We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't leave!”
Review of Hotel Buenos Aires

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Buenos Aires
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Couldn't leave!”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

It was a shock, first arriving at this hotel, because, true to the name, the air is very good on a hill! It is a steep hike up, but if you can adjust to that, the hotel is a gem, a great value and well run by Javier and his girlfriend who are always around for a chat or to give advice. I found the rooms spacious and the bathrooms modern with a big sink and roomy shower with hot water. There's a mini fridge to put your own drinks in or drink the establishment's for a small fee. The atmosphere is very tranquilo - sitting in hammocks, reading, drinking a beer, watching the sun off the sea.

Down the hill (5-10 min walk, depending on fitness) there's beach access, a supermarket, shops, and restaurants. Everything in Playa Teresa is on the one main road, so it's supremely difficult to get lost. The Italian place at the bottom of the hill does amazing pizzas and has good, Italy-imported wines too. We intended on only spending 4 nights here and ended up spending the week. It's a wonderful, relaxing place to unwind that's a great value for the area

Room Tip: Rooms with aircon are on the top level and, I'd venture a bet, quieter than those below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaSpirit265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    20
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
155
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Staying at Hotel Buenos Aires was one of the best things about my stay in Santa Teresa. The view from the hotel is absolutely breathtaking and will allow you to conveniently check out the surf (which is very good). The rooms are nice and clean, and the service is superb. Javier who runs the place with his girlfriend and their charming dog, Luna, will do anything to make your stay an absolute pleasure, and therefore I give Hotel Buenos Aires my warmest recommendations.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MortenGrupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We found Hotel Buenos Aires on tripadvisor.ca and based on the reviews and the hotel's website, we booked 7 nights for the second leg of our two week vacation.

Although we hadn't previously seen the hotel, we were familiar with the location as we had a fantastic dinner and drinks at Javier's restaurant, Brisas Del Mar, last year. The hotel is very charming and situated up the hill from the restaurant and has spectacular ocean and sunset views! We made certain to be back at the hotel each evening to enjoy happy hour sunset on Javi's well manicured lawn!

Pride of ownership is evident and Javier and Florencia do an amazing job taking care of their hotel and their guests. Javi is a great guy and was a pleasure to deal with when making our reservation and really helpful whenever we needed anything after we arrived. Florencia is very sweet and we appreciated how quickly she made up our room each day.

We had a lot of fun touring around on the quad we rented and we were thankful we did as we got to see so much more of the area and even ended up going up the coast to Playa Coyote and having lunch at Restaurant Tanga on the beach.The food is amazing and so fresh!

After two weeks on the quad we were happy to spend our last few afternoons by the pool. It was awesome hanging out at the pool and enjoying the ambience of Brisas Del Mar and the ocean as our back drop!

We absolutely loved our stay at Hotel Buenos Aires and we will definitely be back! Thanks for an awesome vacation Javi and Flo!

Cheers from Canada,

Kevin and Tracy

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenosaireshotel, Propietario at Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you Tracy for this beautiful review! We really enjoy having guest like you and Kevin, because you not only wanted to know the town but also enjoy it doing diferents activities and lot of relax. lt was a pleasure share our place with you and hope ours path cross again some where.
Love from Mal Pais.
Javi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed four nights in this beautiful place which is run by Argentinians. The owner Javi is very friendly, forthcoming and helpful.The room was beautiful and thanks to Flor very very clean. It was the first time during our trip that we could actually relax. All windows had either glass or moskito nets and hot water was given all the time. A luxury in Costa Rica! The view from the hill over the ocean is spectacular and worth any sweat going up ;-)

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lirob2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We spent a week at the Buenos Aires, and it was the best vacation ever. Javier and Flo are gracious and friendly hosts. It's hard to review the hotel without repeating what everyone else has said. Javier is your guide to the community and really makes you feel at home. He came to Santa Teresa from Argentina and built the hotel and the restaurant 18 years ago, and he and Flo work hard to maintain the property and keep guests happy. The hotel is up a rather steep hill with a gorgeous view of the ocean and the sunset, and the restaurant and pool are down 110 steps (my wife counted) from the hotel, halfway up the hill. The hike up is a bit of exercise, but the two of us, both in our upper 50's, got used to it; if you are older or not in good shape, you might want to rent a 4WD or an ATV. One of the many nice things about the Buenos Aires is that it is walking distance to quite a few nice restaurants, Super Ronny's supermarket, Nalu surf shop, and other conveniences, nonetheless because it's up the hill and set back, it is very private and off the dusty road. Some of the other highly rated hotels on TripAdvisor are further up the road in the northern part of town and in a little less walkable or more isolated part of town. The hotel's restaurant, Las Brisas del Mar, is fantastic. The mixed seafood grill was the best seafood I've ever had. The guests at the hotel come from all over. While we were there, there were some other Americans, some Canadians, a few people from England, and some Argentines. The guests are friendly and a nice bunch. Generally speaking the crowd is not a late-night party crowd, as might be the case in some of the other places in town in the same price bracket. We had a great night's sleep every night. Javier encouraged me to try surfing (we'll give this another shot next time!), and encouraged us to take a day trip on a rented ATV to Montezuma. Two bits of advice: it's probably not best to try to learn how to drive an ATV for the first time at dusk, especially if you will be tackling driving up the hill to the Buenos Aires, and, if you do rent one and take a day trip to Montezuma, take the back road through the Cabo Blanco Nature Reserve to get there -- not the main road through Cobano. The back road is absolutely amazing.

We had a great time. Gracias, Javier y Flo, y hasta la revista!

Len & Sue

Room Tip: We stayed in a room that didn't have air conditioning, just the fan, and were always comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, California
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We absolutely LOVED our stay here. The view from the hotel is absolutely amazing and makes the climb back up the hill completely worth it, not to mention providing a little more peace and quiet being removed from the main road. Javi and Flo were wonderful, gracious hosts and made us feel like family during our stay here. We could not have asked for a better experience and are counting down the days till we can come back. Our entire stay was a joy; rooms were always clean, mini fridge was always stocked with cold beverages and sunsets were always something to swoon over! Despite being removed from the road, it's just a VERY quick walk to the beach and restaurants - and an even closer one to Horizon Yoga Studio, which was also a huge plus for our stay. HIGHLY recommend staying here - we can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: AC rooms are upstairs and are very worth it when it's super hot, downstairs ones have hammocks o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2014

My husband and I have just spent the last 8 nights here, We had a wonderful stay and Javier and Flor were great hosts. Not only were they very helpful, but also had a good sense of humor and made us feel at home. The rooms were exceptionally clean and great value. Besides the awesome sunset views and in general great view of the ocean, the pool was just perfect temperature and as we were here, there was a new pool deck added making it very inviting. We also ate at the restaurant and it was delicious. There are a few stairs to our room but was well worth it. Our stay here was peaceful and relaxing. I would highly recommend this hotel.
Thanks Javier for everything.
Laura and Gordy .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura2300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
563 reviews
2.5 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
197 reviews
1.4 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
156 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa
#19 of 26 in Santa Teresa
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buenos Aires

Property: Hotel Buenos Aires
Address: Playa Carmen, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Teresa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Hotel Buenos Aires Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing