We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfecto!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2012

A comparison at the number of 5 star reviews against all other choices will quickly tell you that Otro Lado Lodge is a special place.
For starters, the place is immaculately maintained. The rooms and cottages are beautifully designed and cozy. The grounds are taken care of on a daily basis. The pool setting is perfectly located and like everything else at the Otro Lado, very clean.
The breakfast and lunch menu is full of deliciously prepared foods. No need to go out anywhere else to get a great meal.
The BEST part of the Otro Lado is the STAFF. Lead by Baggie and Nico good-vibe personalities and a tremendous desire to make your stay perfect is what sets this place apart from all other. You cannot help the feeling that you are part of their family instead of a guest.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 333 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

I would have liked to stay longer. This cool Italian couple are there to make you feel within friends. Great service!

They know around well so their recommendations are very valuable.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alecordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This was my second trip to Otro Lado, because it was so nice to visit the first time that I wanted to come back. The location is great. It is at the end of the local bus route and a two minute walk from the beach and great restaurants.

It has an extraordinarily friendly feel within the open air restaurant. The pool is lovely. The rooms are simple and clean. There is even a yoga shala. It is also a quick walk away from the beach. Different room options are available for both families and single persons. There is also a wi-fi connection. They also have a nice older dog, Hatta who will absorb all the attention your willing to give and some friendly cats. You'll most likely see iguanas, parakeets, chickens, geckos, and monkeys too around town. Overall, it's a lovely place to be. Nico & Baggi have done a great job. They'll also assist in booking quads, trips, massages, spas, yoga, surfing lessons etc... It's so easy and relaxing. Please note though that the high season and the summer season vary somewhat. I've visited in the low season and made many friends and had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We began with a bad experience at another Hotel and we left and came across Otro Lado. The owners weren't there, But in charge was a friends of theirs. She was amazing, very hospitable, nice and caring. The Hotel was very clean and our rooms were amazing. The best place of the hotel was the dowstairs shower (the shower was made to have the feel of showering outside in the wild). The surfing beaches were very close to the hotel and parking had all night security.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This hotel was the nicest I have ever stayed in! wow!! This hotel is very clean. The bed is comfortable, air conditioning is great and the bathrooms are super clean. The showers are so amazing. The pool is very clean and beautiful! The food is amazing and not to expensive! The staff was very friendly and helpful! This was the highlight of my trip to Costa Rica!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12345traveller123426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Best choice in Santa Teresa. The rooms were large and bright. All windows had screens so you could use the fan and have the windows open, or air-conditioning when it was really hot. The property is gorgeous with lovely common areas. The owners were out of town, but left Francesca in charge. She was exceedingly helpful and friendly. -Logan/Andrew, Salt Lake City, UT

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Logan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

My friends and I had the best experience at Otro Lado. The place is well laid out, landscaped very well, and the rooms were very clean and neat. Housekeeping was impressive and each room was a nice size, bathrooms were nice, and every room had a balcony. This place is totally cute. There was even a very refreshing pool. I loved this place because I came to Santa Teresa to Surf and do yoga. The most amazing thing about this place is that so much was included. We got to do yoga everyday if we wanted (Francesca, yoga instructor was amazing and so so nice), got massages which were top notch ( i own a day spa), and meals were included which were delicious. Btw, the coffee there is so good! We met the owners briefly and they were very nice and accomodating. I really want to mention Francesca (diff than yoga instructor) who totally took care of us in terms of answering questions, serving meals, booking yoga, massage, taxi's and reservations for dinner. Even the cook, Maria was a sweetheart. This place is very well run and efficient in a laid back way. I loved my stay and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Every room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jinnysurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
580 reviews
1.1 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#11 of 27 in Santa Teresa
199 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#19 of 27 in Santa Teresa
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#13 of 27 in Santa Teresa
339 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#18 of 27 in Santa Teresa
157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#16 of 27 in Santa Teresa
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant

Address: North of Soccer Field Santa Teresa 200 Mt, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range: $76 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Otro Lado Lodge is a small resort just a few steps from one of the most beautiful beaches in Costa Rica. Situated in a quiet tropical garden with a swimming pool, the lodge is comprised of four separate residences, each with two levels and can accommodate four people comfortably. The restaurant is open air concept with complimentary satellite television plus wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Otro Lado Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Santa Teresa
Otro Lado Lodge And Restaurant Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing