We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Occidental Papagayo - Adults only
Nearby Hotels
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection(Playa Panama)(Great Value!)
$212
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica(Gulf of Papagayo)(Great Value!)
$585
$532
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$895
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$427
$385
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel(Playa Panama)(Great Value!)
$291
$255
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,619)
Filter reviews
3,619 results
Traveler rating
1,361
1,196
556
299
207
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,361
1,196
556
299
207
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal clubsnack barthe oriental restaurantfirst clubsunset walkcosta ricathe grillguest serviceshigh tidemain buildingour honeymoonevery other daya la carte restaurantsfun clubocean viewair canadabeach towels
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,400 - 1,405 of 3,619 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We traveled to the Grand Papagayo with 10 friends but the hotel staff seemed unsure of how to accommodate our group. We were only able to eat three meals as a group the entire time we were there and we were met with rude responses when we requested to sit together outside of the a la carte restaurants.

The food was mediocre at best. It felt as though every meal on the buffet was made of left overs from the meals that were served the previous day. We had high hopes for the a la carte restaurants but both the Mexican and Oriental dinners were disappointing. Dinner reservations could only be made between 8-3. We got to the hotel at 3:15 the first day and were told that we can no longer make reservations since its past 3 o'clock.

We ended up booking 2 tours while there- a sunset cruise through the hotel at $75/person which was excellent and a ziplining through an ex-pat tour sales guy that we talked to on the beach at $40/person (pretty good, but not the scenery was nothing too exciting).

Although the hotel is beautiful, this all-inclusive is not quite like ones we have stayed at before in Mexico or the Dominican Republic.The drinks are included but hard to come by due to the limited hours of the pool bar and the long distance to the beach. Activities and entertainment were fairly limited as well. The public beach was clean with blue water, although not quite like on the Caribbean side.

Overall it felt like a very average hotel and we are not likely to come back as there are better choices out there, either in Costa Rica or other Caribbean destinations.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MikeandBecky8145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This was our first time to Costa Rico and we loved it! This hotel was located on a hillside over looking a bay. The views were breath taking. The wild life at the resort was impressive. Amazing birds, Howler monkeys and an abundance of tropical fish right off shore. The staff was amazing especially Steven from the bar and all of the activities staff. We can not wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Beckenbachs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

I have to start by saying that the bad reviews on this site had me VERY worried, but my husband and I decided to try the resort anyway. We spent 7 nights here, and loved it. We are low key people who just wanted to get away and relax (and eat and drink). This place was great. We met great people. Had fun at the pool (loved the pool-side drink service). There are comfy chairs and umbrellas at the pool. Once you find the tide schedule (high tide = no beach at all), you can plan your beach time too. There are plenty of chairs and sun and shade at the beach. The food is average - we actually enjoyed the buffet at night more than the a la carte - Breakfast was always good -- and you can request a cappuccino.. add Golden Cream (Costa Rican Baileys) for a nice touch. The staff is incredibly hard working and kind. Tip - bring bug spray - the mosquitoes at night were brutal. The resort is spread out. The shuttle is easy to call, or catch. We started in building 1 and hated it - moved to building 14 and could not get over our beautiful room and the view.

Room Tip: The property is spread out. We stayed in building 14 - which may be one of the furthest buildings from the main lobby - LOVED IT! Beautiful views. Beautiful accomodations. Quiet. Shuttle was always there within 5 minutes to take you to where you wanted to go.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank The_Colorado_Ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

My wife and I came here six years ago for our honeymoon and had a great time but this time it was not so good. What I didn't know is that they only allow you to go to the good ala cart restaurants a few times depending on the length of your stay. If you go for seven days or less you can only go twice and the rest of your dinners and meals you have to go to the buffet. Which I think is outrageous. Also the Mexican restaurant was terrible some of the worst Mexican food I've ever eaten. We also booked scuba diving and another excursion through the travel agent there at the hotel. The name of the company is Swiss travel. Both the scuba diving and the mega combo zip lining horseback riding activities work poor. The scuba diving operation seeing brand-new and it took two hours after they pick this up before we actually got into the water where they would drop us off leave us on the beach go pick up other people bring them back to the beach and stuff like that very poor planning. As for the Swiss travel activity called the mega combo they packed over 50 people into this activity where we all did horseback riding and zip lining at the same time. It was a nightmare and at times felt very unsafe during the zip lining when the platforms above the trees were packed with too many people. On the plus side the hotel has an excellent staff for super friendly and make you feel at home and also the buffet was really good every time we ate there.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Dan-fig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We couldn't have been happier with this resort. We've stayed in a number of big resorts over the last 10 years and this was the best so far.

Not because it had the best beach or the perfect mojito... or that the pool was huge. It was the attention to details and the people who worked there that made it enjoyable and memorable.

Accolades to the buffet Chef's, and staff. We enjoyed our interactions with Lina & Patricia every day. They were absolutely lovely and such hard workers. Always pleasant and trying very hard to learn new English words while we learned new Spanish was so fun. Loved the girls. They are huge assets to the hotel. The man who manages this buffet is an excellent worker as well.

Our drivers that were constantly picking us up from building 17 - Mauricio and Jose, we can't say enough about. The humidity was just sapping our energy, so during the day we were calling a lot.lol They were always so kind and cheerful. Again, great ambassadors for the Occidental experience. We miss seeing them and having a laugh every day.

And to Carlos... the amazing server around the pool. His calm and kind attitude was just so wonderful. He was helpful, funny and full of information should we need it.

Really, just a wonderful group! A room is a room really. When we go to these types of resorts we don't place too much weight on the bed and shower - as long as it's comfortable and clean we are good. What matters are the people who animate the property.

Maybe it's just that Costa Rican's know the secret to hospitality... but either way, we LOVED most of the people who worked here. We'd like to thank everyone for their kindness and professionalism. You made our holiday that much more special.

Hugs and special hello's to all the servers mentioned by name here.

Cheerio from the crazy Canadians - Linda and Randy

Room Tip: The rooms along the cliff have amazing views and if you go when the wet season starts, you'll see millions of fireflies out your sliding door. Amazing
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TooAmigos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews