We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
Manala Hotel(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $114/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tropico Latino(Santa Teresa)
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
$88
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Surf Sanctuary(Santa Teresa)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Break Surf Hotel(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
$26
$20
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$295
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Florblanca Resort(Santa Teresa)
$388
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Meli Melo(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Santa Teresa Surf Vista Villas(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (358)
Filter reviews
358 results
Traveler rating
309
33
11
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
309
33
11
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsan oasiscosta ricathe main roadtwo storyincluded breakfastnice balconyrooms were very cleanfirst flooryoga roomthe security guardsuper marketa great place to stayminute walk to the beachvisit santaceiling fancleaned dailybeautiful place
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 358 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Definitely a very pretty hotel. Nice pool, clean rooms and overall good vibes. However don't expect the best service in the world. If you don't want to be bothered and know the beach life in Costa Rica this could be perfect for you.

If you need a bit more service, guidance, and overall hospitality I would suggest you look into other spots in the area.

Like I mentioned this is a really pretty spot and everything is put together visually and cleanliness-wise ... But if Otro Lado wants to take it to the next level, they'll have to really start putting their guests top of mind, and not making them feel like they're on their own here.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SHVPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

I am torn. The more people who know about this gem the harder it will be for me to get a room. But the place is immaculate, everyone is super friendly - yoga and flexibility classes are great (get a massage or the flexibility class from Nathan. Crazy knowledgable!)

Second time here and won't be my last. As long as you don't book up all the rooms people!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank barold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

our favourite place we stayed in all of Costa Rica. great staff, beautiful grounds, delicious and reasonably priced food, awesome location close to the best beach. rooms are clean and classic. Beds weren't the most comfortable, but they were clean which matters more! Felt like we were in a little tropical paradise away from the world, but if you just walk down to the street you are in the heart of a great area in Santa Teresa full of great restaurants and super markets and shops. You do not need to be a surfer to enjoy this town, although it doesn't hurt, the waves were perfect.
I suggest you get down to the beach every single day to see some of the best sunsets ever!. and eat the pasta at the restaurant, it is awesome!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank novaPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Otro Lado is a small lodge very well located in Santa Teresa Playa. The venue is really very charming, with the trees and flowers surrounding the pool. The rooms a nice, cosy and clean. The owners, an italian couple, are very friendly and helpful. Price is more than affordable. We were at another place and changed when we saw this one.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank AlexLucasLebanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I've never been to a place where everyone was so patient and kind; they treat both their guests and each other like one big family. The rooms and grounds are are altogether practical, peaceful, and stunning. The food is made and served with love and care. Laid back and easy going, even when I'd return from the beach, tracking in sand all over the immaculate common area(surfers, take note: this lodge is directly adjacent to the Del Soul Surf School, also highly recommended). Location couldn't be better- a two-minute walk from the beach, close to all the shops, amenities and restaurants, yet out of the way from the clattering nightlife. Got so much back, for what little I payed. To Nico, Baggi, and everyone at Otra Lado- thank you so much. Promise I'll be back. Pura Vida :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoneButNotForLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews