We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Occidental Papagayo - Adults only
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Certificate of Excellence
Duluth, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our family vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

My family booked this vacation threw Apple Vacations, therefore we got the "gold band" service.Our travel agent was very helpful. When we got to the hotel ,we were welcomed with a bottle of wine,fruit, helpful personel and ocean view. I would suggest that upgrading to ocean view is not needed. Most of the rooms have that view.
There IS alot of walking at this hotel, but we needed the exercise to wear off the food that we always over indulged in. If you need to, there are rides to be had at any time to and from your room, ocean, swimming pool area.
You wouldn't want to miss the beautiful scenery this hotel has to offer. The view from our room was spectacular!
The Specialty resturants were great as was Listhe our server for both nights in the Asian restaurant. In the bars we found that Daniel the bartender was enjoyable and remembered my name each and every time we came in. Even made a drink named after me :)
Thank you Occidental Grand Papagayo for a great vacation. Debbie

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Deb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,069
    1,016
    509
    271
    191
See reviews for
378
1,839
87
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (779)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

If you are looking for a nice relaxing vacation without a lot of nightlife then the Occidental Grand Papagayo is the place to go. There were 10 of us total ranging in age from 27 to 54. We never had to wait for a drink and met a lot of nice people staff included. It's true to book the italian or oriental restaurant you need to get in the guest services door early and we were told that the restaurants were booked for groups on both weekend nights which pushed us to only be able to each at each of these restaurants only one time each. The food however, was much better in these restaurants than the buffet but the buffet was also very good. The fish dishes especially are exceptionally fresh and delicious. We had no airconditioning in our room for 2 days but that was our fault as we just didn't figure out how to set it. Once we figured it out though, the air blew cold. No other problems with the room and in fact most rooms have a great view of the ocean.
We met JD Adventures on the beach outside of the hotel and booked a trip to Palo Verde National Park and also customized our trip to include the bull riding in Santa Cruz, we negotiated a great price and they delivered on everything we requested plus our guide was awesome taking us to local places we would never have seen on our own. Definitely, if you get a chance to find JD there book through him.
We did book a white water rafting trip through through the hotel and Tenorio River rafting which was fantastic as well.
Overall, this was a great vacation, everyone had a great time. The staff was friendly and was able to accomodate any request.
BEWARE - you will be approached with a timeshare talk. My husband and I opted to do the discussion as it included a free sunset cruise. We found that the timeshare (vacation club) prices differ based upon who you are paired up with. We were given a prices of $20K for the same package other people were getting for $15K-$16k. If you are interested in the vacation club negotiate the best price possible.
Also, if you are not in the best shape you may find the walk from the room to the lobby or pool to be somewhat tough. lots of hills and stairs. The hotel does provide shuttle service to all places in the hotel but you will have to wait if you need to use it. But not long.

Room Tip: All rooms have some sort of water view. The further you are away you are from the lobby the harder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aligobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We just spent a week here (early Jan) and it was awesome! Clean, tucked in the hills/trees with path to the beach. Staff were all so incredibly kind, fun, and informative. Food was simple but tasty -- fish was always a hit! They also work close with Swiss Travel to arrange tours around the area -- all the tours we took were wonderful! You have opportunity to participate in activities around the pool or you can find a spot in the shade to relax and read -- just perfect!

Room Tip: We were in section 4 overlooking ocean and it was quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We found the Occidental Grand Papagayo hotel to be beautiful and comfortable and so much fun! The food in the restaurants is fantastic, the best that we have ever had in an all inclusive resort. The friendly staff was so helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed our excursions near Liberia and the activities in the pool. What a gorgeous setting! We would love to come back again soon. Thank you!!! Carolyn, Vancouver, BC

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Our wedding planner Harold was phenomenal!!! He got us so excited while he took care of all the details! We were truly spoiled by all the staff, our guests were fully accomodated. Our wedding day, and the rest of the week was perfect!! :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SaraKyleReber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I visited Costa Rica for the first time; December 9th - 16, 2012, when we arrived we were greeted very friendly by the valets, they took care of our luggage and walked us over to the Reception area where we checked in. We received our welcome drinks which were very tasty! We arrived around 1:00pm and were told that our room would be ready around 3:00pm, so we went and had lunch in the Buffet and we were greeted again by friendly staff and they sat us down and were told that we could begin serving ourselves, my wife was concerned because she has Celiac Disease (Gluten Free) we spoke to the Host and were told not to worry that the chefs would create a special lunch for her. I went and served myself and I cannot believe how DELICIOUS that lunch was. A waiter came to my wife and brought her a plate of fresh fish & vegetables, which were grilled! She was so happy and the Food and Beverage Manager came to our table and told us to please not to worry about our meals he will make sure that all her meals are Gluten Free! We asked for his name and he said it was Gabriel Zuniga. We want to say thank you to Mr. Zuniga for taking the time to speak to us, and to make a stay more relaxed and enjoyable, that is a GREAT Manager to have on staff!!!!

Our room was ready earlier than expected and we went up to see it. We were in building 4, my wife was so pleased when she saw the room that it was like the rooms on line, she was afraid that we were going to be disappointed with all the negative reviews we read about before we arrived.

Our room, our meals, our entire stay was just INCREDIBLE!!!!!! I want to thank the Occidental Grand Papagayo for such a wonderful stay, never has one hotel ever taken care of us in such a matter. We will definitely come back!

Room Tip: Ask for the renovated rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Leo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

First of all, I agree with everything Maybell S. said. We arrived on a beautiful day and were immediately helped. The welcome cocktail we were told we would get only came after reapeatedly reminding them THEY had told us we would get it. It came after an hour! Most of the next hour was spent in receiving some details about the hotel and in deflecting their desire to sign us up for a breakfast to look at a timeshare. We were told that water and beer would be provided in our room refigerator. It was sporadically provided and did not come even when requested repeatedly. The service was poor. The staff seemed to have no supervision and would shrug there shoulders. They even said on several occasions that there was no manager. The staff were nice, but did not seem to know the hotel. One directed my husband to a bathroom downhill and a block away by the pool when there was one about 50 feet from where we were in the lobby(I told him where to find it!). The free WI FI was often unavailable and went in and out every few minutes which made this very frustrating. The staff blamed our equipment, but all guests were having the issue with many different devices. The grounds are also beautiful with flowers but there are no pedestrian paths and it is amazing someone has not been run over by the shuttles that are easily available since the grounds are spread out; however the shuttle drivers seem to whip around curves day and night when there are often pedestiran guests on the same narrow roads.The wait to be seated for the buffet was long because the maitre D was the one cleaning and resetting the tables. The rooms we had were beautiful with good views and the New year's Eve fireworks were great. There is no way we would stay here again because the service was so bad. The trash can in the lobby lavatory was overflowing for over a day. Our room trash can was emptied twice during our 9 day stay, The staff were disorganized and although not unfriendly, they seemed helpless.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room near the beach in a one level building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarilynandWarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Alcázar U, Social Media Coordinator at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear MarilynandWarren,
I’m disappointed that your stay did not meet your expectations, and I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Please know that we take all feedback to heart, as it helps us to improve.
I’m glad you enjoyed our grounds and accommodations at our resort; however I’m concerned by the lack of service you mention, I’ve addressed your review with our housekeeping manager as his team typically clean all rooms and public areas daily to ensure they are in pristine condition for our guests but it appears that we fell short of this, please accept our apologies.
Also, I have addressed your experience about the service you received in the restaurant and I assure you it will not be repeated, as this is certainly unacceptable.
I’m sorry to hear the discomfort that the minibar service caused you. They are refilled every other day but if a guest requires it to be refilled daily, we are more than happy to do it.
Regarding the poor Wi Fi connection, unfortunately we work with a third party agency that had problems with the platform receiving the signal, this issue it was out of our hands and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this caused.
Also, I have spoken to the shuttle driver and warned him about your comments; I assure you that this is the first time that we received complaints about this and I guarantee you that this will not happen again. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Please accept our sincerest apologies for any disturbance you were caused. Guest satisfaction is our main priority.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
3.6 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
1.3 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
1.9 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
6.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,032 reviews
16.0 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Papagayo - Adults only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Papagayo - Adults only

Property: Occidental Papagayo - Adults only
Address: Playa Buena, 485000, Costa Rica (Formerly Occidental Grand Papagayo by Barceló)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#5 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Papagayo - Adults only 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Guanacaste on the Pacific coast of Costa Rica,The Adults Only Occidental Papagayo is only at 25 minutes from the Liberia International Airport. This Resort surrounded by nature, boast lush tropical landscape with scenic views of Bahia Culebra in Papagayo Golf.Ideal for couples, honeymooners and adult guest seeking a relaxing getaway. The Occidental Papagayo offers a highly personalized five star all- inclusive experience delivered by an attentive and dedicated staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Barcelo, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental Papagayo - Adults only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Occidental Grand Papagayo Gulf Of
Occidental Grand Papagayo Costa Rica
Grande Papagayo Costa Rica
Grand Papagayo Liberia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing