't really need it. The beach was virtually deserted and the water was warm. The waves were 8' high the first day I was there-but you'll learn to surf in the white water left after the big waves break -very fun for a beginner like me and if you're an experienced surfer, you'll be in heaven.The sunsets on the beach were beautiful. I couldn't be happier with my experience and highly recommend Shaka. I'll be back!! When the sun goes down at 530 PM, don't worry-if you're lucky, maybe Jerry the surf teacher will be there to humor you with his many amusing stories! Jeff Rawley, Colorado

Room Tip: all cabinas are really nice
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jeff r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is the only place in Costa Rica that is fully accessible for my Son to get around in his wheel chair. Shaka has it all staff, location and appearance. Monkeys swinging over your villas coconut trees and amazing Costa Rician plants and flowers.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robertdoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
3.5 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
575 reviews
1.2 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#11 of 26 in Santa Teresa
199 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#12 of 26 in Santa Teresa
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
237 reviews
1.9 mi away
Surf Vista Villas
Surf Vista Villas
#13 of 26 in Santa Teresa
153 reviews
3.3 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#7 of 26 in Santa Teresa
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaka Beach Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaka Beach Retreat

Address: Norte de Escuela 200 M | Village of Playa Hermosa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range: $135 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 5 minutes North of Mal Pais and Santa Teresa, is the highly desirable neighbourhood of "Playa Hermosa." Shaka Beach Retreat is a jungle haven offering private villas nestled amongst the tropical surroundings. A short walk leads to one of the most beautiful quiet beaches in the heart of Hermosa's "Surf Zone". Perfect for swimming, relaxing on the sand, and surfing of all levels. Join us for our popular Surf and Yoga packages to experience a true piece of paradise! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shaka Beach Retreat Hotel Santa Teresa
Shaka Surf Camp Hotel
Shaka Surf Camp Santa Teresa
Shaka Beach Retreat Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing