We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,243)
Filter reviews
2,243 results
Traveler rating
1,802
301
100
23
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,802
301
100
23
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chao pescao ostra rio bhongo beach house tapas restaurant ceviche adult pool four seasons family pool arepas flip flops costa rica mixology class golf cart bay view free shuttle the prieta beach club
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
698 - 703 of 2,243 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2017

The staff are very friendly, even leaving us a birthday decoration in the room when they did turn down.

Everything is clean and sparkling, and the rooms are beautiful. We had a bay view room on the top floor of building four, and the views were spectacular.

In this area, though, there isn't a lot to do right on this peninsula. There are several playas across the bay that are interesting to visit, and the Andaz should be proactive in having water taxis making that trip regularly.

Do take the snorkeling sunset catamaran cruise; it's quite beautiful, and a relaxing trip.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamANdAZ, General Manager at Andaz Costa Rica Resort At Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2017

Hola David P,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to our resort and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Fellow travelers will surely be inspired to read your comments and I very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Stay in touch. Stay inspired.

Pura vida,

AZ
Adam Zilber
General Manager
adam.zilber@andaz.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2017

We stayed only 2 nights but the facilities were awesome, the staff catered to every need, and the food was delicious. I think there have been more staff than guests while we were there. Our youngest bumped her head climbing around the pool and 4 staff members were to her every need with ice packs, smoothies, sno-cones, towels, etc.
The kids loved the pools, the beach, the warm water, and tons of wildlife (howler monkeys, lizards, birds, fish). The food was pricey (not included in our stay) but our 4 yr old was free which helps.

Room tip: We booked on points but suites were not an option on points so we booked 2 rooms (a king and double). The rooms were huge and beautiful.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamANdAZ, General Manager at Andaz Costa Rica Resort At Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2017

Hola Michelle A,

Thank you for not only making us your vacation destination but for taking the time to share your experience. I am sorry to read about your child but am very proud of how our team demonstrated care to ensure they were looked after.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for more than two nights.

Stay in touch. Stay inspired.

Pura vida,

AZ
Adam Zilber
General Manager
adam.zilber@andaz.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2017

5-stars all the way. Fantastic rooms, immaculate facilities, and the service from all of the staff was exceptional (not intrusive at all, but always around if you needed).
It's great how the buildings are built among the natural surroundings rather than other resorts that might clear-cut a significant piece of land. Here you felt immersed in nature but with significant luxury.
The highlight of Andaz is definitely the families of Howler monkeys and Capuchins that live throughout the area and visit regularly.
Be prepared for walking up & down hills between the rooms, dining, pools, and the beach.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DavidHav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamANdAZ, General Manager at Andaz Costa Rica Resort At Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2017

Hola DavidHav,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback through this review. Our resort is indeed a departure from your traditional resort experience and we are indeed 'embedded' within nature. The Howler and Capuchin monkeys, our 'local residents', do indeed put on a great show so come on back an see them anytime.

Stay in touch. Stay inspired.

Pura vida,

AZ
Adam Zilber
General Manager
adam.zilber@andaz.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2017

Amazing resort! Everything including property, rooms, staff, food, drinks, activities, and accessibility allowed our family of four to have the most awesome vacation! I recommend the all-inclusive package. It's worth it!!

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
1  Thank jacquieo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamANdAZ, General Manager at Andaz Costa Rica Resort At Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2017

Hola Jacqueline O,

Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. We truly appreciate your review and for making us your vacation destination. I am delighted you enjoyed your visit.

Stay in touch. Stay inspired.

Pura vida,

AZ
Adam Zilber
General Manager
adam.zilber@andaz.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2017 via mobile

Traveled to Costa Rica, Andaz Peninsula Resort in May 2017. We arranged transportation which was recommended from the hotel. Air-condition car was waiting. It is very warm and humid so the cool air was great. We were driven to a gated, very well manicured property and then to our hotel located near the bay. We were greeted with smiles and warm welcomes. The staff here is just amazing and goes WAY beyond any expectation you might have. They truly want you to be healthy, happy and to enjoy your time at the Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort.

Even though building are spaced out they off rides on golf carts to anywhere on the property. We were in building 2 which has access (stairs) down to the main restaurant and to one of the pool areas. It also allowed us views to the bay each day. The resort has a lovely spa which I highly recommend for a massage, manicure, pedicure, facial etc. The staff at the spa is very well trained and we enjoyed our relaxing time there. We ate at the Tapas restaurant and shared many small plates of typical food for Costa Rica- all fresh and yummy!! You will enjoy the many monkeys that are all over the property. The howler monkeys were very entertaining!

I did get sick on the first night of our trip with a common travelers issue. Not sure if it was water or food reaction but the staff stepped in quickly to get help. The hotel has a doctor on staff to help. If you have book an excursion and can't make it you loose your money which was the only negative to our trip. But, the hotel offered Spa services to me to help offer some comfort. Come prepared with your own medication for safety.

I will return to this hotel and the most friendly people I have met at a hotel. The staff is very professional, kind, helpful and really make your trip special. It is a beautiful location, lots to do in the resort, sister resorts, outside excursion, and Costa Rica.

This is one of my most favorite resort/staff in all of my travels.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Travelors4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamANdAZ, General Manager at Andaz Costa Rica Resort At Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2017

Hola Travelors4,

Many thanks for not only making us your vacation destination, but for taking the time to share your experiences at our unique resort. I am thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your stay and all we have to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Stay in touch. Stay inspired.

Pura vida,

AZ
Adam Zilber
General Manager
adam.zilber@andaz.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews