We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an amazing adventure! The local touch made the Difference!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Occidental Papagayo - Adults only

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Occidental Papagayo - Adults only
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Certificate of Excellence
Orem, Utah, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What an amazing adventure! The local touch made the Difference!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I went here on OUr honey moon in June and I have to say It blew us away. The hotel was beautiful and the staff were so nice and accommodating. The think that made our trip over the top was a referral through mutual friends to JD Adventures. After being told about JD we quickly found him once we got down there. What a great guy! He set up an amazing local beach tour and surfing trip at an amazing deal and planned a whole amazing day for us super fun guy and very professional he even had set us up with surf instructors the whole group got up on at least one wave. We did multiple tours with him. He gave us a great local view of the area that I don't really made the trip. Our last day there, He took us to some amazing local restaurants and bars. I can't say enough about JD and his Tours. We made a great friend while we were down there ad still keep in touch with him. We plan to go back as soon as we can. I would recommend him to everyone.

P.S. There is a guy thats on the Beach named Jonny D and that's a different guy and if you go you need to talk to JD

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,052
    1,001
    503
    267
    188
See reviews for
375
1,807
84
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (769)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Last summer my husband and I had a 10 day honeymoon in Costa Rica. We stayed 5 days in the La Fortuna Arenal Region area and then 5 days at the Occidental Grand Papagayo. This resort had some advantages and disadvantages. The property grounds were beautiful. The food was great and we had a gorgeous ocean view room. The room was spacious and they surprised us with Champagne, fruit and the towels arranged in a heart on the bed.

There was a nice selection at the buffets, but I recommend making reservations for the Steak Restaurant, the Italian restaurant and Japanese as much as possible. The sushi at the Japanese restaurant was awesome! I asked for more and the server was able to get me some extra pieces! :) The beach access was down a short paved walking trail. The resort did a great job of having numerous seating and lounge chairs on the beach. Unfortunately since part of the beach was public, we were approached by people selling things on the beach. I highly recommend getting a massage on the beach though versus the hotel, since it is about half the price. Another great thing about this property was the night club. It was really fun when they had karaoke nights.

Some of the disadvantages were that this resort requires alot of walking. To get from the lobby to the pool or outdoor buffet area, you must go down a flight of about 50 stairs. This would not be an ideal location for someone handicap. The rooms are also very far from the restaurants, lobby and pool, but you can arrange for a shuttle to pick you up at your room if you don't mind waiting 10-15 minutes for them to pick you up. The pool was beautiful, but it would have been better if they had a swim-up bar. Luckily, they had individual servers that would occassionally come and take your order.

One of the worst experiences happened when we first arrived there. We were greeted in the lobby by a man, who told us to come the next morning for a brief introduction and a tour of the property. Little did we know that this was a timeshare scheme. They told us that if we attended the timeshare demonstration/ presentation, we would receive vouchers for free transportation to CoCo Beach, which is a beautiful tourist destination with many souvenir shops. To take a taxi to CoCo Beach, it would be about $20. So we agreed to sit thru the 2 hour long presentation. At the end when we said we were not interested, the lady yelled "No Coco for you" and ripped the tickets we were promised out of our hands. I went and talked to hotel manager and said I didn't appreciate the way we were treated. We ended up getting our vouchers back and was able to go to CoCo.

Above all, we enjoyed staying here and spending our last few days just relaxing!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We are vacation club members was not provided service for money spent on membership.Staff was not honest about rooms that were available, plus try to not provide First Club suite that was booked.The food was good to a point.This was a disapponitment compare the company other location

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank manone64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalVC, Community Manager for Occidental Vacation Club at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Hello manone64,

I apologize for your stay that did not meet your expectations. It's our goal to always give our members the service they deserve and that we are proud to offer. I'd like to know more about your stay and see how can we make it up to you. I will reach directly for further information on your experience.

Best regards,

Ignaura Tejeda Solimán
Community Manager for Occidental Vacation Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We went in June 2013 and the scenery is awesome. The rooms were nice and if you upgrade they are great. The staff were exceptional. Our maid was Diana and she was fantastic extra water, towels, and tidied up the room made it feel like we were truly welcome. Roberto oversaw thing at the resort and he was very informative. All of they wait staff were excellent. They knew us by name and would have our drinks ready.
Then there are the tours, speak to Jenny at the hotel or on the beach J.D. Both are very informative and will share their views on the area.
The days were nice and a word of warning, humidity. The days are humid and a lot more than you expect. Take more shorts and tees.
The meals were very good, except for desserts. It may have been the region.
You will see and hear wildlife. The howler monkeys are at first heard then can be seen. Birds are plentiful. Then there are the coatis. They are friendly and mischievous.
The hotel has many activities, get involved they are free and you get a chance to know the staff.
The U.S. dollar is taken there and their currency is colones. There are ATM's at Hermosa and Coco beach. You will need a taxi.
Ah taxis and/or transfers, we used Manuel Durante excellent. He took use to and from the airport a 30 minute ride. He loves his country and is very proud to show it off. He will give you you very specific information when arriving at the airport. He also offers tours. I highly recommend him.
When we go back we will do more tours and spend more time. Everything is a slower/relaxed pace. Enjoy it!!

Room Tip: Make sure to upgrade or get rooms away from the pool. There are plenty of activities and you will he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daboom54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 5th wedding anniversary at this property from May 20 - 27. After one month from returning we still cannot decide collectively our experience but be patient as I relate our experience. First of all we would sincerely like to express our thanks to Roberto Bustos in Guest Services for being attentive to all the requests made as well listening to constructive critiques about the establishment. We also bonded well with Dennis from the entertainment crew. You are a gentleman and very professional. We wish you well in life. Now with regards to the resort. The main reception area, the rooms and lounges for drinks are in serious need of repairs when it comes to the furniture. We were in the royal club section and had a couch where the fabric was ripped in several places. The main reception lounge area had cushions that were unspeakable. To me if you are paying money and attempting to rate yourself on a higher scale then bring to customers goods and services that warrant the expectation preceived. The property has lots of stairs but we were aware of that from pictures so to us there were no surprises. I totally understand from reviews posted from travellers who went earlier than us about the wait times in restaurants. Fortunately for us we went outside of peak travellers when the resort was not at capacity or close to but I could definitely see where long lines could be had as the restaurants are much smaller in size than ones visited in the places like Mexico or the Caribbean. I still don't know what to comment about your beach area or lack of one(perhaps I missed it). The food was not bad as there was something to be found that was palatable. I do feel that the staff at this property deserve praise as they try their best to fulfill whatever request you ask with professionalism. It appeared that all the staff we spoke with were married which made them handle any situation differently from when you have single staff members and we appreciated that very much. The resort is isolated so there is nothing to do outside of it. When travelling to Costa Rica it is about an experience. The experience involves leaving the resort and getting out to as many excursions that are offered in Costa Rica. Overall we would say that there is lots of potential that this resort has but needs the funding to execute it. The royal club as an upgrade is not a wow experience. After going on a particular excursion we decided that we would return to Costa Rica but know exactly where to go where luxury, white sand nearby amenities are. We do feel grateful for the experience but the Occidental chain is not on par with the type of wow and luxury we like when it comes to resorts. Thank you all.

Room Tip: We were is section 7 of the royal club section which I feel was central to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EbonyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Only 20 minutes from Liberia Airport. Beautiful resort located at the mouth of Gulf of Papagayo, 3 minute walk to the beach at edge of resort. Hotel provides free snorkel/kayak tours. Saw amazing tropical fish. Elegant buffet was excellent, varied each night, but reservations were always booked up for the Italian/Oriental formal restaurants-only 25 can be seated at a time.
Fascinating and comical wildlife on the resort especially the Magpies and Coatis'. We had an "intruder" in our room so be sure to lock your balcony sliding glass doors if you are on the ground floor. Coati's are very intelligent and can push open unlocked sliding doors. Beds were very comfortable. However, one night, we did run out of hot water in the shower in our room. We would recommend this hotel if you like a quiet and peaceful resort-not crowded. Hotel staff was very friendly and courteous, treated like royalty.

Room Tip: Every room has a view with a balcony/terrace. Doesn't pay to upgrade. We stayed in Building 1 wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betsy423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

At this stage in my life I deserve the title of "seasoned traveler", so I've decided to join TripAdvisor to share my opinions. I've been to other all inclusive resorts,Dreams, Secrets, and Riu, and compared to them Occidental falls short. Not that it's all bad. The personnel were friendly, except the chef at the lunch snack bar. He reminded me of the Soup Nazi from Seinfeld. If you didn't order your burger or hot dog a certain way,well, too bad for you. The beach is very nice and stress free. Cool, calm waters greet you here. Initially, we were given a room in building 15. The bathroom was nasty with black mold under the shower divider and the patio door did not lock. Next morning we were given a different, very, very nice room. We were able to watch the sunset from here. Food- Not much of a selection to choose from. Breakfast and lunch were OK, but, the entrees at dinner were not very good. At all meals, fruits and salads were very fresh (best tomatoes I've had in a long time). The walls of the pool were filthy with sticky layers of suntan lotion. Beach and pool furniture need replacing. Alcoholic beverage are plentiful and stout and my theory is they keep your brain numb so you don't notice that this place is just average. But this review may be a moot point. Rumors were rampant that, in August, they are doing a revamp of the property and going to adults only. I hope they get it right because I want to like this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
3.6 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
1.4 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
1.9 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
6.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#2 of 3 in Sardinal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,934 reviews
16.0 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Papagayo - Adults only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Papagayo - Adults only

Property: Occidental Papagayo - Adults only
Address: Playa Buena, 485000, Costa Rica (Formerly Occidental Grand Papagayo by Barceló)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#5 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Papagayo - Adults only 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Guanacaste on the Pacific coast of Costa Rica,The Adults Only Occidental Grand Papagayo is only at 25 minutes from the Liberia International Airport. This Resort surrounded by nature, boast lush tropical lanscape with scenic views of Bahía Culebra in Papagayo Golf.Ideal for couples, honeymooners and adult guest seeking a relaxing getaway. The Occidental Grand Papagayo offers a highly persolized five star all- inclusive experience delivered by an attentive and dedicated staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Barcelo, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Occidental Papagayo - Adults only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Occidental Grand Papagayo Gulf Of
Occidental Grand Papagayo Costa Rica
Grande Papagayo Costa Rica
Grand Papagayo Liberia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing