We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“WOW..Do Not Miss!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbocato

Abbocato
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $55
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: To define Abbocato is to talk about a family that will welcome new friends in our home to create an unforgettable experience and to give an elegant and professional service in a distinguished environment with the best view of "Golfo Papagayo".Our goal is to convey a sense of satisfaction on the client through an eno-gastronomic journey of high level, with luxurious and cozy surroundings with large windows and a wonderful terrace where you must enjoy the most beautiful sunsets in the Pacific Ocean.The style of cuisine that Restaurante Aboocato offers can be defined as "author". If you have any questions or would like more information, do not hesitate and contact us!
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“WOW..Do Not Miss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

First off, let me just say that you do not have to be a 'foodie" to enjoy this restaurant. Anyone who wants great food, impeccable service, beautiful location, and a night to remember will enjoy this spot. We dined at Abbocato in their old location and loved the charm. This new spot is a whole different level. From the moment you enter, you will notice the elegant interior. Then you walk through the space out onto the terrace for an unbelievable view of the Papagayo Gulf. With an infinity pool overlooking the ocean, cocktail in hand, and sun setting over the ocean, it is already a great night.
Then comes the food. Let me just say that Chef Andrea is a master in the kitchen. We went with his recommendation of the prix fixe menu with a meat and seafood for each. My wife and I had to share absolutely everything because each dish is spectacular. Every course is elegantly displayed and melts in your mouth. I could go on to describe each course but words could not really do it properly. You have to experience the wonderful creations he presents.
To top it all off, the service is amazing. He and his wife Paola each have a deep background in the industry and their attention to detail shows. Along with their knowledge is a passion for excellence that you rarely see. Everything about the restaurant, and the dining experience, is well thought out and truly not to be missed.
Make this a must stop on any visit to Guanacaste!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank COSteve99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    10
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beyond the food...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Enjoy an aperitif by the pool while the sun gently melts into the water (drinks were fantastic) and as the sky explode in a pinkish glow go inside and get ready to enjoy a fantastic meal. The chef will let you choose between two menus, meat or fishm the first with a mediterranean flavour and the latter with an asian taste... or you can pick few of the several tapasa that vary every night... Pick your wine, the selection is incredible. The chef italian will walk you through the all menu in order for you to enjoy an experience that goes beyond food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FaustoFr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Ocotal, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The best formal restaurant in Playa del Coco greater area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Restaurants in Playa del Coco, Playa Hermosa, Playa Panama and Ocotal are spoiled by tourists and command high prices without giving much in return. This place is very different! I must warn you that the prices are very high, but it is worth it. Fist of all they are located in a development that sits on the edge of a cliff overlooking Playa Panama. The view from the patio is breathtaking, but so is the building itself. I would imagine it is a great place for a wedding or a very special occasion. Just look at the pictures to judge for yourself. You are given 2 choices for a prix fixe menu: seafood or meat. The meal is 3 courses of haute cuisine dishes. The restaurant can easily compete with any NYC establishment, but you can not get this view in NYC! Make sure to come right before sunset - you will get amazing pictures. If you are celebrating a special occasion be sure to make a reservation there. I have also visited them for lunch and it was perfect!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CAHE4EK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“What a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I made a reservation by noon (as recommended) and looked forward to our dinner all day. When we arrived, the chef and staff provided personalized service. The food was impeccable, and the pride in the food and service was unmistakeable. The chef also have our toddlers a private tour of the kitchen to our toddlers as he was preparing the ice cream we had ordered, oh my, the excitement on their faces! Thank you!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank design8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A must for foodies!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

If you are a foodie and visit the area of the beaches Panama/Hermosa/Coco, lunch or dinner at the Abbocato is a must for you! We had lunch there recently and enjoyed every single minute. The restaurant has a very elegant setting, including a big pool terrace with spectacular view over the gulf of Papagayo. Chef Andrea and his wife Paola were very welcoming and took excellent care of us.
The food they serve is a creative fusion mix of Italy and Asia, prepared on a top gourmet level. Don`t ask for a menu, the chef will come to the table personnally to explain the market fresh choices of the day. And he was very flexible when we challenged him and were asking for a mixed platter of all the 6 seafood appetizers they offered that day. From a heavenly intense bisque d`hommard to a very fresh carpaccio of marlin accompanied by a mango ginger salad, to a warm and super tasty coquille St-Jacques in it`s shell, everything was perfect! The chef being italian, we went for a beef brasato (how can meat be so juicy after braising so many hours in the oven?) with porcini risotto as a main course. We sat there and only said WOW, outstanding!
After all this, there wasn`t a lot of space left, but we had to try the deserts. Again we went for the option of "tasting the full choice of the day": Tiramisu (of course), Sambuca souffle, Amaretto cheese cake, creme brulee, just to mention a few. Everything on a consistently high level.
With each course, Andrea proposed a different wine, each one was the perfect "company" with its dish.
The value was excellent: 55 $ per person before service and tax, including the whole meal and the wines: very reasonable!
We left Abbocato super happy after the best meal we ever had in Costa Rica! When we are in the Playas del Coco area again, there will be no way around this restaurant!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank monot053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abbocato also viewed

Playa Panama, Gulf of Papagayo
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Panama, Gulf of Papagayo
Gulf of Papagayo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Hermosa, Province of Puntarenas
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Abbocato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing