We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a beautiful resort, country and people! We'll be back...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
San Antonio TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a beautiful resort, country and people! We'll be back...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2009

This is a delayed report as we did not take our laptop with us to Costa Rica. We stayed at the Four Seasons from November 16th - 21st and it was lovely.

The absolute best part of the trip was the side trips we took. Hooked-up with Mainor Lara from Tours Your Way - by the way he is not in trouble in England, etc. his website and email were stolen by cyberbandits who posted lies and tried to extort money the day we arrived in Costa Rica. Poor guy had to take time off to get it all straightened out. He managed to fix it all in one day. His website is still ToursYourWay.com but he has a NEW email: [--]. We highly recommend Mainor he sprinkles your trip with facts, folklore, and local flavor - yum! We left the hotel really hungry and asked him to stop for food for us - yum! He did good on everything we even got to chew some sugar cane. Ziplining was awesome too I treasure my SURVIVOR T-shirt. don't miss "The Congo Tour" ziplining, my husband hates heights and speed and was sure it would be the sport from hell but he liked it and will go again with me... do it!!

The next day we went on a wildlife river cruise with his cousin Jose Acevedo. The cruise was lackluster as most of the wildlife decided not to come saw lots of birds, a couple of crocs and some bats. But, Jose was great and the trip there and back was a running lesson in Costa Rica once again. We highly recommend Jose as well: Costaricaissystours.com and [--]. him. Both of these guys took great care of us and we felt safe and secure the entire time. They can help you plan any kind of trip you want, shared or private, as well as provide transportation to wherever you may want or need to go - even Nicaragua. (That's for next time!!)

We had read all the blogs some dissing and some praising the Four Seasons. Overall we had a great experience. It is the 3rd Four Seasons Resort we have stayed at in some ways it was the best. The property is smaller than most - only 40 acres developed that was a little hard to adjust to at first but there are 2 lovely beaches, one for sport and the other quiet, 3 pools one for adults only so what more could you want? We were a little disappointed that they did not serve food on the beach like others we have stayed at but it's a Costa Rica ecology law so not much they can do about that. The rooms were great, service was great, food was "Ok" but we are not big foodies so it was fine for us. Yes, it is expensive but then Four Seasons are 5 Star and that means bring money. If you want an economy vacation this is not your place to stay. But if you want to be treated special and waited on hand and foot then make your reservations now - we loved it.

The only true negative was the golf course tour. The tour itself was gorgeous and we highly recommend it - what's not to like about zipping around on your own golf cart all over a golf course at twilight on and off the paths to see monkeys, etc. We saw a ton of wildlife and then had dinner at the restaurant which is gorgeous and watched the sunset - very memorable.

The rub came when we specifically inquired as to the attire for this tour. We were told that it was golf attire, no flip-flops, men were to wear collared shirts, women golf attire. So, on our last day we cut our beach time short, headed to the showers, changed clothes and left for the tour only to be met with a woman in her swim suit, transparent short black cover up, her husband in his swim trunks and a ratty old brown T-shirt over it and flip flops. They came straight from the beach because we saw them there when we left to clean up! There they waited to join us for the tour! We then found out that said woman worked for Four Seasons in the Toronto headquarters!! Now, either she should have known better or the staff should have turned her away - there should be no exceptions or else drop the "dress code" entirely. Our last day could have been more memorable had this not happened. So, that's our diss - for this trip. Having said all that - don't miss the golf course "Tour of the Giants" it is breathtaking and our giude was great...

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SATXCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,449
    266
    85
    30
    15
See reviews for
618
770
18
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2009

For one week during Thanksgiving (2009), my husband I stayed at the Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo. Overall, the trip was incredible and the weather was fantastic!

Airport: Although several hotels have shuttle service, we arranged to have Swiss Travel transport us between the airport and the hotel. I think we were scheduled/paid for shared van service, but ended up having a private ride in both directions. This company was terrific, the drivers were very friendly and knowledgeable, and they even stopped along the way for us to take pictures of wildlife, etc.

Hotel: Upon arrival to the hotel, as with any 4S trip, we were greeted by name and offered fruit juice and a cold towel. The staff remembered our names throughout the duration of the trip and were some of the most friendly and knowledgeable people we encountered. We did not have to check in at the front desk, but instead we were immediately transported to our room. We were even given an upgraded room! Although we stayed on an upper level with an oceanview, we heard that the gardenview rooms (first floor) had a better view since they did not have the thick foliage from the trees outside which the upper level rooms had. In terms of location, I think all of the rooms are great. Unlike the 4S Maui which is much larger, this 4S is more intimate and pretty much all of the hotel rooms had a fantastic view. While here, we also took advantage of the spa and the golf course. Both were fantastic and we highly recommend them! Although we brought our own clubs, we were told that club/shoe rental is free during the twilight (i.e. after 2pm) golf. There are 3 pools and 2 beach areas. One of the pools was for adults only and was right near the quieter beach. The staff came around frequently to offer complimentary frozen smoothies, popsicles, water, cold towels, face mist, and even cleaned our sunglasses! Although we were told the beaches are public and various people may wander around selling things, we saw very few vendors and they were very nice and quick to walk away if you said you were not interested in their products.

Activities: Upon arrival, we immediately signed up for the free activities offered at the hotel and I recommend signing up early, especially since they can only accommodate 6 people. We did not do any of the hiking trips, but we really enjoyed the kayaking/snorkeling. In addition to the hotel activities, we pre-arranged a tour with Mainor Lara (Tours Your Way) who we highly recommend. We first heard about him from Trip Advisor and decided to book the Hacienda Guachipelin tour. This tour was a full-day adventure of horseback riding, whitewater tubing, ziplining, rock climbing, rappelling, swinging, and visiting the mud bath/natural springs. We were also provided with an excellent Costa Rican lunch (at a local restaurant) and Mainor took us on a few detours- we stopped at a pineapple stand, the supermarket, and a waterfall that was a hidden paradise. Although a full day may seem exhausting, it is nice to get everything done all at once, especially when you are staying at a hotel that is far away. One thing to mention is that although the hotels offer similar tours, those tours do not include the whitewater tubing (which was an incredible part of the trip!) and they are more costly. Mainor is very knowledgeable, speaks excellent English, and will pretty much accommodate your needs on each tour. You will also learn to appreciate early on that having a tour with only a few people and traveling in the air conditioned van is much more luxurious than the large school buses and the large number of people in the other tour groups. If you plan this kind of a tour, definitely bring a thin pair of hiking pants (for the horseback riding and the zipline) and a dark bathing suit that will not get stained from the volcanic mud bath. Bugspray is also important (and much cheaper if you buy it in the US and bring it with you) as is calamine lotion.

Food: Since the hotel is in a remote location from the nearest town and we did not have a rental car during our stay in Costa Rica, we ate all of our meals at the Four Seasons. As expected, the food was fantastic, though quite pricey. There are 4-5 restaurants affiliated with the hotel and another one at the Beach club, so you can get about 6 days of different food experiences. However, you may want to plan your meal locations for each day at the beginning of the trip since not all of the restaurants are open each day. Two things to note: First, there is a “juice of the day” offered for breakfast each day that is fantastic! I do not regret ordering it each day, however, you may find yourself surprised at how much they charge for one glass of this juice; it is as expensive as one beer. Second, we highly recommend room service, especially for breakfast. They offer a more expansive menu than the restaurant and they set up a beautiful table for you on your private balcony. Also, some of the room service food options were cheaper than the same options in the restaurant. Water: Unlike some hotels, the 4S provides a couple of free bottles of water in the room which are constantly replenished. There are also water dispensers throughout the hotel, so I recommend bringing a water bottle with you. At dinner, you will notice that they ask you if you would like (expensive) bottled water with your meals (e.g. Evian and Fiji), it took us a few days to realize that you can also order plain, filtered water at no charge.

Additional things to bring: Definitely bring a waterproof camera, particularly for the kayaking trips and the adventure tours since you will get wet. Also, it is helpful to bring some extra zip lock bags for wet bathing suits, camera, etc. on the adventure tours. It was also helpful to have a small backpack for keeping stuff together while on the tour.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank C&M2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2009

We just returned from a weeks trip to Costa Rica. It is a great country, nice people, under populated, clean and safe.
Four seasons was great as usual. Food was the best in Charcols and at De Mare.
They had a nice brazilian buffett at the Tico's. Papagoya's is good.
Prices are the usual FS prices no different than what they are State side.
Hotel is in a secluded area so you have no option but to eat at the hotel. Accomodation was perfect and golf was great. We played two days, but it was hot.
If you play after 2pm they donot charge for club rental, which otherwise is $50.00 per person. We had our own clubs.
Mainor Lara was our guide, his associate AL was excellent. They both made our trip perfect. We zip lined, went to Arenal volcano and the lake and did a river trip. I would recommend them all. You can contact lara at [--]. His tours are cheaper and great. Next time I would stay in Arenal and also at bourenquin. They have some great properties for $175 to 300.00 per nite.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ifti1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2009

We stayed at the 4 Seasons for the second half of our Honeymoon, and loved it. The staff was tremendous and gracious. I can't say enough about the staff, particularly in the pool / beach area. If William is your server, you've got the best. He took care of us everyday, and exceeded our expectations. We use an off-site company for our zipline experience - Tours Your Way with Maner ([--]), and he was muy perfecto. Not only did our zipline experience go well, but Maner gave us an 'behind the scenes' tour of 'local' Costa Rica.
The ONLY negative about the 4 Seasons is it's seclusion. We enjoy mixing it up with the locals, and you can't do that as the hotel is located at the tip of the peninsula. In no way did this detract from our stay.
The golf course is awesome - the course is very playable AND the views are spectacular. Play it after 2pm and watch the sunset from the 17th green.
We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PalaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2009

The resort is on one of the most beautiful places on earth, the staff is helpful and really like working at the resort and it shows.
The food is excellent and at Papagayo the chef prepared anything that my heart desired(including things not on the menu).
The beaches are beautiful and the staff is wonderful, bringing water and drinks before you have to ask for them!
I took a tour of the beach towns starting in Samara and finishing up in Coco, I used (TOURS YOUR WAY) my guide Mainor Lara was a great guide and loves his country very much, He has a new email adress ([--].)
Overall this was the most wonderful vacation that I have ever been on and would recomend anyone to visit the Four Seasons Costa Rica!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickyd44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2009

It's the Four Seasons, yes, but I would add probably their nicest property as well. We were greeted on a hot Guanacaste afternoon with a fresh-squoze fruit drink and a cool towel for the forehead. The beach facing the pacific has good surf and the bay side beach is tranquil. They had a 16' catamaran which was free to take out for a spin (and a lot of fun!). The rooms are beautiful. The views are stunning. Did not try the golf course but many people said it was excellent. If you plan to go, reserve far in advance.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TopJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2009

Definitely a Five Star experience. What impressed us the most was just that the staff was
courteous and polite. They genuinely meant it! The staff was the best that we have dealt with and we stay at many four and five star hotels. The atmosphere of monkeys and other animals, makes you feel like you are in another world. Highly recommend it!
The golf course is beautiful and almost every hole has a spectacular view.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmarino96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
2.8 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
3.0 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
3.0 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
7.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
7.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Property: Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing