We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Occidental Papagayo - Adults only
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Certificate of Excellence
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
“Cool place”
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is set in a beautiful area. We went in October for the second half of our honeymoon. We stayed in an ocean view room. It had a nice view and howler monkeys were down by the cliff in the trees every day right by our room! (the highlight of my stay here) We did feel a little bummed when we tried to pay to upgrade our room but because we did not want to do the hour long vacation thing the next day at 830 am(on our honeymoon and we only had 2 1/2 days in the area) we couldn't upgrade. Also, there was no guest information in your room. we kind of felt lost as of what to do in the area once we got dropped off at our room. There are alot of steps which didnt bother us but it would stink to get around if you were injured or in a wheelchair or out of shape..we only got to eat at the Italian restaurant one night. We got there at 8:30 AM and got the last reservation for the day. When we got there for dinner half of the restaurant was empty. We couldn't get one for oriental. We ate at the buffet and snack bar the rest because we couldn't get reservations any other night. The food at those were ok. We were satisfied but not raving. Went to get our pool towels and they didn't have any. There was one English lady who worked there at a desk outside of the souvenier store and she was the most helpful of anyone on our trip to the occidental. She told us where to go and what to do and was very genuine. I can't remember her name but she deserves a shout out and a raise because without her, we really wouldn't have been very satisfied with this hotel or known what to do besides hang out on the property.. The girls aurora and Jennifer in the tour office helped us get a sunset cruise as well which was beautiful and we thank them for that. The people were nice and we did enjoy ourselves here. We would return for a quiet relaxing time but seemed really far from a lot to do without renting a car.(which u can do here also). Go to seafood and steak papagayo in coco they will pick u up and take you back for free at the hotel gate as long as u eat dinner with them. You can eat and then walk around playa coco and shop etc. the food was awesome and service awesome and venturing out of the hotel was nice as well.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cst101912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,116
    1,047
    516
    274
    195
See reviews for
386
1,902
93
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (793)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My girl was initially disappointed and was asking "where is everyone'? (we had gone during the low season at the end of October), but as each day passed, she was more and more impressed with the beauty of the hotel. The staff are very nice and helpful.
The only drawback is that there are no nearby towns (a complaint from my girl, I liked it!)
By the end of the stay she was very impressed and was wanting to stay longer, but alas, we had no more time.
Suffice to say that we both enjoyed our (too short) stay at the Occidental Grand Papagayo and would recommend it as a place to stay to relax and enjoy a respite from the rat race..
A wonderful place to stay, Occidental Grand Papagayo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I spend a really great 4 days in Costa Rica. We were there 5 days but thanks to the management at the Occidental the fifth day was a complete drag. Too long and boring to get into but I travel about 18 weeks per year all over the world. I have not complained about any property in years. This place is nearly impossible to find, the food is basically garbage and the rooms are average at best.
Don't cheat yourself by staying away from the great towns Costa Rica has to offer. If you want isolation go to Sugar Beach. That is an amazing property (also kind of hard to find but worth it). If yo want fun, go to Tamirindo. Good value all over there!

Room Tip: My tip is to find a room elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dittoeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Alcázar U, Social Media Coordinator at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear dittoeman,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed your first days at Occidental Grand Papagayo; however I’m disappointed that we’ve left you with an unsatisfactory experience.
In regards to our dining, we strive to offer a variety of options including: L’ Buffet (which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner) where our guests find a large fruit salad bar, omelet station, carving station, dessert station, and Costa Rica specialties; for lunch we have The Grill (which specializes in light lunch options and snacks; for diner we have two a la carte options: The Italian and D’ Oriental (most popular among our guests). We’re always looking to improve, so I’ve shared your review with our Executive Chef.
I’m surprised to hear your feedback about the location of our hotel, as it is one of the main attractions of our resort. Our property is located in a tropical oasis and surrounded by exotic plants and wild life, which our guests typically enjoy.
Our team usually works very hard to ensure our accommodations are in the best condition so that our guests feel at home. The satisfaction of our guests is always top priority. I’ve discussed your review with our manager, as we’re always looking for ways to enhance the guest experience.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pei
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great resort. Lots os walking , but needed the exercise after the meals. Did not hear much noise in rooms. Would have been nicer if bar would have been open 24 hrs but made due Massage on the beach was incredible

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peipeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

There is a lot to like in relationship to the cost for this resort. It had a good mix of guests of different ages - honeymooners, empty nesters, and a few old folks like us. It is not a good place for people who have a hard time with steps, etc. There were virtually no guests with kids when we were there. Many of the rooms are in five-room buildings spread through the resort, each with a view and patio. The rooms were clean, and in pretty good working order. The food in the specialty restaurants was very good. In the main restaurant, I noticed that many of the guests seemed happy, but we found it mediocre - maybe because we are west coast food snobs. You can get espresso drinks if you ask. We left tips at each meal and in our room and had good service. (We brought $200 in ones and fives)
It rained every day we were there - our luck choosing mid October in a late, wet rainy season. The beach was beautiful at low tide and when the sun was out. At high tide, the beach nearly disappeared. The resort is pretty isolated. We took three excursions through the United Vacations rep at the resort. We really liked the one to Nicarauga, and to the hot springs/rain forest - partly because the guide we had gave us college-lecture level information. But they were very long days - 12 hours or more.
So, if you are on a budget, just want a romantic getaway to lie on the beach or by the pool, and are not food-fussy, it is great.

Room Tip: If you like good alcohol and internet and room with great view, pay extra for "club level,"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed there for a week in Dec, 2011. This region is beautiful and the people very friendly. We participated in 3 off-site excursions, a bit expensive and a bit far from the resort, but enjoyable. Really recommend the mountain trail ride and zipline adventure. The food and drinks were quite good for all inclusive. Nice restaurant ambiance. There were not many guests at this time of year so the small beach was not crowded and not too long a wait for dining tables. Unfortunately, there was construction happening on-site when we were there and the noise begun early in the morning. Rooms were clean but sometimes shortage of towels and face cloths. Always a good rule of thumb to bring a few facecloths from home. The TV in our room didn't work well and asking for another one or a repair fell on deaf ears. Not that having no TV is usually a problem at a resort, but when it gets dark at 6pm and there is not much to do there in the evenings, (one dance club) and no nearby ammenities, the TV becomes the main source of entertainment. Overall the experience was good, it is a nice place to relax and take in the sun, sand and sea. Good and friendly service provided. (except the TV thing)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kipau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Not sure why this place has negative reviews. I will say the room service was poor for things like ice, room clean up, etc. My only gripe. The place was affordable, the properties beautiful and I thought the buffet was great. Their two specialized restaurants require advance notice for reservations. They had places for snacks when the buffet was closed.

All Inclusive included the cost of liquer...which can get expensive at a regular bar. They had free things like snorkeling, kayaking, guided walk tours and inexpensive excursions like zip lining. The beach was remote and had monkeys in the woods. We could see the ocean from our room and the foot traffic was minimal making it very private for us.

I went there for my honeymoon and I have no regrets! I'd like to go back....

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cora72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
3.6 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,515 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#2 of 3 in Playa Panama
664 reviews
1.9 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
6.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,184 reviews
16.0 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Papagayo - Adults only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Papagayo - Adults only

Property: Occidental Papagayo - Adults only
Address: Playa Buena, 485000, Costa Rica (Formerly Occidental Grand Papagayo by Barceló)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#6 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Papagayo - Adults only 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Guanacaste on the Pacific coast of Costa Rica,The Adults Only Occidental Papagayo is only at 25 minutes from the Liberia International Airport. This Resort surrounded by nature, boast lush tropical landscape with scenic views of Bahia Culebra in Papagayo Golf.Ideal for couples, honeymooners and adult guest seeking a relaxing getaway. The Occidental Papagayo offers a highly personalized five star all- inclusive experience delivered by an attentive and dedicated staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TravelUp, Barcelo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Occidental Papagayo - Adults only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Occidental Grand Papagayo Gulf Of
Occidental Grand Papagayo Costa Rica
Grande Papagayo Costa Rica
Grand Papagayo Liberia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing