We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fitting end to a wonderful vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbocato

Abbocato
Road 254, Km. 8th, | Hacienda Del Mar Project, Playa Panama 297-1005, Costa Rica
+506 2672 0073
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $55
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: To define Abbocato is to talk about a family that will welcome new friends in our home to create an unforgettable experience and to give an elegant and professional service in a distinguished environment with the best view of "Golfo Papagayo".Our goal is to convey a sense of satisfaction on the client through an eno-gastronomic journey of high level, with luxurious and cozy surroundings with large windows and a wonderful terrace where you must enjoy the most beautiful sunsets in the Pacific Ocean.The style of cuisine that Restaurante Aboocato offers can be defined as "author". If you have any questions or would like more information, do not hesitate and contact us!
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fitting end to a wonderful vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Andrea and Paola are wonderful hosts and certain to make your visit very memorable. The food is exceptional and is the only place in Papagayo which offers five star fine dining with wine pairing. This is the place to visit if you are looking for vegetarian food or if you have any dietary restrictions as the they will go out of their way and innovate to come up with a exclusive three course meal. They are closed on Sunday and Monday nights for dinner and prefer that you call ahead and reserve a table.

After dinner the two hosts spent quality time with us and we learnt a lot about their backgrounds and the country in general. We will not hesitate to visit this place on our next trip.

Vivek

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vivek N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    10
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A most special touch for our 32nd Anniversary dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

If you have never had the pleasure of dining at Abbacatos be certain to treat yourself to this fabulous destination spot. We happily return with each visit to this area of Costa Rica and are always pleasantly amazed at the fine dining, ambiance and welcoming atmosphere given to everyone by the owners, Paola and Andreas and their staff. The evening began with their gracious greeting, a gorgeous sunset overlooking Papagayo Bay, on the beautiful outdoor terrace, exceptional dinner, (of course beautifully presented,)and a special personalized desert for our anniversary. We highly recommend Abbacatos for any occasion with family, friends, as a couple, or solo dining. What a treat!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SandVWtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“They are the best in Guanacaste”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Was in town with some friends and talked this place up. They did not disappoint and my friends said this was the best meal they have ever had period. You can't beat the view at sunset and the service is 10 star right down to the chef checking up on you. If you are anywhere in the area get yourself a reservation and enjoy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rumpunch4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas TX
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Following Abbocato”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We have enjoyed the food coming from this lovely couple for a few years and have watched them move about to this beautiful spot in Playa Panama. On our last visit we were treated like royalty, loving the beautiful food they prepared, sitting with them for a lovely chat and watching the gorgeous view from the pool. The chef and his wife have developed a wonderful atmosphere of elegance and fine food. We always look forward to eating there. Bravo!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SusanMalphurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“5 Star exquisite dining in Guanacaste!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Amazing gastronomical delight! I saw the reviews on Facebook and could not resist to see for myself. This is the restaurants for foodies. Inexpensive in my mind for what you get. We actually spend more at other restaurants in the Playa Hermosa/Coco areas and the food was not nearly as good. The staff was so attentive. The chef was extra hospitable! You must dine here. Make reservations! They will even open the restaurant for 1 table reservation in the off season! In high season, it is difficult to get a table.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly45215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abbocato also viewed

Playa Panama, Gulf of Papagayo
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Panama, Gulf of Papagayo
Gulf of Papagayo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Abbocato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing