We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shaka Beach Retreat

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shaka Beach Retreat
Save
You added Shaka Beach Retreat to your Saves list
200 M Norte de Escuela | Village of Playa Hermosa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Breathtaking...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The staff and level of service were amazing! The food was delicious and the rooms were extremely clean and comfortable. I've been to Shaka twice and I'm already planning my next trip.

This is absolutely one of the most beautiful and majestic beach's I've been to. I had never surfed before, so I was slightly apprehensive, but the surf lessons were perfect...I even stood up on my first wave!

There are so many activities to choose from, if you want to stay busy, or you can just relax and take in the scenery while reading a good book. It's everything you could want for a dream vacation...and the sunsets will take your breath away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    18
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
25
42
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My experience at Shaka was un-believable! A beautiful setting, with beautiful people. A two minute walk to the beach which is stellar itself with a huge stretch of paradise with 80 degree water temps. The rooms are clean and the hospitality is the best there is. Shaka rocks! I will be back!
Billy Scanlan

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyBlastOff805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I keep coming back to Shaka as often as possible. Santa Teresa is THE spot in Costa Rica and Shaka Beach Retreat is where you must stay. The surf is wonderful, the beach is amazing, the camp is brand new and the people are super sweet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jason m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden, Idaho, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Having the pleasure of experiencing a trip of a lifetime. My son and I experienced Shaka surf retreat . Being able to walk to one of the most beautiful beaches in the world! The accommodations are 5 star- the rooms are perfectly decorated with warm and cool costa rican style. The lush landscape and the relaxing atmosphere. The surfers are professional and very entertaining. It,s a fun relaxing exotic and overwhelming experience. I hope to return someday.

Room Tip: The cabinas are equally nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I found this resort online and was hopeful it would live up to the glowing reviews. It exceeded them.

I was given excellent instructions as to how to get to the camp. Once I arrived, I was filled in on the schedule of daily events.

What separates Shaka from any old resort touting surf lessons, is that the owners and the staff are all long term surfers. They all share a genuine love for the ocean and really like passing on their knowledge of surf conditions at their beach, and surfing in general.

The food was excellent, all very healthy. I think I lost about 10 pounds over the week I was there from proper diet and exercise.

The hammocks and layout of the camp really give you a feel for what the surf dream really looks like.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood,Ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We traveled with a group of friends to this spot in paradise and have booked our return trip already.
The amount of fun and excitement is amazing. You choose your level of adventure and make the day YOURS .
Great surfing even for the beginners , beautiful waves all year round.
Thanks for a super Costa Rican vacation.

Room Tip: All room are excellent many monkeys climb on the trees above the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank larrybenarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My son and I went to Shaka with the Ocean Healing Group. Amazing place to stay. Beautiful!!! Would love to go there with my whole family. The beach is in walking distance, the people are friendly there. Would be extremely romantic for a couple.... but also a great place for the whole family. Extremely clean!!! Breathtaking.

It is handicap accessible and has WiFi. It would not be crowded if you visit Shaka. You would have privacy and feel like you are at your home away from home.

I am from America. I have traveled to Asia and Europe and throughout the United States. My son and I would love to visit Shaka again one day. We are very picky with where we stay and would highly recommend Shaka Beach Retreat!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie1451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Teresa
0.6 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#14 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
2.3 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#1 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
1.2 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#7 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sugar Beach
Hotel Sugar Beach
#2 of 5 in Playa Potrero
4.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
1.3 mi away
Florblanca Resort
Florblanca Resort
#12 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaka Beach Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaka Beach Retreat

Property: Shaka Beach Retreat
Address: 200 M Norte de Escuela | Village of Playa Hermosa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 5 minutes North of Mal Pais and Santa Teresa, is the highly desirable upscale neighborhood of "Playa Hermosa." Shaka Beach Retreat is a private haven offering an alluring example of modern tropical architecture, nestled in the tropical jungle surroundings, home to monkeys, birds, and fruit trees. A short walk leads to one of the most beautiful quiet beaches the country has to offer. Perfect for swimming, relaxing on the sand, and all levels of surfers. Join us for our popular Surf and Yoga Retreats, offered year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shaka Beach Retreat Hotel Santa Teresa
Shaka Surf Camp Hotel
Shaka Surf Camp Santa Teresa
Shaka Beach Retreat Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing