We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and perfect price!!”
Review of Hotel Santa Teresa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Santa Teresa
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect location and perfect price!!”
Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Perfect location in beautiful playa Carmen walking distance to everything! The hotel is a boutique hotel attached to a strip mall. The room has a king bed nice shower and bathroom with a balcony for 60 dollars a night no tax if you pay in cash! Can't beat it for the location price and being a new place in playa Carmen that is up and coming town the roads still aren't paved here yet !! I would have paid more than 60 dollars a night especially compared to what I paid in montezuma for the same price! I have been coming to costa rica for 7 years first time to the nicoya pensiula it's a very special untouched piece of paradise! Check out island Cabuya it's next to Mal Pais and playa carmen... It's an island you can walk to only during low tide. The roads are rugged but well worth the ride! Its worth every minute ! Amazing and Beautiful !!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trading2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    44
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
24
42
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Good hotel, close to the beach, small pool, clean. Large rooms.
We had a very noisy room above the very load cafe downstairs.
We fell asleep only after we were tired of the merengue music...

It would have been 5 stars had it not been for the unbearable noise.

Room Tip: Do not take room 312...or any close to the club downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIZAWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
386 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is its location. It is a short easy walk to the beach and all restaurants. The hotel is modern, clean, and everything (except the elevator) works. Our room, on the third floor, was nicely decorated and appointed. Although it had a balcony with amazing views of the sunsets, it overlooked the backyard of the surf shop where mechanical work continued day and night. I would still recommend this hotel, especially if you want a modern hotel with all the conveniences and do not have a vehicle.

Ask for the rate. We paid far less than the posted rate.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor rooms on the west side have a balcony with nice sunset views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We had reserved two rooms for one night and arrived very late that night (around midnight) with two children under the age of three. First the pros: the people were very nice, as everyone we met in Costa Rica were. The breakfast that was included in the room rate was very good and substantial. A la carte items are available for additional cost, but the buffet provided has every food group you need. The hotel is located on the beach side of the main street and within easy walking distance to the beach. It is also next door to a shopping area that has good places for food, coffee, apparel, pharmacy, and banks (ATMs). The pool, though small, was clean and nice for the children to play in. The rooms had air conditioning that worked well, as well as fans, which together helped muffle the noise that came from the local restaurant/bar even late at night.
The cons: the rooms were only moderately clean. In our room only one nightstand lamp was in working condition, the sheets had tears in them, making sleeping difficult when your foot got caught in the tear. The only amenity was soap. Neither nightstand lamps worked in the second room. There was no hot water in that room's shower, and the sheets on the sofa bed for the child were not clean (we moved sheets/blankets from the first room and remade the bed).
We made do because of the lateness of the hour,because the person who showed us to the room was not the regular front desk person, and because we were only staying the one night, so our goal was simply to get some sleep, which we did. Given the other reviews on this site, however, we were very much disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albagianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Hotel Playa Carmen is an excellent place to go when you have a limited budget and want to be near the sea at an affordable price.
The rooms have TV, AC, Hot Water, Balcony, among others. Cleanliness is very good, except for the walls of the hallways, but otherwise the place is much more than you expect for the price paid.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PNW
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2010

There were a few changes this time around. Breakfast wasn't included in the rate. Ended up eating in the bakery in the strip mall.
The bar had closed ( seasonal?) but other than that all the reasons I, and now my wife love this place are the same. Near the beach , heart of town, clean and the air conditioner worked really well!
They carpeted around the pool spent a nice amount of time unwinding gettiong ready for a night introducing my wife to the best chicken in the world Las Piedras. The desk person recommended we try ther mash potatoes and are we glad we did. divine!
I am booking another stay in February 2011, will keep you posted on changes and if this is still the place to stay in Mal Pais. Took wife for 20yr anniversary.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2010

Our stay was very pleasent. The hotel was clean and near everything. We had the time of our life. Although, be sure to pay your reservation in CASH!!! Do not give them your credit card number under no circumstances. When I got back home, I found out that my credit card number was stolen and charged more than $5,000 in stores around the south of Spain. The receptionist was sort of bad-tempered at times. But besides all that, everything was fine.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rrm007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
552 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
155 reviews
1.3 mi away
Beach Break Surf Hotel
Beach Break Surf Hotel
#21 of 26 in Santa Teresa
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
325 reviews
1.6 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#14 of 26 in Santa Teresa
334 reviews
1.6 mi away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#22 of 26 in Santa Teresa
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Teresa

Property: Hotel Santa Teresa
Address: Intersection Santa Teresa/Mal Pais | Intersection Santa Teresa/Mal Pais, Playa Carmen, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Playa Carmen)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Teresa 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Santa Teresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Teresa Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing