We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zen!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at Otro Lado Santa Teresa and after visiting 8 differents places and hotels in Costa Rica, we voted this hotel number 1! Its a little oasis! not too far from the beach. There was only a couple things that could of made our stay better: a mini fridge, included breakfast, good curtains for late morning sleepers and a softer mattress (therapeutic was way to hard for us). Over all I would highly recommend this paradise.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggi24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 333 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

At first, we booked for 2 days, but after spending our first night we decided to extend to 4 days to take full advantage of the great hotel and awesome location.

First off, Otro Lado is warm and inviting, and really quite tranquil. The bar/restaurant area is lush and well decorated, with enough seating and space for a crowd without being confining,

The room is very cute. Simple, but well aligned with the overall feel of a retreat/lodge style. The in-room safe is a nice feature, and so is the open tiled shower.

The pool is great too, nice loungers on the sides for relaxing post-beach or surfing. Overall, very comforting and relaxing.

Great location too, maybe a 5 minute walk to the beach and near all of the restaurants and supermarkets you'll ever need.

I'd recommend it as a great place to stay. Great management!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eugene_Kozorovitsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We had this place recommended to us and it lived up to expectations. A beautiful airy courtyard surrounded by stylish rooms, huge beds, lovely bathrooms, spotlessly clean and great food served at lunch and breakfast - breakfast included in price. We didn't want to leave! Made a great upgrade from the super budget travelling we'd been doing on the rest of our trip.

Room Tip: No ocean views from this hotel but you don't really need them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanaxxbanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

In Santa Teresa. Good location, close to the surf. Lovely ital. hosts, a familiar setting, excellent beds, very solid concrete buildings in a modern, tropical style. Good coffee and homemade cake and pasta. Had a Great time, mille grazie...
Titus & Kady

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Safarikady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed for a week in Otro Lado in November 2012 and I couldn't have been happier with my choice. The lodge is beautiful - as you will see, the owners (Baggia & Niko - great guys and extremely helpful, who are ably assisted by Isabella) have spent considerable time and effort in creating a comfortable and relaxing environment for guests. Indeed, they've spent 8 years working on the lodge! I would compare the lodge to boutique hotels that I've stayed in around the world. The guys organised a taxi to pick me up from Tambor which took approx. 45mins. I had thought about driving from San Jose, but was thankful I took the easy option, particularly when the flight on a 12 seater gave you an excellent glimpse of the beautiful scenery.

My bedroom was spacious with a nice balcony and thankfully, with good A/C. There's a really nice pool with a deck onsite that's great for chilling and cooling down. The food (breakfast and lunch) was always very good and the open dining area is pleasant; it's also a nice spot to chat and socialise with other guests. They also run regular yoga and other classes onsite. It's also possible to arrange a massage onsite (Nathan is excellent) and there's even a good chiropractor (Neil) down the alleyway. The beach is less than 5 minutes and for those cyclists, they have bikes onsite that you can use for free. I spent the week on and off the bikes getting around Santa Teresa. Plenty of surf shops within a stone's throw should you wish to hire boards or arrange lessons.

I really do hope I will be able to make it back at some stage in the near future! Recommended 100%.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeatsNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Simply amazing. Every positive word about this hotel is true.
Clean, quiet and perfectly located about a 3 min walk to the beach.
All of the staff are friendly and helpful and the owners, Baggi and Nico show a care and warmth that's infectious.

Wouldn't stay or recommend anywhere else.
Simply perfect.

Don't miss out on the restaurant either! Amazing, fresh homemade pasta!

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed for one week in Otro Lado, and found it to be a very relaxing lodge. The owners are very friendly & helpful, the rooms are clean and pleasant and the Italian food served during lunch was excellent, one would wish that they also served dinner there. They also created some wonderful lounge areas near the pool, where you can relax after a long day surfing. All in all a great place, we didn't regret our choice for a second.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
580 reviews
1.1 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#11 of 27 in Santa Teresa
200 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#19 of 27 in Santa Teresa
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#13 of 27 in Santa Teresa
339 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#18 of 27 in Santa Teresa
157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#16 of 27 in Santa Teresa
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant

Address: North of Soccer Field Santa Teresa 200 Mt, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range: $76 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Otro Lado Lodge is a small resort just a few steps from one of the most beautiful beaches in Costa Rica. Situated in a quiet tropical garden with a swimming pool, the lodge is comprised of four separate residences, each with two levels and can accommodate four people comfortably. The restaurant is open air concept with complimentary satellite television plus wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Otro Lado Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Santa Teresa
Otro Lado Lodge And Restaurant Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing