We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to celebrate 20 years together”
Review of Hotel Santa Teresa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Santa Teresa
Ranked #22 of 27 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Reviewed December 7, 2010

There were a few changes this time around. Breakfast wasn't included in the rate. Ended up eating in the bakery in the strip mall.
The bar had closed ( seasonal?) but other than that all the reasons I, and now my wife love this place are the same. Near the beach , heart of town, clean and the air conditioner worked really well!
They carpeted around the pool spent a nice amount of time unwinding gettiong ready for a night introducing my wife to the best chicken in the world Las Piedras. The desk person recommended we try ther mash potatoes and are we glad we did. divine!
I am booking another stay in February 2011, will keep you posted on changes and if this is still the place to stay in Mal Pais. Took wife for 20yr anniversary.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 135 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2010

Our stay was very pleasent. The hotel was clean and near everything. We had the time of our life. Although, be sure to pay your reservation in CASH!!! Do not give them your credit card number under no circumstances. When I got back home, I found out that my credit card number was stolen and charged more than $5,000 in stores around the south of Spain. The receptionist was sort of bad-tempered at times. But besides all that, everything was fine.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rrm007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

Overall I was pleased with our stay at this hotel. The rooms are nice, it's all very new and pleasant. It is located in a small shopping center so there are several restaurants to choose from right there as well as other basic services across the street, and it's also close to the beach (1-2 blocks away).
However, I was a bit disappointed with the breakfast that was included with the rate of the room because it was pretty limited.
Also, the pool area is tiny and it gets crowded easily. When we were there, there was a large group of families travelling together staying in the first floor in front of the pool and they took over the pool all day, making it very crowded and noisy, so we didn't feel comfortable staying and didn't get a chance to have any quiet time by the pool.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAG19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

Hotel Playa Carmen, it is the best boutique hotel in the area. The beach with white sand and great spot for surfing was very relaxing.

Have a great relaxing weekend.

Thank GSanper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2009

This hotel wasn't even in the guidebooks but we had friends stay there and rave about it, so we decided to try it out. It was perfect. It offered so much more than any of the other hotels in the area that were priced twice as much as this property. It is brand new, has a great pool and bar area and the rooms are modern. Definitely try this spot if you're in Mal Pais and you can walk down the street to the best pizza place on the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lovetotravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2009

Wow- This was a great hotel, very clean and great location, steps from Playa Carmen and right in the middle of dining in Santa Teresa and Mal Pais. They have a great little pool area with lounge chairs and a bar. I would def recommend this place to anyone visiting the area and for the price it is a steal! Plus they have computers and free internet which was a big bonus! The only complaint I had was the spa connected with the hotel, totally a tourist trap, overly pried for what you get, my boyfriend received a so-so massage and they wanted to charge him 20 dollars more when he asked the massage therapist to rub harder on a couple spots that were sore on his back, so instead of a relaxation they wanted to charge for deep tissue which it clearly was not. The massage room was not closed off and he could hear outside noise. And I had a manicure that was only good, no little arm/hand massage, and my lady was chatting the whole time with other co workers, a half hour not worth 20 dollars.

THE HOTEL IS A MUST THOUGH!


Love it love it.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank banna0081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2009

We spent five of our six nights in Mal País/Santa Teresa at Hotel Playa Carmen, WE LOVED IT!! The hotel is clean, accommodating and the rooms are bright and inviting. The pool is gorgeous and refreshing. The hotel is located just steps from Playa Carmen and the location allows you to explore all dining options in the area, from the local sodas to Umi sushi, to Franks place. Everything is just steps away from the hotel and despite the hotel being in the center of it all it still is an escape tranquil and quiet its the perfect spot to relax.

Our days were spent exploring, ATV-ing, walking the beaches from Playa Carmen to Playa Santa Teresa all the way to El Peñón. It was nice knowing after the long days we could spend relaxing nights back at Playa Carmen after watching the sunset.

I recommend this hotel to everyone who is considering coming to Mal País, I think it is perfect. We spent our first night elsewhere because we wanted something remote and mountainside and unless you are OK with bugs and the commute into town for food and drink options I suggest you stay close to Playa Carmen.

We ATV-ed all along Mal País to Playa Hermosa and I have to say we made the best possible decision staying at Hotel Playa Carmen it really was enjoyable!! Thanks to the staff, we loved our stay!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hwood05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
580 reviews
1.6 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#13 of 27 in Santa Teresa
339 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#19 of 27 in Santa Teresa
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 27 in Santa Teresa
237 reviews
1.6 mi away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#23 of 27 in Santa Teresa
125 reviews
2.7 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#11 of 27 in Santa Teresa
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Teresa

Address: Intersection Santa Teresa/Mal Pais | Intersection Santa Teresa/Mal Pais, Playa Carmen, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Playa Carmen)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range: $85 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Santa Teresa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Playa Carmen prides itself on simple comforts, reasonable rates, and a unique brand of Costa Rican hospitality. A two-minute walk to the beach, our hotel is super convenient for surfers, swimmers, runners, sun-bathers, photographers, and all kinds of beach-lovers. Surf year-round without a wet suit, relax on the beach, take walks during low tide, and enjoy the warm and friendly social scene at sunset. If you love the beach, there is no better place to stay in this area than Hotel Playa Carmen. We are within walking distance as well of two other consistent beach-breaks: Malpais and Santa Teresa, and roughly 20 minutes by car to Hermosa Beach, an excellent spot for all ability levels, especially beginners. We are centrally located near laundry services, the bank, surf shops, and our locally famous international restaurants. When you walk around town, you'll hear many different languages, meet people from various cultural backgrounds, and sample cuisine from many countries. Hotel Playa Carmen is unique! Come stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Santa Teresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Teresa Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing