We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costa Rica at the Occidental Grand Papagayo 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Occidental Papagayo - Adults only
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Costa Rica at the Occidental Grand Papagayo 2014”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Great resort. Food was excellent. Staff wonderful!! They are still working on it some to make it a wonderful ADULTS ONLY resort but we really enjoyed it!!! Its a very "hilly" resort. No need to go to gym. Would like to recognize the "fun crew" which kept us entertained everyday at the pool and about the hotel. Thanks to Yendry, Alejandro, Jania, Jeudy, Brayan, and Gerald. Helped make our trip extra special!!! We met a couple that were staying in the other Occidental in Costa Rica and came to our resort and said it was Heaven!!! Will go back again (hopefully soon!!)

Room Tip: Rooms in building 16 and 17 you feel like you have a "backyard" that spills into the Pacif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamotha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,180
    1,083
    525
    277
    196
See reviews for
393
1,990
95
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (802)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Elegant meets exotic at this fantastic hotel. Within moments of arriving at the hotel we were greeted with charming smiles and delicious cocktails. The view of the gulf is gorgeous. Everyday different tropical animals surprised me by popping up in different places varying from the hotel to the beach. The hotel also does a great job of hosting various activities from dance lessons to kayaking to pool volleyball. They have activities to keep your scheduled full of fun. The location of the hotel is also very close to the city of Liberia and other little towns with markets. Finally, the hotel's service goes above and beyond. All of the bartenders, waiters, drivers, and activity leaders are phenomenal. My personal favorites are Wilmer (Bartender), Mikael (Server), Maria (Waitress), and Emmanual (doorman/driver). All of these people proved to be kind, enchanting, informative, and incredibly hard working.

The only thing about the trip is that it is quite expensive to travel by taxi to other places. So bring extra money for that.

Overall, the whole experience is unforgettable and something I plan on doing again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Heyitschristinamarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is the smallest all inclusive hotel we have ever stayed. Besides the good reputation of Occidental Grand properties, we liked the idea that it was Adults Only so there would be no screaming kids. The guests were mostly couples, many newlyweds or couples there for a special anniversary. The resort is spread over a hillside going down to the beach. It is about a half mile from the lobby to the beach but there are shuttles readily available. The Italian Restaurant was superb. The Oriental and Mexican (I'd prefer a Costa Rican) Restaurants were also excellent. Even the Buffet was very good. And of course, there was a snack bar and bar near the pool.

The resort is very quiet. If you want to get drunk and obnoxious, go to the Occidental Allegro. 2 couples we met switched hotels from there.

The beach is relatively small and almost non existent at high tide. There is a nice Spa but you can also get a massage on the beach.

There is a lot to do in Costa Rica. We went scuba diving with Rocket Frog and took 2 tours with Swiss Tours.

When we come back to Guanacaste, we will likely stay here again because it is Adults Only.

Room Tip: Building 3 is the worst of the upgraded rooms. The adjacent Building 4 is much better, away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 2skidivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We traveled to the Grand Papagayo with 10 friends but the hotel staff seemed unsure of how to accommodate our group. We were only able to eat three meals as a group the entire time we were there and we were met with rude responses when we requested to sit together outside of the a la carte restaurants.

The food was mediocre at best. It felt as though every meal on the buffet was made of left overs from the meals that were served the previous day. We had high hopes for the a la carte restaurants but both the Mexican and Oriental dinners were disappointing. Dinner reservations could only be made between 8-3. We got to the hotel at 3:15 the first day and were told that we can no longer make reservations since its past 3 o'clock.

We ended up booking 2 tours while there- a sunset cruise through the hotel at $75/person which was excellent and a ziplining through an ex-pat tour sales guy that we talked to on the beach at $40/person (pretty good, but not the scenery was nothing too exciting).

Although the hotel is beautiful, this all-inclusive is not quite like ones we have stayed at before in Mexico or the Dominican Republic.The drinks are included but hard to come by due to the limited hours of the pool bar and the long distance to the beach. Activities and entertainment were fairly limited as well. The public beach was clean with blue water, although not quite like on the Caribbean side.

Overall it felt like a very average hotel and we are not likely to come back as there are better choices out there, either in Costa Rica or other Caribbean destinations.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeandBecky8145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This was our first time to Costa Rico and we loved it! This hotel was located on a hillside over looking a bay. The views were breath taking. The wild life at the resort was impressive. Amazing birds, Howler monkeys and an abundance of tropical fish right off shore. The staff was amazing especially Steven from the bar and all of the activities staff. We can not wait to visit again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beckenbachs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

I have to start by saying that the bad reviews on this site had me VERY worried, but my husband and I decided to try the resort anyway. We spent 7 nights here, and loved it. We are low key people who just wanted to get away and relax (and eat and drink). This place was great. We met great people. Had fun at the pool (loved the pool-side drink service). There are comfy chairs and umbrellas at the pool. Once you find the tide schedule (high tide = no beach at all), you can plan your beach time too. There are plenty of chairs and sun and shade at the beach. The food is average - we actually enjoyed the buffet at night more than the a la carte - Breakfast was always good -- and you can request a cappuccino.. add Golden Cream (Costa Rican Baileys) for a nice touch. The staff is incredibly hard working and kind. Tip - bring bug spray - the mosquitoes at night were brutal. The resort is spread out. The shuttle is easy to call, or catch. We started in building 1 and hated it - moved to building 14 and could not get over our beautiful room and the view.

Room Tip: The property is spread out. We stayed in building 14 - which may be one of the furthest buildings f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The_Colorado_Ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I came here six years ago for our honeymoon and had a great time but this time it was not so good. What I didn't know is that they only allow you to go to the good ala cart restaurants a few times depending on the length of your stay. If you go for seven days or less you can only go twice and the rest of your dinners and meals you have to go to the buffet. Which I think is outrageous. Also the Mexican restaurant was terrible some of the worst Mexican food I've ever eaten. We also booked scuba diving and another excursion through the travel agent there at the hotel. The name of the company is Swiss travel. Both the scuba diving and the mega combo zip lining horseback riding activities work poor. The scuba diving operation seeing brand-new and it took two hours after they pick this up before we actually got into the water where they would drop us off leave us on the beach go pick up other people bring them back to the beach and stuff like that very poor planning. As for the Swiss travel activity called the mega combo they packed over 50 people into this activity where we all did horseback riding and zip lining at the same time. It was a nightmare and at times felt very unsafe during the zip lining when the platforms above the trees were packed with too many people. On the plus side the hotel has an excellent staff for super friendly and make you feel at home and also the buffet was really good every time we ate there.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dan-fig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
3.6 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,574 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#2 of 3 in Playa Panama
699 reviews
1.9 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,322 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
24.2 mi away
Occidental Tamarindo
Occidental Tamarindo
#1 of 1 in Playa Langosta
2,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Papagayo - Adults only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Papagayo - Adults only

Property: Occidental Papagayo - Adults only
Address: Playa Buena, 485000, Costa Rica (Formerly Occidental Grand Papagayo by Barceló)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#6 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Papagayo - Adults only 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Guanacaste on the Pacific coast of Costa Rica,The Adults Only Occidental Papagayo is only at 25 minutes from the Liberia International Airport. This Resort surrounded by nature, boast lush tropical landscape with scenic views of Bahia Culebra in Papagayo Golf.Ideal for couples, honeymooners and adult guest seeking a relaxing getaway. The Occidental Papagayo offers a highly personalized five star all- inclusive experience delivered by an attentive and dedicated staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Barcelo, BookIt.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Occidental Papagayo - Adults only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Occidental Grand Papagayo Gulf Of
Occidental Grand Papagayo Costa Rica
Grande Papagayo Costa Rica
Grand Papagayo Liberia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing