We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of details”
Review of Hotel Santa Teresa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Santa Teresa
Ranked #22 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Reviewed March 24, 2009

Hotel Playa Carmen, it is the best boutique hotel in the area. The beach with white sand and great spot for surfing was very relaxing.

Have a great relaxing weekend.

Thank GSanper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Santa Teresa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 67 of 132 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2009

This hotel wasn't even in the guidebooks but we had friends stay there and rave about it, so we decided to try it out. It was perfect. It offered so much more than any of the other hotels in the area that were priced twice as much as this property. It is brand new, has a great pool and bar area and the rooms are modern. Definitely try this spot if you're in Mal Pais and you can walk down the street to the best pizza place on the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lovetotravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2009

Wow- This was a great hotel, very clean and great location, steps from Playa Carmen and right in the middle of dining in Santa Teresa and Mal Pais. They have a great little pool area with lounge chairs and a bar. I would def recommend this place to anyone visiting the area and for the price it is a steal! Plus they have computers and free internet which was a big bonus! The only complaint I had was the spa connected with the hotel, totally a tourist trap, overly pried for what you get, my boyfriend received a so-so massage and they wanted to charge him 20 dollars more when he asked the massage therapist to rub harder on a couple spots that were sore on his back, so instead of a relaxation they wanted to charge for deep tissue which it clearly was not. The massage room was not closed off and he could hear outside noise. And I had a manicure that was only good, no little arm/hand massage, and my lady was chatting the whole time with other co workers, a half hour not worth 20 dollars.

THE HOTEL IS A MUST THOUGH!


Love it love it.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank banna0081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2009

We spent five of our six nights in Mal País/Santa Teresa at Hotel Playa Carmen, WE LOVED IT!! The hotel is clean, accommodating and the rooms are bright and inviting. The pool is gorgeous and refreshing. The hotel is located just steps from Playa Carmen and the location allows you to explore all dining options in the area, from the local sodas to Umi sushi, to Franks place. Everything is just steps away from the hotel and despite the hotel being in the center of it all it still is an escape tranquil and quiet its the perfect spot to relax.

Our days were spent exploring, ATV-ing, walking the beaches from Playa Carmen to Playa Santa Teresa all the way to El Peñón. It was nice knowing after the long days we could spend relaxing nights back at Playa Carmen after watching the sunset.

I recommend this hotel to everyone who is considering coming to Mal País, I think it is perfect. We spent our first night elsewhere because we wanted something remote and mountainside and unless you are OK with bugs and the commute into town for food and drink options I suggest you stay close to Playa Carmen.

We ATV-ed all along Mal País to Playa Hermosa and I have to say we made the best possible decision staying at Hotel Playa Carmen it really was enjoyable!! Thanks to the staff, we loved our stay!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hwood05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2008

We were on a motorcycling trip with friends see web site of our travels

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=376909

It seemed obvious to us that this was the place to stay. It was modern , clean had all the amenities we were looking for and was in our budget range. We wanted to enjoy the beach go on a few excursions and come back to a clean room, with great shower bathroom facilities and a nice pool. Since it was the green season the hotel was quite. The hotel staff was very friendly, the Internet was down for some reason, I think it had something to do with the rains they had the night before we arrived? The breakfast is a highlight with a buffet style ( eggs cooked to order) and espresso coffee all complimentary and served with a smile.

The staff was friendly we made friends with the bar tender and his wife. Everyone was very friendly. They have a convenient mini honor bar in the room. There is a Calspa hot tub just beyond the bar and the pool was convenient and clean

Things to do in Malpais, rent a quad and drive the back road to Montezuma for lunch Its an easy adventure which will provide a really great day.
Take a short walk down the beach to the D&N bar, the most underutilized facility I have ever seen. You have to have the best chicken in the whole world at Las Piedras. They are closed on Mondays but other than that it is a meal not to be missed. The atmosphere is exactly what this traveler had hoped for!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2008

The hotel is only 8 months old, and everything is brand new, and clean. The staff really keeps up on the property- sweeping and mopping the floors all throughout the day. The front desk staff is great- especially Nancy. They are all very nice, and go above and beyond to make your stay even better. The hotel grounds, and rooms are set in a modern decor with all the comforts of home. Flat screen TV, DVD player with free DVD rentals at the front desk, air conditioning, fan, and an in room fridge that actually has reasonably priced product, unlike other hotel room mini bars. Your room has free Wi-Fi if you want to bring your laptop, or leave the laptop at home, and use the Internet computer terminals they provide free of charge. They also offer free breakfast every day of your stay! They have a restaurant, bar, Jacuzzi, and a small pool on premises.

The website for some reason seems a bit difficult to find in a search engine, so I provided the link below. It says "site under construction" but if you go into the Spanish section, you can at least look at pictures of the property even if you can't understand the footnotes.

www.playacarmenhotel.com

For those that want to read on- a little information about the Malpais/Playa Carmen/Santa Teresa area.

Just so travelers aren't disappointed upon arrival, these are a few things you should know:

Travelers who are use to the mega resorts with acres of manicured property, and multiple huge pools with waterfalls should look elsewhere. Not that these resorts don't exist in these areas, just understand they are not common lodging and you will pay top dollar. Even coming to the southern Nicoya peninsula area is some-what roughing it.
Commercial airlines do not travel directly into Tambor (closest airport to malpais/playa carmen/santa teresa) You first land in the capital of San Jose. From San Jose you have an option of a 6-8 hour bus ride, or a 25 minute domestic flight to Tambor on a prop plane such as Sansa, or Nature air. After landing in Tambor, it would be about a 40 minute cab ride through some of the countries bumpiest roads to the malpais/playa carmen/santa teresa area.

The beaches of Malpais/Playa Carmen/Santa Teresa are surfing beaches, and the current is rough most of the time. In the earlier part of the day you may be able to take a dip, but I do not recommend for someone who is not an advanced swimmer. Don't expect beaches lined with chair rentals and umbrellas- people just lay on a towel.

These areas are also undeveloped with unpaved dusty streets. However, the grounds of the Playa Carmen hotel are connected to a chain of quaint boutiques, and restaurants that make it seem as if you are some place else. When you go out to the main street, it's totally different. Not unsafe by any means, but definitely undeveloped as I mentioned earlier.

The common lodging of the area are $8 - $25 a night cabinas. However if you are a couple that is interested in surfing, or learning how to surf, it would definitely be best to opt for a place like Playa Carmen Hotel. If you are not a surfer, or a surf enthusiast there are definitely better options for your vacation elsewhere in the country of Costa Rica.


I hope this info helps anyone who is unfamiliar. I don't usually like to write long winded reviews, but this is the kind of info I always hope to find when traveling to an unfamiliar destination.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2008

If you want a place without bugs,ants etc this is the hotel for you. It´s new and superclean-both the rooms and the property and Erica in the reception is the nicest person ever. It has a small but nice pool, free jaccuzzi, bar and a restaurant. It´s only 100-150 m from the beach and they have free sunchairs. The beach is perfect for surfing.
If you going to this area Playa Carmen hotel (and Casa Azul) is the only place worth the money. Well Florblanca looks nice to but its too far away from everthing and very expensive.


Most of the midrage hotels in the mal pais and santa teresa costs between 40-160 dollars/night and they all seem to have problems with septiktanks, water, bugs, ants etc. Playa Carmen don´t, you can just relax and have a good time. We had a standard room and it was very nice with King Bed, mini bar, dvdplayer, showerfacilities, air-con, free breakfast buffé. They gave us 20 % discount so we paid only 105 incl.tax.

Bad: ...well...the bartenders are not that good and daytime the music in the bar is to loud- making it hard to relax by the pool

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Assisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
577 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
157 reviews
2.7 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#11 of 26 in Santa Teresa
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
333 reviews
2.1 mi away
Surf Vista Villas
Surf Vista Villas
#12 of 26 in Santa Teresa
153 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Teresa

Address: Intersection Santa Teresa/Mal Pais | Intersection Santa Teresa/Mal Pais, Playa Carmen, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Playa Carmen)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range: $81 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Santa Teresa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Santa Teresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Teresa Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing