We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful service beautiful resort we missed a white sand beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Occidental Papagayo - Adults only
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“wonderful service beautiful resort we missed a white sand beach”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

we really loved the Occidental Grand Papagayo, the staff were attentive and extremely dedicated to pleasing the guests. We stayed in the Royal Suites, this is a row of rooms with nice little porches to sit and read. The showers are large and the water pressure was perfect. We watched the sun come up every morning at 530 am, I know it was early but we didn't want to miss one minute - It was beautiful. I have to say that the Occidental Grand is like a nature sanctuary, hummingbirds,parrots,red birds,yellow birds, big blue birds everywhere. The sound is incredible. There are big howler monkeys that actually sound like gorillas. The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable and big. The buffet is small if your used to say..RIU buffets but the food is delicious rice,fish,chicken,beans,and some local dishes. Again the atmosphere is really nice and they had theme nights We did the Italian and the Oriental both were great , the Italian had really big portions and both were FUN. There was entertainment in the evening in the lobby. In the mornings they (lobby) put out lemon water, coffee and pastries for you early risers. We spent most of our time in the pool which is very warm because everyone is in it and there is only the one pool. The activitiy team is really a lot of fun even if you just sit and watch them do their thing. The Pool area is a fair hike from the rooms and the main building but there are washrooms, bar and food at the pool. I did miss the white sand beach, I just did. When the tide comes in there is virtually no room to walk as it covers the beach. When the tide is out the shoreline is rocky but saying this it was still lovely and clean. We did the fantastic sunset sail through Swiss tours this is a must do and we saw wild dolphins who swam right beside the boat, flying fish skimming the water and the MOST BEAUTIFUL sunset I have ever seen-ever. We did the zip line, water slide, horseback tour also. it was crazy hot but well worth it. Swiss tours=Alexander on the property , he is honest and goes the extra mile. In fact the entire staff goes the extra mile. Costa Rica is a beautiful country, Tamarinda is another place you need to visit, you can rent a car and drive there and watch the surfers and do some shopping. We went to Coco Beach, it is small and quaint and there is a beach there, shops, restaruants and bars we even saw some howler monkeys. There is a restaurant, not far from the hotel called Ginger, you can have reception call the shuttle from Ginger and they will pick you up and bring you home. it is a nice pretty restaurant with indoor and outdoor dining. It is about eating tapas, it was interesting and a great way to spend your last evening in Costa Rica. It was extremely hot as we visited in April but the rooms were cool. I just cant say enough about the staff, the people and the country.

Room Tip: even though the rooms seem far from the main lobby staff are always driving around ready to give you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinda91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,158
    1,063
    522
    275
    196
See reviews for
390
1,954
94
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (799)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed in ocean view rooms - very scenic. Rooms were great and clean. Mini-bars were restocked each day with bottled water. Our building was a fair distance from the main lobby so we used the complimentary shuttles a lot. The shuttles were very prompt so no long waits. All the staff were very friendly and courteous. Food was good at the buffet, a la carte and at the snack bars. We enjoyed the wildlife on the resort - the monkeys, the birds, etc.
We used JD for our tours and found him very helpful - prices are better than those offered by the hotel.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms offer the added bonus of a gorgeous sunrise or sunset. Is scenic at all times of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los ángeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I have zero complaints about this hotel. It's in a beautiful location, food is great, it's clean and the staff is so nice. I especially liked our bartender Mauricio G. and Andres C. at the reservation desk. These two people always were happy and helpful. My hubby and I will for sure come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ida S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

I did not know this was an interval purchase hotel/timeshare and was not pleased to be pitched a purchase. Our room was never made up our entire stay. If you like an isolated worn down venue with a nice beach this is for you. It was beginning of slow season so all services were not available. Staff was friendly.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beatond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I'm not one for writing reviews...especially long ones...so I will keep this short and sweet. Costa Rica is an absolutely beautiful place....guaranteed to take your breath away. This resort has stunning views and a lot to offer for the price! The staff is extremely friendly, personable and helpful. Shout outs to all the bar/table service and fun club staff...always always so friendly! Marvin who works at the front desk in the evenings is extremely helpful! We stayed in building 4 which had an AMAZING view...took my breath away every single morning!

The food was good (better than the Occidental in Punta Cana). Remember you are staying at an 3-4 star all inclusive...if you want gourmet food...stay at the four seasons haha! The food was prepared well and they definitely offer locally grown veggies/produce (my favorite)!

The only negative thing I will say is: No air-conditioning in the buffet room. Hopefully this will be fixed or changed...

Overall, I definitely recommend this resort. I left with a big giant smile :)!

PS: If you are looking to do any excursions while in CR...HIT UP JD! JD! JD! He is the man and will take very good care of you! You can find him on the beach!

PURA VIDA :)

Room Tip: Building 1 and 2: Near the pool. Very loud. Building 4: AMAZING
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This place is a scam. You book your room and when you arrive they tell you they can't find your reservation. After searching for a while they find your reservation was actually at their sister hotel, the Allegro! Oops!

So you spend a few hours arguing but there's nothing you can really do since you're a tourist trapped in a foreign country.

Very clever of them: overbook the newer hotel, then force a portion of the people to go to an older resort that they would not normally make reservations for.

They might have had the upper hand while I was trapped in Costa Rica with no transportation, but thanks to the internet I have the ability to let prospective customers know what they're getting into.

Don't take my word for it, though! Click the 1-star reviews and scan through them to see the other people who have been taken in by the exact same scam I was. This is a pattern and the more people speak up about the sooner this place will go out of business.

Room Tip: Costa Rica is beautiful, and there are many wonderful places to visit, but don't make this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMedia_Ctor, social Media Coordinator at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Mike G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comment, please accept our sincerest apologies, for the inconvenience you encountered and the impression you have about our service. We made our best effort for exceed your expectations from the beginning. Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel.

We are concerned about your comments on the front desk services we had addressed this review with the management so, improve actions can be taken.

Once again we appreciate your comments and hope you give us a second chance to earn your trust.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Great place to stay. Good food, good location, and good jumping off spot for many of the off-site activities. There is a lot of stairs/steps, so go there knowing this and don't complain after. This is the norm for the region though, from what we could see in our travels, picking up others from other resorts on our tours. The drinks are good -try the golden cream (costa rica version of baileys), and the imperial beer, both only available in Costa Rica.,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
3.6 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,544 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#2 of 3 in Playa Panama
675 reviews
1.9 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
6.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,249 reviews
16.0 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Papagayo - Adults only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Papagayo - Adults only

Property: Occidental Papagayo - Adults only
Address: Playa Buena, 485000, Costa Rica (Formerly Occidental Grand Papagayo by Barceló)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#6 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Papagayo - Adults only 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Guanacaste on the Pacific coast of Costa Rica,The Adults Only Occidental Papagayo is only at 25 minutes from the Liberia International Airport. This Resort surrounded by nature, boast lush tropical landscape with scenic views of Bahia Culebra in Papagayo Golf.Ideal for couples, honeymooners and adult guest seeking a relaxing getaway. The Occidental Papagayo offers a highly personalized five star all- inclusive experience delivered by an attentive and dedicated staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Barcelo, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Occidental Papagayo - Adults only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Occidental Grand Papagayo Gulf Of
Occidental Grand Papagayo Costa Rica
Grande Papagayo Costa Rica
Grand Papagayo Liberia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing