We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“loved everything about this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Grand Papagayo by Barcelo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Occidental Grand Papagayo by Barcelo
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“loved everything about this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

when we arrived we didn't like our room and it was promptly changed to exactly what we wanted. The staff were the most courteous and accommodating people we've ever come to meet at a resort. If you don't like stairs, don't go there. We enjoyed the stairs because we ate nd drank and didn't gain a single ounze The food was great lots of selection. Book you a la cartes early as the fill up. and book you excursions through Larry rather than the Swiss travel as you will get a Costa Rican tour rather than a tour company tour. He was wonderful and you can meet up with him on the beach. Don't let someone else tell you they are Larry, he speaks English very well and will give you a real Costa Rican experience ( and you can talk him down). All and all we would recommend this place for it's hospitality, cleanliness and warmth. The wildlife we saw was unparralled to anything we could have asked for

Room Tip: We stayed in 601 and had a beautiful ocean view. 2200 block is nice as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank julie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    855
    882
    436
    250
    173
See reviews for
326
1,543
67
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (689)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The only unfortunate thing about this hotel is the reception. We had to wait 2 hours for our room to be ready and wasnt ready at the time promised to us . Then we were fed some story about being VIP....... only if we spent the first 90 minutes listening to them trying to sell us time shares. When we said no we were clearly no longer VIP and didnt receive a smile from the front staff for the rest of the trip. Actually, they sneered at us whenever they saw us. The staff in the bars, restaurants, housekeeping were wonderful. And hats off to the chefs because the food was fantastic. The drinks were delicious and well made. A personal thankyou to Edwin , Cesar, Victor, great staff members that made our vacation truly enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aly f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The food is OK. Some of it is great, some of it is bland. The Italian and Oriental restaurants had great food. Schedule as early in the morning as possible to reserve a seat there. The seats go fast. The alcoholic beverages are supposed to be part of the all inclusive price but they don't put enough alcohol in the drinks. The beer and wine are your best bet.

There is no nightlife other than a few singers. There was a guy there who had a great voice. The pool/dance room was virtually empty. Go on some excursions. That was the best part of the trip. We booked through Swiss for the excursions and were able to get the excursion we wanted for less than we would have with cheapcarribean.com We went hiking, horseback riding, volcano mud bath, natural cold and then hot spring and DELICIOUS lunch all for $127 each! Silvia, our guide was EXCELLENT!!!

Also, don't let whatever travel company you are booking through talk you into spending $90 a person to travel from the airport to the hotel and back. There are plenty of cab services there. We paid half the price each-just know that they may try to talk you into doing a sales presentation the next day for a free ride back and half off of excursions. We didn't do the sales presentation through the company that gave us the cheaper cab deal but after looking at the paper they handed me a few days later I saw that we would have had to put a deposit down on a time share prior to the presentation which, according to the paper you could get back after the presentation. That's not something I would have done but hey, to each their own.

Overall, I had a good time but would find a hotel on Coco Beach if I go back. That area has such a cool vibe and lots of shops.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mellim_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We were at the Grand for a week in mid March for our daughter's wedding and we were not disappointed.
Some of the reviews I read prior to leaving made me wonder - but after being there I can't imagine that those people stayed at the same place.
There is lots of walking and up and down stairs - so be mindful if you have mobility issues - however the hotel has a number of golf cart type vehicles to take you wherever you want to go and they are happy to do it!
The beach is very different from usual white sand - it is striated with black sand [I imagine from volcanic residue] but this really adds to the character. Beach is clean, great swimming...pool is lovely - lots of chairs and the staff offer lots of activity - but leave you alone if you want to just veg.
Our room was lovely - though I understand a few are still being upgraded. Kept very clean - as was the entire resort.
Food - not an issue - lots of choice of good, healthy and palatable food at the buffet. The two other restaurants did not disappoint either...make sure you book them early after your arrival.
The most important thing to mention was the staff - they were amazing...friendly....helpful and very professional. Special mention to Harold and Katrina!

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room or one with a view - they have larger balconies/patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wellucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We recently came to this resort and did a week long vacation with another couple. We had a blast. They were part of the occidental rewards program and highly recommended this place to us. We were hesitant about the food as the ratings online definitely had mixed reviews about the food.

Overall, the food was great. Yes, it is buffet style, but the quality is excellent. We LOVED the breakfast. Made to order eggs, fresh fruits, coffee, cereals, bagels, and other buffet breakfast items. It was excellent. The other meals at the buffet area were good. Not spectacular but the food was very good. I highly recommend the asian and Italian restaurant, but making reservations is difficult, so plan ahead. The food at these restaurants were top notch and I wished we had planned better and booked more nights there in advance.

The service was excellent. The people were very friendly and very helpful. I never felt like I was inconveniencing the staff. They were attentive with drinks, food, and everything. They are very well trained and very courteous.

The resort is beautiful and clean. There is a beach associated with the resort, but it is public so it tends to be a bit crowded. The water is nice, but very rocky. The resort has LOTS of activities that are included. We also did several excursions: volcano all day tour - AWESOME!, and we did a 2 hour waverunner tour as well. Lots of fun!

My only complaint was the guest services. They seemed to give us the run-around a bit. They first told us that our room had WiFi. When asked about it, they said only the nearby buildings to the main building had it. Then, they said you could plug in for access. We asked for a cord. Took several hours to bring it. Then there was NO place to plug it in the room. Turns out, NONE of the rooms have internet access directly into the room. Would've been nice to have been told this up front. There were several other things guest services were very flaky about. Other than that, we have no complaints.

I highly recommend this resort. Just be aware of the guest services team.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paganini15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Good value for your money. Older well established hotel ---could use some upgrading, but clean and well maintained.
Beachfront is black sand, so not your usual Carabian dream beach -- but interesting. Could use some daily maintenance.
Pool is nice and water warm with adaquate loungers,etc. Reasonable good bar service.
Restaurants good food and good coffee. Italian restaurante is best choice.
Lots of hills at this resort so bring good shoes in case you have to walk from your room to pool or buffet. They do offer a shuttle service but not always available in a short amount of time.

Room Tip: Hotel lobby is at the top of the hill. There are about 6 or 7 buildings of rooms at various levels o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SailorWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This place is unbelievably over priced for the value you get out of it. Went for a destination wedding, which was very lovely, but the service at the resort was terrible. We got locked out of our room for 4 hours due to a dead battery in the key reader. After telling us to go away for an hour and they would have it fixed, we came back 2 hours later to find out no one had even looked at it. The whole thing turned into a major hassle. The guy at the front was rude and smug to us. The group we were with were getting free upgrades like crazy, so we asked for laundry service for our troubles and the man at the front told us he could do that for us for "100 dollars cashmoney".

All in all we spent way too much money to be there and I could not have been happier to leave.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the pool have to endure hours of blasting party pool music. It is very annoying and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank atrevelyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Alcázar U, Social Media Coordinator at Occidental Grand Papagayo by Barcelo, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear atrevelyan,

I sincerely apologize for the experience you had during your stay. Our goal is to provide guests with exceptional service throughout every aspect of our property, and it appears we fell short on this during your visit. Our housekeeping and maintenance teams typically work very hard to ensure our rooms are in perfect condition and properly inspected before and during the stay of our guest. I have reviewed your comments with both teams so that corrective measures are taken, as this is certainly unacceptable.

The satisfaction of our guests is top priority and your experience with us was not the norm for our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback because it help us to improve.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
3.6 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,059 reviews
1.4 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
El Mangroove, Autograph Collecti...
#4 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 stars 494 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#2 of 3 in Sardinal
4.0 of 5 stars 5,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
13.3 mi away
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,748 reviews
1.9 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 stars 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Grand Papagayo by Barcelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Grand Papagayo by Barcelo

Property: Occidental Grand Papagayo by Barcelo
Address: Playa Buena, 485000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#6 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Grand Papagayo by Barcelo 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Guanacaste on the Pacific coast of Costa Rica,The Adults Only Occidental Grand Papagayo is only at 25 minutes from the Liberia International Airport. This Resort surrounded by nature, boast lush tropical lanscape with scenic views of Bahía Culebra in Papagayo Golf.Ideal for couples, honeymooners and adult guest seeking a relaxing getaway. The Occidental Grand Papagayo offers a highly persolized five star all- inclusive experience delivered by an attentive and dedicated staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Barcelo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Occidental Grand Papagayo by Barcelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Occidental Grand Papagayo Gulf Of
Occidental Grand Papagayo Costa Rica
Grande Papagayo Costa Rica
Grand Papagayo Liberia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing