We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (363)
Filter reviews
363 results
Traveler rating
313
33
11
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
313
33
11
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews an oasis costa rica the main road two story rooms were very clean nice balcony included breakfast rooms are amazing first floor yoga room definitely stay here again super market a great place to stay surf shop ceiling fan cleaned daily restaurant recommendations
Filter
Updating list...
156 - 161 of 363 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights. We picked it up for opinions in this site and for the price (including breakfast). 
Selvaggia and Nico were really nice. Very helpful. Good attention anytime.
Food was really good: 5 options for breakfast, and they make fresh italian pasta with Italian ingredients, very delicious!
Rooms were very beautiful and clean for a beach hotel! Pool was always warm and clean. Hotel is 5 minute walking from the beach
Hotel has very nice gardens and a yoga platform were you can take classes twice a day ($10/class).
No wonder why it won Trip Advisor's 2013 travelers choice. We'll love to come back again!

Date of stay: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marta V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Please stop looking any further - seriously! Just spent a week at Otro Lado and it was a slice of heaven. We needed to spend one night at another place in Santa Teresa in the same price range so I can say with confidence this is 10x better than any other place.

The garden and pool are lush, there is a calm aesthetic about the entire place, it is pristinely clean and well maintained from bedroom to washrooms to main area (the photos on their website truly depict the place), the breakfasts are delicious (and included with your stay), the owners Baggi and Nico are helpful and just downright lovely. We stayed in both a room and a villa/lodge ... both are worthwhile it just depends if you want a little more space and a kitchenette which can be helpful.

Book here now!!

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bing375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Just got back from a great stay at Otro Lado. I spent hours researching hotels before we went. Read all the reviews about this place and booked it. Don't read anymore reviews. Book now! This is the best place in town. I don't even want to write anymore so you don't waste time reading and just contact them now. It really is ALL true.

Room tip: Every room here is great. The regular rooms are really nice and spacious and have balconies. If you want to cook and have a refrigerator, book a villa. They are beautiful.
Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catelefono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Otro Lado for four nights and absolutely loved it! The hotel is conveniently located across the street from the beach but is nestled away from the noise and traffic of Santa Teresa's main road so you feel like you're walking into a private oasis when you enter the driveway. Our room was spacious and bright with a private balcony that had a table and chairs that overlooked the pool area. The furniture and decor throughout the hotel are simple but extremely inviting. The housekeeping at the hotel is exceptional- the rooms and common areas are all very well maintained and the cleaning products that they use smell fresh and florally, instead of like chemicals. Despite all of the dust and sand we tracked in from walking around all day, housekeeping miraculously managed to keep our room spotless for the duration of our stay. The pool area and garden are very relaxing and were great to come home to- we usually went to the beach during the day and then lounged by the pool at night. We loved the healthy breakfast each morning- our favorite was the fruit and granola with the tropical fruit juice. For lunch, you have to try the gazpacho.

Although we loved the hotel itself, what truly made our stay special was the people of Otro Lado. Nico, Baggi, Elena, Maria, etc. were all fantastic from start to finish. During our first phone call with Elena we were greeted with a warm and friendly voice that was eager to help us arrange plans for our trip. Nico kindly arranged our airport transportation (which was flawless), gave us excellent restaurant recommendations each night, and suggested fun trips for us each day. Baggi was exceptional at anticipating our needs and going above and beyond to accommodate them- we felt like guests staying in her house. She even gave me one of her own books to take because I forgot mine and I had already read the ones in the room. Maria, the chef, met us with a smile everyday and made us refreshing and light meals (perfect for the warm weather).

Needless to say, we highly recommend Otro Lado to anyone who is visiting Santa Teresa and look forward to returning very soon!

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcerialo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We were most fortunate to have stayed here for 3 nights. A lovely environment, we enjoyed our 1 bedroom, 2 bath, lodge located right next to the pool. The bedroom was on the 2nd floor with a king bed and full bath. The main floor had two single day beds, a kitchenette and a full bath. Dining area in a sheltered area just outside along with two hammocks perfect for chilling.

The owners/operators are very hospitable and provide breakfast as part of the package.

The beach is a short walk and there are a lot of great restaurants in the area, both local or typical food Sodas and mid to high end restaurants providing everything from Argentinian options to Sushi.

We were delighted with our stay and look forward to returning for a longer stay.

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtlanticCanadaFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews