We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“wonderful property” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Mesquite, Nevada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“wonderful property”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2006

We just returned from a 8 day stay the four seasons and really enjoyed the grounds and people who work there. Our room was on the top floor with a great ocean view. We woke up each morning to a beautiful sunrise and to Monkeys playing in the trees right in front of our room. Our room was beautiful and cozy, so we we felt right a home.

The food was great and the service was friendly. I strongly recommend everyone take the Catamaran trip. We did some great snorkeling out on the bay and Dolphins swam with us. The day trip to Palo Verde National Park was amazing. I saw lots of wildlife, including crocodiles, anteaters, thousands of birds and monkeys. Its a boating tour and I highly recommend it.
The hotel staff will do just about anything to ensure your stay is great. The Spa was very special and I had a couple of great treatments.

Perhaps my only complaint was that this Four Seasons is a long way from anything, and your only choice is to eat in their resturants. The food is very expensive and they charge you for absolutely everything. I suggest that you bring lots of money for your stay here. If you can get a meal plan before you go, that would be your best bet.

There is a great pool for adults only. We saw many well mannered kids at the resort, but if you are in the mood for peace and quiet, you can find it on the adult side of the beach. There are also many adult activities the hotel plans just for people without kids. They also have great programs for kids as well.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank TAHOEAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,393
    256
    84
    28
    14
See reviews for
591
747
18
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2006

One of the best resorts we have visited....very relaxing!

  • Liked — Rooms were beautiful and comfortable
  • Tips/Secrets — Plan on spending more money than an average trip
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pacemaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2006

My sister and I (we are 8 and 5) and our parents had a fantastic time at this super resort. We especially loved seeing the monkeys (both white faced monkeys and howler monkeys) and swimming in the beautiful swimming pools. We also saw a small shark, manta rays and sting rays. We met lots of new friends and had a great time at the kids club. I took cooking classes with my mom. We definately want to return. Hopefully our parents will take us. The beach was beautiful and we loved collecting shells.I am 8 and i went snorkeling and paddle boating with my dad,mom and sister.
It was great.There was so much to do.
I recommend it for kids.

  • Liked — So much to do
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
15 Thank JenniferAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2006

We stayed at the Four Seasons for two nights as part of a two week honeymoon to Costa Rica. Without question the property is gorgeous and the service was impeccable. So, what's the problem?

In short, staying at the Four Seasons Costa Rica feels like a sanitized version of the real Costa Rica. The balconies have screens on them and you are truly trapped in the middle of nowhere at the resort. If you came to Costa Rica to experience "nature" the Four Seasons is not for you. If you want a great room and to hang around "gringos" then the Four Seasons is perfect.

The food was excellent but very expensive. A basic breakfast for one (2 eggs, bacon, toast, & coffee) was $ 36 once you added taxes, tip, etc. I paid $ 38 for two glasses of the "house" white wine. I don't mind indulging, but at the Four Seasons you are forced to pay because there are no other restaurants or anything nearby.

The property itself is enormous, it literally is a fifteen minute drive from the front gate of the property to the lobby.

Bottomline, the Four Seasons Costa Rica is an indulgence, but it is no different from any other Four Seasons I've ever been to. If you travelled all the way to Costa Rica I'd recommend finding a less sanitized version.

  • Liked — The room/bed and bathroom were great
  • Disliked — Expensive
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
15 Thank icarus5tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2006

My wife and our two daughters spent a week at this superb property. We have stayed at other nice resorts but this one is really special. Perhaps it is the ability to watch monkeys outside of your room or to swim next to manta rays. It is unique in so many ways, but retains all of the amenities that you would expect from a Four Seasons resort. The physical structure is beautiful and everything is well integrated into the landscape.

The staff is wonderful and the service is excellent. We had no complaints about the food, with the prices less expensive than similar resorts in Hawaii. It is not inexpensive, but that should not come as a surprise.

Overall, it is a superb resort and rivals the best of any of Four Seasons' properties.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
9 Thank Canadian-Beagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2006

Costa Rica proved to be a perfect tropical destination. Whether you want to relax by the beach or hike through the rainforest, there is something here for every nature lover. The country has wisely pursued the conservation of its many natural resources. And the Four Seasons has taken advantage of every beauty this country has to offer and combined it with a resort that is so integrated into the environment that it seems to have been there forever. The architecture and decor could not be more beautiful and appropriate for the surroundings. Our room and generous balcony gave the feeling we were in a beautiful treehouse and we were able to view many birds, butterflies and even monkeys from the balcony. The balcony even had an electric screen. And as with every Four Seasons, the service was unsurpassed. The concierge was able to arrange whatever kind of activity you desire, from fishing, sailing, zip-lining, hiking, etc. The resort also offers many on-site activites, from nature hikes to kayaking. Add to this that this Four Seasons has fabulous food and drinks. I would rate this Four Seasons as the best of all the resorts we have visited.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
10 Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2006

My partner and I had a spectacular stay for a week in June 2006. We had a terrible plane trip from New York and called the resort during a seven-hour layover to let them know we would be arriving at night rather than at lunchtime. When we arrived, we were met at the door by a manager, who said that they had our suite ready - we had booked a regular room but had been upgraded to a large suite including a treehouse with views of the bay. We were brought towels and a cocktail while the bellhop loaded a golf cart with our bags, and then were driven through the gardens up the (very steep) hill to our room. The service continued like that through the trip.

The resort is very isolated, but we went on the riding excursion and went scuba diving twice. One day, we were the only divers and thus had a private dive trip. Don't miss the nature walk on site - we saw dozens of monkeys. Don't bother with the trail on the bay side (there's lots of construction) - stay on the ocean side. Many guests seemed not to take advantage of the excursions, or had the idea that they should be "adventurous" by not scheduling things through the concierge - this is not the place to come if you want a do-it-yourself adventure trip.

We did not consider food to be as expensive as some reviewers did - no more so than average New York restaurants. The Brazilian buffet was disappointing but the rest was fine, if not memorable. The food is not the reason to go.

There are lots of children, but they tend to stay at the large pool. There is also a quiet pool near the ocean beach that is almost always quiet. Very few children at the beaches.

We seemed to be the only gay couple, but we were entirely comfortable and welcome. We absolutely did not want to leave.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank gayguyinnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
2.8 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
3.0 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
3.1 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#2 of 3 in Playa Panama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
16.6 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
2.0 mi away
Occidental Papagayo - Adults only
Occidental Papagayo - Adults onl...
#7 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Property: Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing