We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Prime Ocean View” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Buenos Aires

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Buenos Aires
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
brazil
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Prime Ocean View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

These guys are set on a prime location in Santa Teresa/Malpais area. You are sitting on top of a cliff with a view of the ocean and town right below your feet. Pretty relaxing vibe, which after 12 days travelling around Costa Rica, were very welcoming to my wife and I. Initially we were planning a 2 day stay, but after one day we decided to go for 6.

Room Tip: First level rooms have hammocks, which in my opinion are a plus. The difference is that they have no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gutobrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenosaireshotel, Propietario at Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hi Gustavo.
Thank you very much to take some time and write a review about our place.
It was a plasure have you and your wive, Daniela here with us.
Hope we can share a few more waves in the future!
All the best.
Javi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    19
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
147
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

There isn't a better place to view the sunsets over the entire town and beach. 180+ degree view of white water, checking the surf each morning is easy from this perfect view. Javier is a gracious, knowledgeable host and Flo keeps the entire hotel spotless (and i do mean spotless!) with room service each morning. This place is clean, completely safe/secure and away from the dusty roads yet only a 5 min walk down the hill to the beaches and shops. Rooms are either a/c or fan. All with locking doors, hot showers and mini fridge/stocked bar. There is also a pool for lounging or cooling off.

This is by far the best hotel/host in all of Mal Pais/ST. The view is incredible!!!! The hosts are like you best friends.

Room Tip: You wont be needing hot water showers ;) Close your window coverings in the afternoon to keep the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skrillz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We spent two weeks in Costa Rica over Xmas and New Years and the 4 nights at Hotel Buenos Aires were one of the highlights. It is a short (but strenuous) walk up the hill and close to everything in town and the beach, Buenos Aires also lays claim to the best sunset views, a great pool and an amazing restaurant. It is also next door to Horizon Yoga, so very convenient for drop in yoga. Javier was an amazing host, and was extremely nice and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenosaireshotel, Propietario at Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Hi Marc.
So nice of you take some time to write this beautiful review, man! l really appreciate it. But l have to tell you, my job is easy with guest like you and Tara, lovely people!
Also thanks for the review for our restaurant and the recommendation for the brownies, haha!
All the best.
Javi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Unfortunately we could only stay for 2 days on our whirlwind trip through the pacific coast but even so, those two days left a lasting impression. The beach that you can see from the overlook is exceptional and a quick walk. We spent both of our days there. The room was comfortable and we only needed a fan to sleep peacefully. Our first night we did notice two HUGE spiders but my boyfriend quickly disposed of those. We ate at the adjacent restaurant one night and it was one of our favorite meals of the entire trip. We didn't have reservations but they squeezed us in (note: closed on mondays). The view of the sunset can't really be put into words so I took a million pictures instead. All-in-all, I loved it. One more quick note, if driving, you definitely need 4-wheel drive to get up there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

What an amazing view! We arrived around sunset and immediately enjoyed a fresh Imperial on the 'terrace'. After enjoying the sunset, Javier took the time to have a chat with us and he gave us some good tips for dinner.

The hotel is great to enjoy the ocean view, relaxing atmosphere,... especially if you like to surf (we're not surfers, but I guess the other guests were).

Maybe one small disadvantage: the hard mattress.

But I still recommend everyone to book one or more nights at Buenos Aires!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Buenos Aires has to have the most beautiful of all locations in Santa Teresa. It has stunning views and is only short walk up the hill from the main road. The rooms were extremely clean, comfortable, ensuit and perfect for our needs. The top floor ones have AC and a bigger view from the balcony, the ground floor ones have fans as AC is not necessary but the balcony is swapped with a hammock - the best way to chill & escape the afternoon sun.
What really makes this place is the owner Javi and his partner Flo. They run the place hands on with no outside staff meaning it's a very personal experience, extremely safe but above all fun! Javi was charming, always wanting to help out on advice, directions and how to book various things (surf lessons, paddle boarding, horse riding etc) but more so just a great guy to chat too and hang out with. It felt more like being asked to stay and hang out in their house than it did the formalities of a hotel. We loved it, it really reflected the Santa Teresa vibe.
Javi used to run the restaurant a 2minute walk down the hill which is now run by someone else but on his land. The food here is extremely good and fresh and the restaurant has beautiful views & a laid back feel but most importantly - the swimming pool here is exclusively for the use of Buenos Aires guests. We spent a lot of time hanging here when it was too hot to be anywhere else. This alone makes Buenos Aires THE place to stay!
We loved it. Could'nt fault it an any single way.
Thank you Javi, we will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Freddie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenosaireshotel, Propietario at Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Fred, man, l'm speechless! So nice of you, people will think we are family, jajaa!
Flo and l really enjoy to have you and Lenka with us. Sorry being so busy don't let me time to hang more, but we had a good times.
Hope the rest of your trip was as smooth as here. Guest like you make the place so nice, because we only put 50%, the other 50% is all yours.
Hope to see you again, here or there.
Love from Mal Pais.
Javi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Beautiful cliff top hotel with the most welcoming, smily and happy owners 2 weary travellers could ever ask for! After a 10 hour day on local busses we arrived at Hotel BA and were so happy with our choice. Javier and Flo are perfect hosts, who ensure the atmosphere is relaxed and inviting, cold beers in the fridge on arrival for example. The view is stunning, easily the best spot in the area and well worth the hike up the hill. Go there and see for yourselves the 5 star rate speaks for itself. It's a long way from the UK but if we ever go back, unless its fully booked, we will stay here again!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have AC. Bottom have fans but are cooler. ALL have hot water+fridges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chickenstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
1.4 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#22 of 26 in Santa Teresa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.8 mi away
Surf Vista Villas
Surf Vista Villas
#12 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buenos Aires

Property: Hotel Buenos Aires
Address: Playa Carmen, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Teresa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Hotel Buenos Aires Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing