We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great People at a Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Grand Papagayo by Barcelo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Occidental Grand Papagayo by Barcelo
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great People at a Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My girl was initially disappointed and was asking "where is everyone'? (we had gone during the low season at the end of October), but as each day passed, she was more and more impressed with the beauty of the hotel. The staff are very nice and helpful.
The only drawback is that there are no nearby towns (a complaint from my girl, I liked it!)
By the end of the stay she was very impressed and was wanting to stay longer, but alas, we had no more time.
Suffice to say that we both enjoyed our (too short) stay at the Occidental Grand Papagayo and would recommend it as a place to stay to relax and enjoy a respite from the rat race..
A wonderful place to stay, Occidental Grand Papagayo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    855
    883
    436
    250
    173
See reviews for
326
1,544
67
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (689)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I spend a really great 4 days in Costa Rica. We were there 5 days but thanks to the management at the Occidental the fifth day was a complete drag. Too long and boring to get into but I travel about 18 weeks per year all over the world. I have not complained about any property in years. This place is nearly impossible to find, the food is basically garbage and the rooms are average at best.
Don't cheat yourself by staying away from the great towns Costa Rica has to offer. If you want isolation go to Sugar Beach. That is an amazing property (also kind of hard to find but worth it). If yo want fun, go to Tamirindo. Good value all over there!

Room Tip: My tip is to find a room elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dittoeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Alcázar U, Social Media Coordinator at Occidental Grand Papagayo by Barcelo, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear dittoeman,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed your first days at Occidental Grand Papagayo; however I’m disappointed that we’ve left you with an unsatisfactory experience.
In regards to our dining, we strive to offer a variety of options including: L’ Buffet (which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner) where our guests find a large fruit salad bar, omelet station, carving station, dessert station, and Costa Rica specialties; for lunch we have The Grill (which specializes in light lunch options and snacks; for diner we have two a la carte options: The Italian and D’ Oriental (most popular among our guests). We’re always looking to improve, so I’ve shared your review with our Executive Chef.
I’m surprised to hear your feedback about the location of our hotel, as it is one of the main attractions of our resort. Our property is located in a tropical oasis and surrounded by exotic plants and wild life, which our guests typically enjoy.
Our team usually works very hard to ensure our accommodations are in the best condition so that our guests feel at home. The satisfaction of our guests is always top priority. I’ve discussed your review with our manager, as we’re always looking for ways to enhance the guest experience.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pei
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great resort. Lots os walking , but needed the exercise after the meals. Did not hear much noise in rooms. Would have been nicer if bar would have been open 24 hrs but made due Massage on the beach was incredible

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peipeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

There is a lot to like in relationship to the cost for this resort. It had a good mix of guests of different ages - honeymooners, empty nesters, and a few old folks like us. It is not a good place for people who have a hard time with steps, etc. There were virtually no guests with kids when we were there. Many of the rooms are in five-room buildings spread through the resort, each with a view and patio. The rooms were clean, and in pretty good working order. The food in the specialty restaurants was very good. In the main restaurant, I noticed that many of the guests seemed happy, but we found it mediocre - maybe because we are west coast food snobs. You can get espresso drinks if you ask. We left tips at each meal and in our room and had good service. (We brought $200 in ones and fives)
It rained every day we were there - our luck choosing mid October in a late, wet rainy season. The beach was beautiful at low tide and when the sun was out. At high tide, the beach nearly disappeared. The resort is pretty isolated. We took three excursions through the United Vacations rep at the resort. We really liked the one to Nicarauga, and to the hot springs/rain forest - partly because the guide we had gave us college-lecture level information. But they were very long days - 12 hours or more.
So, if you are on a budget, just want a romantic getaway to lie on the beach or by the pool, and are not food-fussy, it is great.

Room Tip: If you like good alcohol and internet and room with great view, pay extra for "club level,"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed there for a week in Dec, 2011. This region is beautiful and the people very friendly. We participated in 3 off-site excursions, a bit expensive and a bit far from the resort, but enjoyable. Really recommend the mountain trail ride and zipline adventure. The food and drinks were quite good for all inclusive. Nice restaurant ambiance. There were not many guests at this time of year so the small beach was not crowded and not too long a wait for dining tables. Unfortunately, there was construction happening on-site when we were there and the noise begun early in the morning. Rooms were clean but sometimes shortage of towels and face cloths. Always a good rule of thumb to bring a few facecloths from home. The TV in our room didn't work well and asking for another one or a repair fell on deaf ears. Not that having no TV is usually a problem at a resort, but when it gets dark at 6pm and there is not much to do there in the evenings, (one dance club) and no nearby ammenities, the TV becomes the main source of entertainment. Overall the experience was good, it is a nice place to relax and take in the sun, sand and sea. Good and friendly service provided. (except the TV thing)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kipau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Not sure why this place has negative reviews. I will say the room service was poor for things like ice, room clean up, etc. My only gripe. The place was affordable, the properties beautiful and I thought the buffet was great. Their two specialized restaurants require advance notice for reservations. They had places for snacks when the buffet was closed.

All Inclusive included the cost of liquer...which can get expensive at a regular bar. They had free things like snorkeling, kayaking, guided walk tours and inexpensive excursions like zip lining. The beach was remote and had monkeys in the woods. We could see the ocean from our room and the foot traffic was minimal making it very private for us.

I went there for my honeymoon and I have no regrets! I'd like to go back....

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cora72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The price was affordable, I thought. I stayed at Occidental Grand Papayago from Oct.29-Nov2. The grounds were beautiful. But it stops there. I thought guest services were very unfriendly. The were so focused on selling an excursion off of the resort. After checking into the room around lunchtime, I went to the buffet and had a very mediocre lunch. I then went to the pool to relax and have a few drinks. It usually took 15-20 minutes to get a drink unless you tipped the person each time. This is supposed to be an ALL INCLUSIVE RESORT with taxes and tips included. NOT. I tried to make reservations for dinner at either of the ALA CARTE restaurants for Wednesday and Thursday nights, but both nights were fully booked. Note, I checked in on Monday. Maybe since I was a single traveler, the TIP would not be as much so they claim it was booked up. The room was clean (building 200) and it was supposed to be an oceanview room. The ocean was a good 300 yards away so the only view was the building that handed out beach towels and the Snack bar. In the evening I tried to take a hot shower. No not water. Called for someone to look at it in the morning, When the guy arrived, all of a sudden there was hot water. Later that night when i went to get a shower, there was hot water in the sink, but not the shower. Called again and they said someone would look at it in the morning. Again, when he arrived, there was hot water again. Must have conveniently opened the hot water valve again. Same thing every morning. The website says there are 4 bars. One at the lobby, one at the disco, which doesn't open until 7PM, one be the pool, which you could not sit. It was a service bar and one down the path to the ocean, which was deserted and never open. Again, spend your money at a different ALL INCLUSIVE RESORT in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: No good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
3.6 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,059 reviews
1.4 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
El Mangroove, Autograph Collecti...
#4 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 stars 493 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#2 of 3 in Sardinal
4.0 of 5 stars 5,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
13.3 mi away
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,748 reviews
1.9 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 stars 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Grand Papagayo by Barcelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Grand Papagayo by Barcelo

Property: Occidental Grand Papagayo by Barcelo
Address: Playa Buena, 485000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#6 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Grand Papagayo by Barcelo 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Guanacaste on the Pacific coast of Costa Rica,The Adults Only Occidental Grand Papagayo is only at 25 minutes from the Liberia International Airport. This Resort surrounded by nature, boast lush tropical lanscape with scenic views of Bahía Culebra in Papagayo Golf.Ideal for couples, honeymooners and adult guest seeking a relaxing getaway. The Occidental Grand Papagayo offers a highly persolized five star all- inclusive experience delivered by an attentive and dedicated staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Barcelo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Occidental Grand Papagayo by Barcelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Occidental Grand Papagayo Gulf Of
Occidental Grand Papagayo Costa Rica
Grande Papagayo Costa Rica
Grand Papagayo Liberia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing