We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place and Lovely Food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stay at Otro Lado was a pleasant surprise. The hotel is amazing, the rooms are cleaned everyday and smells so good. The pool is a mirage that I have enjoyed everyday! The food prepared by Baggi and Nico is delicious and very healthy. Everyday they have something very good to offer. Baggi and Nico are very welcome people and I will for sure be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chabudet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
There are newer reviews for Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 333 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Definitely a very pretty hotel. Nice pool, clean rooms and overall good vibes. However don't expect the best service in the world. If you don't want to be bothered and know the beach life in Costa Rica this could be perfect for you.

If you need a bit more service, guidance, and overall hospitality I would suggest you look into other spots in the area.

Like I mentioned this is a really pretty spot and everything is put together visually and cleanliness-wise ... But if Otro Lado wants to take it to the next level, they'll have to really start putting their guests top of mind, and not making them feel like they're on their own here.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SHVPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

I am torn. The more people who know about this gem the harder it will be for me to get a room. But the place is immaculate, everyone is super friendly - yoga and flexibility classes are great (get a massage or the flexibility class from Nathan. Crazy knowledgable!)

Second time here and won't be my last. As long as you don't book up all the rooms people!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank barold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

our favourite place we stayed in all of Costa Rica. great staff, beautiful grounds, delicious and reasonably priced food, awesome location close to the best beach. rooms are clean and classic. Beds weren't the most comfortable, but they were clean which matters more! Felt like we were in a little tropical paradise away from the world, but if you just walk down to the street you are in the heart of a great area in Santa Teresa full of great restaurants and super markets and shops. You do not need to be a surfer to enjoy this town, although it doesn't hurt, the waves were perfect.
I suggest you get down to the beach every single day to see some of the best sunsets ever!. and eat the pasta at the restaurant, it is awesome!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank novaPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Otro Lado is a small lodge very well located in Santa Teresa Playa. The venue is really very charming, with the trees and flowers surrounding the pool. The rooms a nice, cosy and clean. The owners, an italian couple, are very friendly and helpful. Price is more than affordable. We were at another place and changed when we saw this one.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank AlexLucasLebanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I've never been to a place where everyone was so patient and kind; they treat both their guests and each other like one big family. The rooms and grounds are are altogether practical, peaceful, and stunning. The food is made and served with love and care. Laid back and easy going, even when I'd return from the beach, tracking in sand all over the immaculate common area(surfers, take note: this lodge is directly adjacent to the Del Soul Surf School, also highly recommended). Location couldn't be better- a two-minute walk from the beach, close to all the shops, amenities and restaurants, yet out of the way from the clattering nightlife. Got so much back, for what little I payed. To Nico, Baggi, and everyone at Otra Lado- thank you so much. Promise I'll be back. Pura Vida :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoneButNotForLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Otro Lado is just heavenly. Perfectly located, just off the main street of Santa Teresa, and a short 2min walk to the beach. Run by a super sweet Italian couple - Nico and Baggi - they are totally relaxed, helpful and very kind. The rooms are beautifully clean and spacious. The pool is great. There is a yoga room, and massage available as well. Breakfast is served under a big palapa, and you get an amazing list of choices + good Italian coffee as well. They also offer a lunch menu. I was lucky enough to meet some amazing people there during my stay - it was a really beautiful 8 days (i was only meant to stay for 3), and i didnt want to leave. I will be back for sure. Thank you so much for having me.

Room Tip: Room 9 was amazing. Upstairs, a huge king size bed, lovely bathroom, little balcony etc.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GG-Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
577 reviews
1.1 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#12 of 26 in Santa Teresa
199 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
339 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Surf Vista Villas
Surf Vista Villas
#13 of 26 in Santa Teresa
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant

Address: North of Soccer Field Santa Teresa 200 Mt, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range: $76 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Otro Lado Lodge is a small resort just a few steps from one of the most beautiful beaches in Costa Rica. Situated in a quiet tropical garden with a swimming pool, the lodge is comprised of four separate residences, each with two levels and can accommodate four people comfortably. The restaurant is open air concept with complimentary satellite television plus wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Otro Lado Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Santa Teresa
Otro Lado Lodge And Restaurant Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing