We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A runied vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Occidental Papagayo - Adults only
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2013

The Occidential in Costa Rica is terrrible. Rooms are below standard, food is awful and the service is nonexistant. They are not helpful or friendly. We paid a lot for a vacation,that we do not get to take very often and it as a night mare. Nothing to eat after 9:30pm, limited daytime activities,nothing to do at night, told you would get discount on services and were not given. No water, soda or extra towels, had to ask 5 times, then day b4 we left, got them. Nobody to talk to, they tell you to go to someone else, each time. Worst vacation every.

Room Tip: Do not go, A/C does not work, door locks broken
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joanne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itze P, Reputation Management at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Joanne R,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your stay at Occidental Grand Papagayo. On behalf of the entire team, we would like to express our sincere apologies that your stay was not to our expected level of service, from your experience in your room to the quality of our food and beverages. We have reviewed your comments with our Director of Housekeeping and Director Food and Beverages in order to take action and improve our service and product.

Thank you again for your comments. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,402)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,450 - 1,456 of 3,402 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013

My husband and myself recently stayed at this lovely resort. I enjoyed the atmosphere of this smaller resort more than the large places we usually stay in. Service was very personable and the view from my room (the #20 building) was amazing. Yes it may not have all of the bells and whistles of the larger resort options but if you wish a smaller, much more casual experience, you will find it here. The entertainment at night was just right for us. Usually a small combo or a couple of singers on the terrace overlooking a beautiful view. There was also a disco which I admit I did not go to. The abundance of wildlife was fascinating. Maybe the food selection could be expanded and another ala carte restaurant added and the addition of room service (even with limited hours) would be extremely welcomed...Also the minibar only had water in it with most minibars everywhere else offering also soda and beer. This may be added in the near future, It is now an adults only property which is what we were looking for. All in all, I personally loved this place. Definitely the flavor of Costa Rica.

Room Tip: bdlg 19/20/21 and 22 views gorgeous
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Bonnie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

So my wife and I got a three night stay booked here as part of a travel package and were very excited as we entered the grand entrance of this swanky establishment. The security was very diligent also, as we waited in the heat for about ten minutes for the guard to verify the reservations we had made several months prior. Once inside however, the veneer began to peel away very fast. In quick order: forced to pay $30 for a $4 tube of suntan lotion. The resort is thirty minutes drive easily from the nearest town of any sort, you are trapped.

The all day inclusive buffet was mediocre and we struggled to find something worthwhile to eat. The free drinks were sooo watered down it was funny. The bartender poured a half glass of "rum" and topped it with coke; I could not tell there was any alcohol. They certainly fill the bottles with mostly water. My wife joked in Spanish with the staff about the watered drinks and they feigned surprise and laughed with her. The dinner buffet was also a disaster. I swear to you, it made Golden Corral look gourmet. There was also a dinner show that was so bad it made a school play look like Broadway. The talent was as embarrassed to be doing it as we were to be watching.

Many of the guests seemed to be stuck in the role of acting like satisfied patrons, but when we voiced our doubts about the place, their often gushed forth with their own complaints to us, relieved to not be mistaken in their feelings about the "Accidental Papagayo".

After the first night we awoke and decided to get the hell out and drive to a beach with some life and enjoy ourselves. When our shuttle driver asked us dutifully if we had enjoyed ourselves, we said no, the place was boring. He offered that we should go to Playa Coco, 15 kilometers south. We did so and are enjoying real people, live music, great bars and restaurants, a fantastic beach, and a modest hotel that fulfills our needs.


They are so committed to keeping you in this Hotel California that they warned other guests who inquired about exploring locally that they "Couldn't guarantee their safety"(!) and we had to get a pass that we were cleared to leave from reception before the guard would let us exit the gate.

Our advice is to forgo the soulless corporate vacuum that this resort is and go somewhere where you have freedom.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank dukebravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itze P, Reputation Management at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Dukebravo,

Thank you for send us your comments. We regret to read that our resort did not meet your expectations. The satisfaction of our guests is top priority and your experience with us was not the norm for our hotel.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences that you encountered with your room. We've discussed your experience with our maintenance and housekeeping managers, and we assure you that they are being addressed. Our goal is to provide the best vacation to all of our guests, and it saddens me to read that we fell so short on this during your stay.

We sincerely apologize for falling so short of your dinning expectations. We have different menus every night and we offer a large variety of Costa Rican and international dishes as well as new main courses every day for lunch and dinner. We also have our à la carte restaurants, which are the Mexican restaurant and an Italian bistro. We will shared your feedback about the cuisine with our executive chef, as he is always looking for ways to improve the dining experience for our guests. We do our best to offer a wide variety of food, if guests do not find anything they want at the buffets or in the restaurants, our cooks are always happy to make custom dishes.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and once again we truly sorry for falling so short of your expectations.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This was my first visit at an all inclusive resort and I was not impressed at all. The country and location are absolutely beautiful but the hotel wasn't all it was cracked up to be. My husband and I arrived Sunday evening exhausted from the wedding wanting to go to the room and have room service. From what I've heard from most all inclusives, room service is included. Here it was not and when we asked for a menu they said they didn't have one. The next morning we went to eat breakfast but got ambushed by the Occidental Vacation Club and what was supposed to be a 60 minute presentation turned into 2 hours of them asking us to spend $12,000 with in the first 12 hours of being at the resort. We were also promised discounts on excursions and a free weeks stay for listening to the presentation and were not given those until we asked repeatedly about it. The food was ok, there wasn't much variety so if you didn't like what they had, you weren't eating. I'm not sure if it was because we weren't there during the busy season, but they also had very limited times on the bars and restaraunts for what time they opened and closed. The honeymoon package we paid the upgrade for also seemed to be a sham. There was a "continental" breakfast in bed which consisted of cold toast, fruit, coffee (already in the room) and OJ. The romantic dinner that was also in the package we paid extra for was the same dinner in the restaraunt with everyone else, we just got a special cocktail (all inclusive - drinks were free anyway) and a cake. Overall it might be nice for a vacation but definitely not somewhere to spend extra money for a special occasion. Will definitely go back to Costa Rica, but will not stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itze P, Reputation Management at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Sarah W,

We really sorry that our resort did not meet your expectations specially since you were celebrating your Honeymoon and we do apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us. We shared your experience with our management as it always help us to improve our service and quality.

We deeply sorry if you feel you were not treated the way we know you deserve for Occidental Vacation Club. This was a miscoordination between our staff and we apologize on behalf of them. We will get in touch with our staff and take the proper measures regarding this situation.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the TripAdvisor community. We do hope you’ll give us a second chance to provide an incredible stay.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We booked a Romance Package for our 20 Year Anniversary. They placed us in a double bed room on the back of the property. After complaining to Management we were moved to a King bed room overlooking the ocean. The Champagne was great & my wife said the chocolate covered strawberries were great also. The snack bar had consistently the best food. We also booked a romantic meal in the oriental restaurant, when we showed up for our reservation on our anniversary day they said we were not on the list. After some ear bending they finally let us in to eat, but not what we were promised. Complained to Management & they said sorry, but it is done. Ear bending is what it takes to get a rise in these people, they finally agreed to sending another bottle of champagne. We did not attempt to make another reservation in any restaurant. The buffet had so-so food, meats were always tough. I must say the workers at this place were extremely nice & would bend over backwards to help you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slongu61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The staff members, men and women were awesome; such professionals.
The food was great. The large room was clean and quiet. Bed was comfortable. My husband and I got great haircuts at the spa. We loved the equipment in the gym.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marilynrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Prior to arriving at this resort I read so many of these reviews I was having "buyers remorse". So many of the comments were true and I thank you for your comments. My opinion is that this was a very good time in a beautiful location. The sales pitch as soon as you arrive is annoying, but if you say no I would hope that would be a respected answer. We did not say no and spent hours chatting. Luis our tour guide was a pleasure and I wish him continued success. Hervan our initial customer service rep. Was very helpful with booking tours. We toured with Swiss Travel and had a wonderful time on the Mega Combo Tour. Our room was oceanview and very spacious. The property is undergoing some updating. There were several buildings getting a facelift. We were told they hope to be done in December. Our room was a nice walk from the snack bar and pool area. We walked each day and some evenings. The shuttle was readily available. The Coati is visible all day along with iguanas and various birds. The beach is rough on the feet but it is a very relaxing place. The pool is pretty but the kiddie pool is closed and needs attention but I anticipate it will be taken care of with the renovations and the adults only theme. The food was good. We were unable to get reservations at the Italian or Asian Restaurants so I recommend booking early. The Buffet had good selections and the staff were wonderful. Our waiter, Jaime, each morning for breakfast was very nice and attentive. The staff was very helpful, warm and friendly. This is not a five star property but it is a good value and I would give it 4 stars. It is beautiful and relaxing.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank legna45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
3.6 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,669 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Panama
746 reviews
1.3 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
2,094 reviews
16 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort
6.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Papagayo - Adults only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Papagayo - Adults only

Address: Playa Hermosa, 485000, Costa Rica (Formerly Occidental Grand Papagayo by Barceló)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#6 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range: $177 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Papagayo - Adults only 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Guanacaste on the Pacific coast of Costa Rica,The Adults Only Occidental Papagayo is only at 25 minutes from the Liberia International Airport. This Resort surrounded by nature, boast lush tropical landscape with scenic views of Bahia Culebra in Papagayo Golf.Ideal for couples, honeymooners and adult guest seeking a relaxing getaway. The Occidental Papagayo offers a highly personalized five star all- inclusive experience delivered by an attentive and dedicated staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Occidental Papagayo - Adults only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Occidental Grand Papagayo Gulf Of
Occidental Grand Papagayo Costa Rica
Grande Papagayo Costa Rica
Grand Papagayo Liberia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing