We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“November 2012”
Review of Hotel Buenos Aires

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Buenos Aires
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Just got back from a week stay with Javi and Flo, the owners, best family vacation we have ever been on. They are so welcoming, feel like old friends, helpful with all activities for adults and kids. Ask Javi to make his famous chicken pizza, he loves making it for anyone who asks. Best location in all of Costa

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 280 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Hotel Buenos Aires is the place to stay if you want to enjoy all the good things that Santa Teresa/Mal Pais has to offer! It's definitely worth the walk up the hill. The view is amazing and makes you feel like you arrived in paradise. If you are lucky the trees next to the hotel are visited by howler monkeys and tucans or just stay long enough to see them! You can hang out on the hill the whole day, relaxing at the pool or on your hammock and enjoying the restaurant, which offers fabulous food! However, seeing all the waves rolling in, you might want to walk to the water a few times a day! Just go there and find out yourself, you will not regret it!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I loved this place. Great rooms, great vibe. Great view of the ocean. The owner is from Argentina, and has a sweet Argentinian Dogo dog named Luna.

The restaurant is perfect for sunset dining with an ocean view.

Stay at this place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Four years ago we came here for the first time and we are so in love with the place and the owners that we try to come back if we can. This is the 3rd time!
The climb up the hill is pretty steep so it's nice if you come by 4x4... otherwise it's a good exercise. And it's al worth it!
Half way up the hill you will find the pool and the restaurant "Brisas del Mar" (which fits in the same amazing picture as the hotel). A little more up the hill is Hotel Buenos Aires! Here you will find out that you're at a special place... The view is just stunning... and for surfers it's the best place to check the waves and swell rolling in! You will get a warm welcome from the owners Florencia and Javier... and not to forget Luna. They are so nice and welcoming and you can ask them everything about the village and the surf since they are here for more than 13 years!
The rooms are just perfect and all have the same amazing view. The beds are good and the bathroom with hot shower as well. Everything is really clean and comfortable.
It offers all the beauty you expect from staying in Costa Rica and makes you want to come back time after time!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerhard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We found this hotel based on trip advisor and people's opinions in Santa Teresa. The rooms are basic rooms but the beds are comfortable and the room is very clean. There is a very steep hill that you have to walk to get up but when you are half way up you can stop at the pool (which is amazing) to cool off and than continue the rest of the way up to the room. We stayed in a non A/C which was fine. It never got too hot and we had a fan. Plus you get a hammock outside of your room where you can lie and watch the sunset or rise. The views are worth everything. You get to see the beaches...ocean and the rainforest all while lying in your hammock. Not to mention Javier and Flo are very helpful and so friendly. They helped us with everything and were great hosts!! I would recommend their place to anyone!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JnM02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

It is UP the hill. I mean really up the hill, but you get rewarded with a great view. The rooms are basic but very clean and the showers runvery well! It is so cozy and javiez makes a great job giving you a warm welcome. He is always there and makes sure to chat with you everyday. If you need anything - he can get it!
We stayed in a non A/C room and therefore had the pleasure of a hammock. Wow - if you don't mind walking up the hill or have a quad/jeep it is just AWESOME! Oh and the wifi is a very decend one!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank egyguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This place is so perfect I want to keep it a secret. A friend told me about Hotel Buenos Aires so I'll share too. Javier and Florencia take great pride in the hotel and it shows. The room was spotless, clean and comfortable. It's nice to be able and relax but be so close to surf and town. The only thing better than the view were the hosts Javi and Flo. They are truly beautiful people that will welcome you to there very special place.

Room Tip: We didn't need AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robyn k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
596 reviews
1.4 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 27 in Santa Teresa
339 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa
#22 of 27 in Santa Teresa
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Surf Vista Villas
Surf Vista Villas
#17 of 27 in Santa Teresa
156 reviews
1 mi away
Beach Break Surf Hotel
Beach Break Surf Hotel
#21 of 27 in Santa Teresa
68 reviews
2.5 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#11 of 27 in Santa Teresa
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buenos Aires

Address: Playa Carmen, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Teresa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range: $76 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Buenos Aires Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing