We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Rude staff, no wi fi as promised” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Wamego, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Rude staff, no wi fi as promised”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

When we booked our hotel in Santa Teresa we specifically picked a hotel that promised wi fi. We were there during the peak season so we booked it well in advance. When we arrived we found the wi fi did not work as promised. We inquired at the desk about it and the woman came up and fiddled with our I Pad for awhile and said we could try sitting on the balcony and it might work. It did not work at all inside the room and only some of the time on the balcony. The staff was rude and said most people don't want wi fi and acted like we were being unreasonable.

The room we had was on the west side and there was no shade on the big window over the bed to block the sun, only a flimsy see through curtain. So the afternoon was very hot and sunny in the room. It was not comfortable for resting after coming back from the beach.

A small refrigerator would have been nice and for the price of the room a breakfast should have been included (even just some toast and fruit).

Location was fine because it is just a short walk to the beach but you can definitely do better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    26
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
54
153
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We only spent one night at the hotel but it was amazing. Room was clean and very nicely decorated and with a king size bed. We loved hanging out in the hotel just as much as hanging out on the beach (has an amazing cozy vibe to it :) We spent most of the day on the hammock and at night swimming in their amazing pool! Breakfast was included which made the stay even better! highly recommended for couples who are looking for a romantic place to spend time with each other.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

The Otro Lado Lodge is the perfect place to stay in Santa Teresa. The Villas is very stylish. The contemporary style works well and it feels very exclusive. The Villas is in two floors, the upper level has a queen size bed, nice bathroom and a huge balcony. On the groundfloor you have a small but very well equipped kitchen, two sofas/beds and another big bathroom which is especially nice, as it's open air and has a large stone shower.
The Otro Lado Lodge has the best location, close to the road/beach but still quiet and like an oasis with its nice green surroundings and the beautiful pool and lounge area.
It’s owned by Nico and Baggio and they are the most warm and coolest persons I’ve met. They helped us organize fishing trips, taxi service and more. They also have the coolest pets (dog and cats) which are very charming and friendly. They offer both breakfast and lunch and it is absolutely great food. Especially the homemade pasta! They also offer yoga and massage treatments etc.
I can’t wait to come back to Santa Teresa and Otro Lado again soon!

Room Tip: The open space villas are supernice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda_Dahnberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at Otro Lado Santa Teresa and after visiting 8 differents places and hotels in Costa Rica, we voted this hotel number 1! Its a little oasis! not too far from the beach. There was only a couple things that could of made our stay better: a mini fridge, included breakfast, good curtains for late morning sleepers and a softer mattress (therapeutic was way to hard for us). Over all I would highly recommend this paradise.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maggi24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

At first, we booked for 2 days, but after spending our first night we decided to extend to 4 days to take full advantage of the great hotel and awesome location.

First off, Otro Lado is warm and inviting, and really quite tranquil. The bar/restaurant area is lush and well decorated, with enough seating and space for a crowd without being confining,

The room is very cute. Simple, but well aligned with the overall feel of a retreat/lodge style. The in-room safe is a nice feature, and so is the open tiled shower.

The pool is great too, nice loungers on the sides for relaxing post-beach or surfing. Overall, very comforting and relaxing.

Great location too, maybe a 5 minute walk to the beach and near all of the restaurants and supermarkets you'll ever need.

I'd recommend it as a great place to stay. Great management!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eugene_Kozorovitsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We had this place recommended to us and it lived up to expectations. A beautiful airy courtyard surrounded by stylish rooms, huge beds, lovely bathrooms, spotlessly clean and great food served at lunch and breakfast - breakfast included in price. We didn't want to leave! Made a great upgrade from the super budget travelling we'd been doing on the rest of our trip.

Room Tip: No ocean views from this hotel but you don't really need them
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanaxxbanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

In Santa Teresa. Good location, close to the surf. Lovely ital. hosts, a familiar setting, excellent beds, very solid concrete buildings in a modern, tropical style. Good coffee and homemade cake and pasta. Had a Great time, mille grazie...
Titus & Kady

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Safarikady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#4 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
1.0 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#14 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#9 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.4 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#16 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant

Property: Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Address: North of Soccer Field Santa Teresa 200 Mt, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Otro Lado Lodge is a small resort just a few steps from one of the most beautiful beaches in Costa Rica. Situated in a quiet tropical garden with a swimming pool, the lodge is comprised of four separate residences, each with two levels and can accommodate four people comfortably. The restaurant is open air concept with complimentary satellite television plus wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Otro Lado Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Santa Teresa
Otro Lado Lodge And Restaurant Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing