We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive for what you get”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Pinner, England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Expensive for what you get”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2007

We spent 4 nights at the 4 Seasons after 2 weeks touring Costa Rica. Firstly a little on CR. Great place to see provided you remember that the promotional material shows what you might see not neccessarily what you will see. The wildlife can be a bit elusive and cloud forest by its very name means cloud, not sun. That said the country is safe, quite clean and well used to tourists.
The 4 Seasons is a self contained luxury resort on an out of way but stunningly beautiful peninsula in the north west of the country. From the entrance of the property to the hotel is a 10 minute car ride and to get to the entrance is a 30 minutes from the nearest town. The hotel could be anywhere and from the look and feel might be more at home in Hawaii than CR. Service is terrific and the spa was one of best I have been to. Downsides are the isolation and the food which was bland and relatively expensive. The overall cost does not represent good value for money as prices quoted don't include local taxes and service. If you want to see CR don't go here, if you want a quiet beach holiday there are cheaper options without loosing quality.

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — isolation
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank PeterSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,446
    265
    85
    30
    15
See reviews for
617
770
18
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2007

I stayed at the Four Seasons in Feb 05 and would highly recommend it to anyone. The rooms, service and restaurants were excellent and I would definitely return. The spa was awesome and I had the best hot stone massage I've ever had anywhere - not the cheapest but definitely the best.

We played golf too and the golf club house and all its staff and facilities were excellent. We were provided with top of the range clubs and golf carts and every 3 hole someone came and provided us with ice cold lemon scented towels and iced drinks - heaven. The view from each hole was the best on any course I have played and the condition of the greens and fairways was fantastic.

Look out for the howler monkeys - we had a particularly angry mob scream at us on one of the fairways but it made the experience all the better.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pinkbootpootle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2007

All I can say is I've stayed in a lot of Hotels and this tops them all.
The Garden view rooms are massive and ours had a water view.

The staff is well trained and your not going to want to leave!!!

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank CUSTOMERSERVICEGURU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasantville, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2007

My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed this beautiful resort, from the grand entry lane to the main resort area. We were fortunate enough to stay in one of the suites on top of the property with remarkable views. Service, food, hospitality were all top rate. We can't imagine ever staying anywhere else.

  • Liked — Overabundance of luxury
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Hotel staff will accept tips only after the second refusal
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank TandP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2006

Had an awesome time at the Four Seasons. Couple of things;

GETTING THERE
best off booking flight into Liberia if possible. Direct flights available from Newark and Houston on Continental. I believe others, Delta(?) fly there as well from Atlanta and rumor had from LA. We flew through San Jose. I would avoid that if possible. Connected on Sansa Airlines, heard Natura is better if you must fly internally in Costa Rica.

GROUND TRANSFER
We used J and C Tours mentioned in other postings. Juan and his wife Carol run the company. They transferred us for 60 USD, compared with 100 PER PERSON offered by Four Season Resort. I did all by email, they even confirmed two days before. Reliable, clean, spacious mini-van.


EXCURSIONS (extra cost)
The Four Season listing of events/excursions were great. The catamaran trip was excellent. Saw dolphins, sting rays, and tuna running. Very relaxing. Be warned the snorkelling was lame, but the views, crew, and sunset were great.

I golfed 2 days, best deal is the after 2:00 all you can golf. It was like $110 for everything. Only caveat, is if it is hot. I hit a cool afternoon and it was perfect. Monkeys along several holes, great views, nice practice range, which you can go to before 2:00pm. Also, the restrurant, Carcaol, at the golf clubhouse was great for lunch. Service is what you expect from a Four Seasons.

Not sure I agree with previous posting about using J and C tour for excursions, as the Four Seasons has it pretty well worked out. Other thing, many of the excursions are are around 2 hours EACH WAY, so we hung out at hotel. Did the zipline, which was fun, but be warned there is a bit of hiking/walking. Also, lot's of gear to wear, so best in the morning when it is cooler.


ACTIVITIES (included in cost)
Each morning at 11:30 fish are brought to the beach below the main pool. It is fun to go and check out what the fresh catch is and select your meal for night. They suggest how to have it prepared. Was the best meai we had.

If your looking for a resort, family get-away, or romantic few days, it is great.

PS Had a 6 hour layover in San Jose, we rented a cab for 10 USD an hour. Cab took us into city. Really not much to see. Had an OK lunch at News Cafe. Otherwise, city was unremarkable.

  • Liked — service, although can be bit much at times if like a lot of privacy
  • Tips/Secrets — J and C tour for airport transfer. Zipline in morning is best when it is cooler
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
18 Thank Colorobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2006

Just returned from a fabulous week at the Four Seasons, Costa Rica. Property and service were amazing..really first rate. The food is only "pretty good" and the prices are really steep, but generally what we expected.
Best day was when we went on an all-day excursion with Juan from J&C Tours (JandCtours.com). Juan is fabulous (he also transported us to and from the airport) and a great guide. He spots all the wildlife. We saw so many monkeys. I really encourage you to contact J and C tours before you come too CR.
Our excursion was to Buena Vista Lodge (only 1 and 1/2 hours from the 4S) We rode horses to mud baths/hotsprings, zipline canopy tour and water slide. great day.
Four Seasons is fabulous . Go there!

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank NYPetunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2006

A+++-We have travelled to many of the finest resorts, but none could compare to this -The facilities are outstanding,the weather perfect,the food delicious, first class spa,beautiful and well maintaned golf course,BUT IN A WORD IT'S THE PEOPLE that separate this from all the others-The staff at this four seasons simply wants to make everything perfect.It makes no difference whether it's management,beach and pool staff,wait staff, housekeeping or any other staff member it's a CAN DO attitude.There is no request that is not promptly and precisley attended to.From the moment we arrived at the airport to the day we left,It was a great experience. WE HAVE ALREADY MADE FUTURE RESERVATIONS

R and D
Boston, Massachusetts

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Go-it's a fantastic property
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank bone5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
2.8 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
3.0 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
3.0 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
7.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
7.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Property: Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing