We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“wonderfull hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Playa Carmen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Playa Carmen
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderfull hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

the hotel is very near to the beach, the rooms are very nice, clean and lovelly.
the man in the front was graet and halpe us to reserve trpis, where to go, and places to see, he was very pichent with us.
the hotel is near a resturant name Bakery wich is great as well.
overall- we realy had a great time and it was a very prity place.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maayan16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    44
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
23
41
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

If you are a surfer on a budget this might be the perfect place for you. It is less than a block from the beautiful beach, and at $60 it is certainly more clean and modern than other accommodations you would find for the same price. We drove by, checked out the room and thought everything looked good so we paid for two nights. In the middle of the night the bed, collapsed and we landed on the floor. We picked up the mattress to find that it was missing half of the support slats and half of the remaining slats were cut too small to support the mattress. We put the bed back together as best as we could and I moved to the 'sofa' sleeper, but a couple of hours later with only my partner on the bed it collapsed again. After a pretty sleepless night I was looking forward to a shower, but was shocked to find absolutely no hot water.

Just a couple more things - the pictures in their add are out of date. There is no big comfortable furniture by the pool, there are lounge chairs that are falling apart. The TV reception is horrible, the safe was 'broken' and it was virtually impossible to lock the door to the room.

I will give the desk clerk a huge compliment. After spending the first night there was no way we were going to spend the second night that we had already paid for. I was totally prepared for the hotel to refuse to refund us for the second night, but the clerk did give us a refund without any questioning.

If you drive down the strip from Mal Pais through Santa Theresa there are dozens of hotels - I would check out some others first.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank td_ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Perfect location in beautiful playa Carmen walking distance to everything! The hotel is a boutique hotel attached to a strip mall. The room has a king bed nice shower and bathroom with a balcony for 60 dollars a night no tax if you pay in cash! Can't beat it for the location price and being a new place in playa Carmen that is up and coming town the roads still aren't paved here yet !! I would have paid more than 60 dollars a night especially compared to what I paid in montezuma for the same price! I have been coming to costa rica for 7 years first time to the nicoya pensiula it's a very special untouched piece of paradise! Check out island Cabuya it's next to Mal Pais and playa carmen... It's an island you can walk to only during low tide. The roads are rugged but well worth the ride! Its worth every minute ! Amazing and Beautiful !!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trading2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

Good hotel, close to the beach, small pool, clean. Large rooms.
We had a very noisy room above the very load cafe downstairs.
We fell asleep only after we were tired of the merengue music...

It would have been 5 stars had it not been for the unbearable noise.

Room Tip: Do not take room 312...or any close to the club downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIZAWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
365 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is its location. It is a short easy walk to the beach and all restaurants. The hotel is modern, clean, and everything (except the elevator) works. Our room, on the third floor, was nicely decorated and appointed. Although it had a balcony with amazing views of the sunsets, it overlooked the backyard of the surf shop where mechanical work continued day and night. I would still recommend this hotel, especially if you want a modern hotel with all the conveniences and do not have a vehicle.

Ask for the rate. We paid far less than the posted rate.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor rooms on the west side have a balcony with nice sunset views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

We had reserved two rooms for one night and arrived very late that night (around midnight) with two children under the age of three. First the pros: the people were very nice, as everyone we met in Costa Rica were. The breakfast that was included in the room rate was very good and substantial. A la carte items are available for additional cost, but the buffet provided has every food group you need. The hotel is located on the beach side of the main street and within easy walking distance to the beach. It is also next door to a shopping area that has good places for food, coffee, apparel, pharmacy, and banks (ATMs). The pool, though small, was clean and nice for the children to play in. The rooms had air conditioning that worked well, as well as fans, which together helped muffle the noise that came from the local restaurant/bar even late at night.
The cons: the rooms were only moderately clean. In our room only one nightstand lamp was in working condition, the sheets had tears in them, making sleeping difficult when your foot got caught in the tear. The only amenity was soap. Neither nightstand lamps worked in the second room. There was no hot water in that room's shower, and the sheets on the sofa bed for the child were not clean (we moved sheets/blankets from the first room and remade the bed).
We made do because of the lateness of the hour,because the person who showed us to the room was not the regular front desk person, and because we were only staying the one night, so our goal was simply to get some sleep, which we did. Given the other reviews on this site, however, we were very much disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albagianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

Hotel Playa Carmen is an excellent place to go when you have a limited budget and want to be near the sea at an affordable price.
The rooms have TV, AC, Hot Water, Balcony, among others. Cleanliness is very good, except for the walls of the hallways, but otherwise the place is much more than you expect for the price paid.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
2.7 mi away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#21 of 26 in Santa Teresa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Beach Break Surf Hotel
Beach Break Surf Hotel
#22 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
1.7 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#15 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
1.7 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Carmen

Property: Hotel Playa Carmen
Address: Intersection Santa Teresa/Mal Pais | Playa Carmen, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playa Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Playa Carmen prides itself on simple comforts, reasonable rates, and a unique brand of Costa Rican hospitality. A two-minute walk to the beach, our hotel is super convenient for surfers, swimmers, runners, sun-bathers, photographers, and all kinds of beach-lovers. Surf year-round without a wet suit, relax on the beach, take walks during low tide, and enjoy the warm and friendly social scene at sunset. If you love the beach, there is no better place to stay in this area than Hotel Playa Carmen. We are within walking distance as well of two other consistent beach-breaks: Malpais and Santa Teresa, and roughly 20 minutes by car to Hermosa Beach, an excellent spot for all ability levels, especially beginners. We are centrally located near laundry services, the bank, surf shops, and our locally famous international restaurants. When you walk around town, you'll hear many different languages, meet people from various cultural backgrounds, and sample cuisine from many countries. Hotel Playa Carmen is unique! Come stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Playa Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Playa Carmen Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing