We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sublime and World Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Sublime and World Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

If you want to be pampered beyond your wildest dreams, the Andaz in Costa Rica is the place to go. From the architect to the waitstaff, the effort to meet and exceed your expectations is beyond words. The first two people we met at the front desk - Manuel and Brenda - were knowledgeable, friendly and delightful. The rooms and the view were outstanding, with unbelievable little touches that define the whole experience (including flip flops and straw hats!), a well-stocked fridge and mini-snack bar, beach bag carry-all and even extra towels down on the beach. And what could be said about the infinity pool other than absolutely marvelous! The pool waitstaff was friendly and attentive; they brought us fruit-infused water which was a delightful thirst quencher. We also ate at their restaurant several times, and were delighted with the freshness of the ingredients and the preparation, especially the prepared-to-order ceviche. I hope they add a more extensive breakfast menu or breakfast buffet, but other than that, you are made to feel as if you are a celebrity. Room cleanliness and attention to detail matched the rest of the experience. We even found ice cold bottled water and glasses near our bed after a long, luxuriously lazy day between the beach, pool and dining out. It was so hard to leave; we would return in a hearbeat! I can only imagine what the Andaz in Maui is like - it is now officially on my wish list, along with a return trip to the Andaz in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Request a room with an unobstructed view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanneJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Joanna,

it was absolutely sublime to read your review. Thank you very much for your wonderful comments.

I am absolutely convinced you will also enjoy our sister property, the Andaz Maui, and look out for Andaz Mayakoba coming up! But first, we hope to have you back in Costa Rica.

Pura Vida!

Michael Schmid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    154
    56
    16
    10
See reviews for
332
492
16
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This property exceeds expectations. The grounds are beautiful. The architecture is innovative. The rooms are fresh and contemporary and offer great views with many floor to ceiling windows. The staff is friendly and helpful. The restaurants are excellent. The effort to incorporate the property into its' natural setting works wonderfully. There is an abundance of wildlife on the property. Proximity to the Four Seasons is an added plus. Only a 30-40 drive from the airport in Liberia. Roughly an hour from Rincon de la Vieja.

A premium property that delivers across the board.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms offer better views of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTraveler560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your recent stay at the Andaz and for your favourable review!

We are delighted you have enjoyed your time at the Andaz and the Peninsula Papagayo. It was wonderful to read we were able to exceed your expectation and look forward having you back.

Pura Vida,

Michael Schmid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

When deciding on this birthday vacation, I wanted a smaller hotel and could not have made a better decision. From check-in to check-out, we received first class treatment. The food in the restaurant was very tasty. Had one small snag when our room was not cleaned after being out all day, however, once we called room service, the staff responded to our concerns in less than 10 minutes. We didn't speak the language but it did not matter, everyone spoke enough English to communicate effectively. Everyone we came in contact with provided "A1" treatment, absolutely no complaints!! Special thanks to Manuel at the front desk, who helped us plan our daily activities. If you are looking for a relaxing vacation, this is the place to be. LOVED IT!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mchuesang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing our Andaz for your birthday trip. We are very glad you seem to have had a good one.

I will make sure to compliment Manuel for arranging the excursion designed around your needs and we hope to welcome you back at the resort in the near future.

Pura Vida,

Michael Schmid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

My family and I just finished a 7 day stay at the Andaz. From beginning to end it was first class. Let's start with the staff - each and every person we encountered was friendly and seemed genuninely glad to see us and help us. EVERYONE. A couple of standouts: Manuel at the front desk, who helped us with some customs issues we encountered; Lucia in Rio Bhongo who helped us with some dietary restrictions for a member of our family; Carla at Ostra who taught us how to make Mojitos with a smile; and Javier the bellman who every time we saw him had a big smile on his face. Many other in the restaurants, at the pool, at the beach - thank you everyone

The hotel facilities are terrific. Great pools, beaches, gym and restaurants. We ate in all three and enjoyed every meal we had. Not cheap, but food was very high quality and diverse menus, and great service. We enjoyed each meal. The staff at Rio Bhongo got to know us over the course of our week and were extremely accomodating and nice with respect to the dietary restrictions.

We also took a day and went to the Prieta beach club which you can use as a guest of the Andaz. It was probably the nicest beach club we've been to - again great staff, excellent food, and comfortable chairs in the shade and a terrific pool. You should definitely check it out

Last but not least the rooms. We had paid for a suite and a regular room for our family of 5. The suite was really nice - furnished well and comfortable; great closet space (could use a few more drawers instead of so much hanging space!) a terrific bathroom and the living room was nice. Its great how all the window walls literally open up so you feel as if you are in an indoor/outdoor space. And yes the minibar is all free and well stocked.

Two minor complaints: 1) on two occassions when i tried to call the front desk/operator no one answered the phone and after many rings it just disconnected. when i called back, the same thing happened. 2) when we checked out we waited a long time for someone to help us with our luggage despite giving ample notice to the front desk that we needed the help. These are minor flaws in an otherwise superb hotel.

I would recommend this hotel with no reservations.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good but if you want to stay closer to the action ask for buildings 1-3
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nycfam123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for staying at the Andaz and for taking the time to write your wonderful review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with your family and you found our staff wonderful. I will make sure to congratulate especially the ones you pointed out in your note. Thank you also for pointing out 2 areas in which we can improve. You have our word we will work on them.

We look forward having you back if the opportunity arises.

Pura Vida,

Michael Schmid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Love this resort! it's the best place int he world! A little peace of heaven.... I am definitely coming back, have next year already booked out for my vacation again.

BRENDA at the FRONT DESK! IS AMAZING!! GRACIAS! BRANDA FOR MAKING US FEEL SO SPECIAL AND BEING DEDICATED TO YOUR QUALITY OF WORK!

Room Tip: omg... all the rooms are good, get one overlooking the bay, when you wake up and pull the blinds all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JALENCARNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

we are delighted you both enjoyed your stay and we are humbled you are already planning to visit us again.

I will personally congratulate Brenda for looking after you during your stay. I'm happy she was able to contribute to your wonderful experience at the resort.

Saludos,

Michael Schmid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We arrived at the Andaz late evening after the sun had set. Our GPS took us on a little bit of a ride until we finally crossed the Security Gate and headed to Reception. At Reception we were treated with a cold drink and a little treat. The check in process was very quick and we were quickly driven to our room by one of the staff members in a gulf cart. The room is beautiful with beautiful aritecture. We loved the rain shower that lead onto the balcony. Since we arrived late at night we couldn't quite see the Resort but the next morning, we were in for quite a treat. Up until check out, our entire time at the Andaz was flawless. The staff were very polite and helpful. The breakfast buffet was amazing, a little pricey but worth every cent! We loved Chao Pescao for their drinks and delicious small plates. The food at Rio Bhongo was delicious, we weren't great fans of their drinks however. We spent a lot of time down by the private beach. I've read mixed reviews and thoughts on the "private beach" the Andaz claims to have. While I agree it is very small. That was exactly what I loved about it. I loved not being surrounded by people, loved the secluded feeling it brought and the view was just so beautiful. There are staff at the beach for water activities. While we did not participate in any, we did see some guests taking advantage of that perk. We spent out time laying on the beach chairs and sipping on the fresh juice the waiter brought us without us even asking!

Again, our stay was flawless and service was amazing up until check out. Check out took us a good 50 minutes! Unacceptable in our eyes. We came to the front desk and informed the employee we wanted to check out. He said "okay" and went off. We stood around for several minutes and realized he didn't even ask us for our room number!? He was no where in sight so we informed another individual and gave them our car slip so they could bring our vehicle as well. Our vehicle arrived, we could see it parked outside reception. But neither of the two employee we spoke with were anywhere to be seen so we could actually check out, have our luggage brought from the room, and get our bill. We then approved a third employee who then did all of this for us. We waited another several minutes for our luggage to arrive. We then, made the mistake to ask for directions to our next location, this took another 10-15 minutes. While, the reception was extremely busy with check-in's during this time, I still cannot excuse the 45 minute check-out time. Hence my 4 star rating. Had we not have to wait 50 minute for check out, I would have gladly given them a 5 star rating.

As a side note, when we travelled to the Andaz, it was basically empty. At times we felt we were the only ones staying there. Breakfast was the only time we felt that others were staying there. While we loved this, this may not be for everyone. I'm guessing they were likely not very busy since the hotel is fairly new. However, if they keep up the positives in their service, I can see them getting very busy very soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CassBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for staying at the Andaz and posting your review.

I absolutely understand your disappointment with your last experience while staying with us and I would like to apologize your check out lasted this long. As you rightfully point out this last step should be seamless.

I appreciate you also highlighted the great service you received and how much you enjoyed the restaurants, the beach and your room. We definitely look forward having your back on the Peninsula Papagayo. Please let me know if I can be of assistance.

Best regards,

Michael Schmid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

This is a great place for relaxing and water sports in the bay. My daughters and I loved it and would stay again but would probably mix it up with a stay somewhere with a little more night life and surfing. The service was generally exceptional except for one night. Just got an inexperienced waiter but other staff quickly made up for it once I brought it to their attention. Also want to pass on what I heard from another guest. He had stayed a week at the Four Seasons located nearby and he found the Andaz to be just as good with better food and an overall less cost. We checked out the Four Seasons ( Andaz has a free shuttle to it) but liked the modernness of the Andaz more.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Donna,

thank you for choosing to stay with us with your daughters and for posting your review.

I'm glad you enjoyed the atmosphere at the Andaz and you are considering to visit us again. We would love to host you on your next visit to Costa Rica.

Pura Vida,

Michael Schmid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
3.6 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
El Mangroove, Autograph Collecti...
#4 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 stars 489 reviews
3.5 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#1 of 2 in Playa Panama
4.0 of 5 stars 457 reviews
15.3 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica a...
#2 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,660 reviews
2.8 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 stars 772 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#2 of 3 in Sardinal
4.0 of 5 stars 5,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort

Property: Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Address: Peninsula Papagayo | Final de la Ruta 253, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo stands quietly among the trees, overlooking the sapphire blue waters of Culebra Bay. With spectacular design, the first Latin American Andaz, was inspired by the organic forms and shapes of the native flora and fauna, using the shapes of cocoons and shells for the hotel's facilities, stimulating the senses of guests in new and refreshing ways. Each of the 153 rooms balance modern design with touches of character that blend into the natural surroundings, with woven textiles, solid woods and carved artifacts highlighting the rich Costa Rican aesthetic. Guestrooms and suites offer a spacious balcony with breathtaking bay and forest views. Four of the 21 suites feature plunge pools, and the Presidential Suite offer a private, full-sized pool. The unique gastronomic experience of the Andaz Peninsula Papagayo s Cuisine features three themed restaurants. Each one tells a story about our culture. Chao Pescao, a casual dining enclave nestled within the lush Guanacaste landscape offering a small plates menu and the mixologists' specialties, is our neighborhood place. Rio Bhongo, the meeting point, a place for everyone, a culinary "paseo"... Just like a farmer's market. Ostra is our signature restaurant, elegant, discreet and romantic, offering all kind of delicacies from the sea, carefully prepared using the most sophisticated culinary techniques. Totally open kitchens allow a distinctive interaction with chefs, making guests feel like if they were visiting family or the home of a friend. Onda Spa is a respite of energy, touch and evolution. Elevated into the trees of Costa Rica's rich tropical forest, guests at Onda set out on a journey to envigorate both body and soul. Blending Papagayo's culture, senses, smells and touches, treatments are individually tailored for each guest, directly addressing specific needs, goals and desires. Andaz Peninsula Papagayo has a free-flowing environment that means no desks, no processes, no formality and thus, no stress. The home-feel experience allows you to enjoy complimentary a health-minded mini bar, complimentary wi-fi through out the resort and a complimentary kids program. Hotels in this collection reflect the unique cultural scene and spirit of the surrounding neighborhood through their Andaz Salon program and are dedicated to creating natural and vibrant living spaces where travellers can indulge in their own personal sense of comfort and style. Andaz meaning personal style in Hindi, is infused with character and weaves itself into the fabric of its locale. Every detail is an opportunity to explore the uniqueness of the destination and every moment is a chance to discover something new. True to the Andaz brand, Andaz Peninsula Papagayo will reflect Costa Rica's Pura Vida philosophy, creating locally-inspired experiences and engaging guests in the local culture in a comfortable, unique atmosphere for which Andaz is known. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing