We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Pura Vida” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lucero Surf Retreats

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lucero Surf Retreats
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Vaughan, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pura Vida”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed at a wonderful loction arranged by Lucero Surf Retreats. The retreat, staff and activities were fantastic. Special thanks to Courtney who took care of everything for us. Lucero Surf Retreats really knows how to make you feel special. We highly recommend booking a vacation with Lucero for surfing, yoga or relaxing. They know how to enjoy life.
Pura Vida.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
12
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Lucero Surf Retreats was the best choice for my trip to Costa Rica. I went with three of my friends and we all had a blast. We were all taken care of very well thanks to Lucero. Surfing, yoga, massages, paddle boarding, and horse back riding were just a few of the awesome activities that we really enjoyed. Our hotel we stayed at was SO nice and everyone there really made us feel welcome. Marieke from Lucero was beyond helpful with all of our questions and concerns before the trip, and during the trip she made sure we were having an amazing time. I highly recommend experiencing Costa Rica through Lucero, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Amazing trip, gorgeous location! The surf-yoga package was a fantastic value. Our experience with Lucero was excellent. Everyone we dealt with including the hotel owners, yoga & surf instructors & the on site Lucero coordinator was committed to making our stay a memorable one and they were wonderful people as well. In short, a great, fun time. Will definitely book future trips with the Lucero team!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JC1672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

This surf and yoga retreat was an amazing experience and I had a great time. From the start of planning this trip, Marieke was super helpful and responded to all our questions and emails with a prompt response and helpful information. This helped tremendously as this was the first time I planned a vacation that was not a simple all inclusive package. We flew into San Jose and took Nature Air to Tambour and took a 40min cab ride into Santa Theresa. They even had arranged to have a taxi waiting there for us. Otro Lado is an absolute hidden gem in the middle of a small surf town. Baggi and Nico were super helpful and friendly. The food at the hotel and everywhere we went was to die for, so fresh and made with love. The hotel rooms were great, each with its own unique style. When we arrived we were met by Courtney and Ryan who were our go to people for the week. They were amazing, super helpful and accommodating. They know the in's and out's of the area and provided us with a lot of info on where to eat, places to see, ect. They made our week even more amazing and worry free. Every morning we had yoga with Francesca who is a fantastic yoga instructor and will push who to your ultimate potential. Our surf instructor Marc was awesome. Right from the start you can tell the love and passion he has for surfing and it translates into the lessons. Having never surfed before, it was a breeze with Marc's technical knowledge and ability to effectively communicate. We also went stand-up paddle boarding with Andy and his wife which was super fun and a great work out.
All in all this trip was perfect, I had such a wonderful time that I can not wait to get back there!! I only wish I had stayed longer and perhaps had slightly stronger SPF!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renz25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montr��al
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

Extremely nice vacations. I LOVED it. Everybody was super nice to me and sooo helpful Marc, the surf instructor, was the best teacher! Great explanations, making me feel comfortable in any situation, really available, and soooo nice. And Baggi and Nico, the hotel owners, were perfect hosts.I hope I can come back soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mymy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sámara, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

Lucero was a perfect choice for a retreat! The owners are friendly, warm and very helpful. The experience was wonderful, the lodging, surf lessons and yoga were perfect! I could not have chosen a better retreat. I recommend them highly to friends and family!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jilly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

What an amazing experience!!
First off .... Santa Theresa is the hidden gem of Costa Rica. From white sand beaches, amazing surf, and most importantly wonderful locals.

My fiance and I went down for a week ... and wish we could have stayed a lifetime. Lucero arranged wonderul lodging steps away from the beach. Try the amazing homemade Italian food served by the owners. Incredible. Yoga class in the morning and surf in the afternoon. Does it get any better!?!? Our instructors were top notch and catered to all levels. I highly recommend renting 4-wheelers and checking out the other small towns nearby.

I can't say enough good things about Lucero. Go .... Enjoy ... and thank me later.

Room Tip: It's a relatively small place .... and all the rooms are great!! If you have 4 people, request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicholas a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#4 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.5 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#9 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
2.5 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.0 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#16 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucero Surf Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucero Surf Retreats

Property: Lucero Surf Retreats
Address: Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LUCERO SURF RETREATS offers adventure travel with all inclusive Surf and Surf/Yoga packages to Santa Teresa in beautiful Costa Rica for single travelers, groups, families and couples! You will love a vacation with us because we provide a fun, friendly learning atmosphere for surfers and yogi's of any level with the perfect balance between surf, activity, yoga and individual free time. If you don't want to join one of our Group Retreats or standard packages let us know! With a lot of experience in travel planning, we will be able to arrange your vacation from beginning to end based on your personal wishes on dates that work best for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lucero Surf Retreats Hotel Santa Teresa
Lucero Surf Retreats Nicoya
Lucero Surf Retreats Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing