We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fantastic Girl's Getaway Trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
San Gabriel, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Girl's Getaway Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

First off, I am finally getting around to joining TripAdvisor to post reviews. Longtime lurker and realized that it way past due to pay it forward as I have received such valuable help from past posts.

So first time in Costa Rica but perennial guest of the Four Seasons. My friend and I chose Costa Rica this year for our Annual Girls’ Getaway and it did not disappoint! We choose a late week in July trying to hit that sweet spot of the “the Little summer” and in fact during our 7/24 – 8/3 stay, it only rained heavily once for 90 mins (ironically enough while I was getting a spa service so missed out on it!)
We were in a Cielo room for 6 nights and then splurged to a Canopy Plunge Pool suite for the last 3 nights. Everything was beautiful, serene and catered to our total enjoyment. The car service pickup was quick and efficient, with wifi to let our loved ones know we made it okay heading to the hotel. The drive was 45 minutes but seemed relatively quick and painless. We were greeted with the requisite towel and drinks that are standard to 4S and in addition the General Manager, Pascal greeted us personally! He is such a gracious and personable host and every single time we saw him throughout our stay, he made a point of greeting us and asking about our day. It is services like this and many other touches that makes me a loyal Four Seasons guest.
Okay so the pros:
Free water activities, beach amenities, etc. Seriously there is no need to pack the normal stuff you would need for beach (except your swimsuits!) as the 4S has them all complimentary for you.
The periodic free treats and sunglass cleaning provided at pool and beach areas. All the mini shot slushies were appreciated. At one point, we were even offered cheese raviolis!
The staff are friendly and always accommodating of our requests, even to get rid of a SyFy sized wasp that had made it’s way into our screened in patio!
Buffet Breakfast keep us energized to dinner!
FREE LAUNDRY – washer and dryer on each floor! You all must realize how incredibly nice it is to come home with a suitcase of clean clothes!
If you can afford it, please pay for the Canopy Suites! But beware you may never want to leave it!
Okay so only one minor con:
As we were staying 9 nights we figured instead of planning out our days we would just book with hotel when we felt the mood to explore the country. It would probably cost more but would save us from over thinking our trip and second guessing what days to do what. Well it turns out, since we are so far removed from the main tourist sites like Arenal, Monte Verde, etc. There needs to be a minimum of 4 people for most of the outside of resort activities. Well it turned out quite the challenge to get 2 more people to join us in doing anything! So we ended up only being able to do the quicker zipline at Witches Rock (which was pretty awesome). So maybe it was the time of year we went or maybe everyone books on their own, but if you are intent on seeing anything of Costa Rica other than the resort, book excursions on your own.

Overall, we had a memorable stay and I would definitely come back with hubby and son next time. The care and activities for kids that I saw make me realize this resort could quickly become my son’s favorite as it has mine!

Room Tip: Definitely splurge for a Canopy Plunge Pool Suite if you can afford it. We had rm 1411 which was nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dani91775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Dani, it was wonderful to meeting both of you during your stay and we are glad to know that your stay with us enticed you to start writing Trip Advisor reviews. Wonderful to get full marks on your "Annual Girl's Getaway". I am sorry that you were not able to do all of the tours you hoped to do, and that some of the tours did not reach the minimum number of participants - one more reason to return with your family and experience more of the country, and our family friendly resort we are well known for. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,381
    256
    84
    27
    14
See reviews for
588
738
18
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Had a fantastic stay. Such a gorgeous setting and a real sense of service. DiMare's was amazing, the spa was the best... my wife did not want to leave and I did for a moment think she was going to hide on the property and I would be returning alone. Will return for a longer visit as soon as possible.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drJ677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear jdJ677, thank you for taking the time and review your most recent stay - being situated on the tip of the Peninsula allows us to have stunning views, two permanent beaches and amazing sunsets - no wonder your wife did not want to leave. Come back soon for a longer trip to Pura Vida country. Pascal Forotti, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
206 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

my family of 7, myself, son and daughter in law and baby, my daughter and son in law and baby, have been here in papagayo for 10 days...it's been a heavenly vacation!!! a much needed break from a busy life....we stayed in the rooms right by the pool...we were on the 4th floor and from the back of the room had a view of the beach from the doorway in front had a view of the pools and another beach....it's a gorgeous property....the rooms are lovely, spacious and very clean. the pools are really nice...there are so many spots to go that you never feel crowded...2 beaches, 3 pools, plus a little kids pool...we went to the kids club and it seems really fun...the restaurants have very good food...there are numerous activities....daily there are classes and different activities to do...we went on the tour at the golf course and saw monkeys, coatis, birds, a lot of wildlife...my son surfed a few days..and loved the surf spots...we took a taxi to tamarindo for the day...we also took a private boat tour one afternoon...we all loved it...we saw the sights, snorkeled, knee boarded and paddle boarded..we all had spa treatments also, which were fantastic!..the staff is so friendly and very helpful...they were so cute with the babies...everyone we talked to was so nice and would do anything for you.....i would definitely come back and would recommend this amazing hotel...

Room Tip: i liked where we were because it was close to the pools and restaurants...very easy to go back and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jolynm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear jolynm, Great to know the entire family enjoyed Costa Rica and the time with us. Your review is full of great information and explains the resort and the activities and services offered so well, nothing I could add to it – an action packed vacation place. Wonderful to know you are thinking of coming back soon. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
2,190 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 661 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

You are located between a jungle and a beach, the resort is lush and tropical. The staff is friendly and helpful. You have a pool , spa, bar, restaurants, comfortable room. They ask for your electronics for 24 hrs. They get you involved in recreation without technology. Enjoying a coffee scrub in the resort spa., hikes, looking for howler monkeys, fishing, boating, surfing, looking for blue morphos in the butterfly garden. Then they " Reconnect" you, with your electronics. Cost $$$

Room Tip: Rooms facing beach are quieter, you have monkey sounds coming from the jungle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 387indy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear 387indy, I am so glad you participated in our “disconnect to reconnect” program and enjoyed it. Many of our guests do and our list of things to do, without your iphone is very extensive, just like the complimentary activities we offer all day long. Come back soon … and stay connected with Pura Vida! Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

Absolutely heavenly vacation in Costa Rica from beginning to end. Traveling with our 3 teens (14, 17 and 19) my husband and I spent first 3 nights in Costa Rica at the beautiful, exotic Nayara Hotel (see separate review) in the rain forest followed by 5 nights at the Four Seasons Resort near the Pacific ocean. At the Four Seasons (4S) we watched both the sunrise over the bay and sunset over the gulf.

We used 3Monkies for our private transfers between Nayara and 4S and then 4S back to the LIR airport, which was less expensive than using the 4S private transportation. Our driver even stopped at Peri, the market, in Liberia before getting to the resort so we could stock up on snacks and water. Little did we know that we did not need that much bottle water since the 4S housekeeping provides 12 oz. bottles for your rooms.

Our family had two guest rooms on the Cielo 4th floor (upgraded from our original Brisas reservation). We loved the rooms which included a very large "mosquito protected screened" balcony sitting area with sofa, table and chairs and even a coffee maker. Our view of the ocean from the 4th floor was obstructed due to full green trees. Actually, this is the best time of the year in Costa Rica since the foliage is lush and green, and not brown/dead/bare. We still enjoyed watching the surf through the trees and listening to the sounds of the ocean. Luckily for us, it only rained our last day at the Four Seasons and only for an hour or so.

Everything was perfect! At the resort, we used the fitness facilities, snorkeled on Playa Blanca, sun and swam in the warm calm waters on Playa Virador, learned how to use plantains in a cooking class, paddle boarded at Prieta Beach Club, drove golf carts while touring the golf course on the "Tour of Giants", hiked the Nature trail from one beach over to the other beach, watched the hermit crabs and bats after the sun dropped, listened to the howling monkeys, and looked for shooting stars after dinner. The resort is very remote so to get a real Costa Rican experience and get off this "resort island", we broke up the stay here by taking a couple of excursions. We took the Palo Verde River Boat cruise and a water taxi trip to Playa de Coco. Both were half day excursions and got us back in time to swim before dark. At Playa de Coco, we visited the markets (Auto Mercado near the Pacfico Resort looks like a Gelson's) and dined at Cafe de Playa. Saw humpback whale and calf on trip back to 4S.

Service was excellent! From the twice per day housekeeping service to the beach attendants to the front desk crew, each and every employee were genuine and friendly.

We ate at Tico's (our favorite), Papagayo (good; quintessential resort restaurant), CR Burger Shack (very good - buffalo, beef, turkey or fish burgers and corn dogs; excellent sides) and Congo's (okay; usual Brazilian buffet at dinner but way overpriced and not much of a menu selection for smaller appetites). One of our best meals was at Marea at Prieta Beach Club. The food was delicious, ambience great, and the service was outstanding (note that a service fee is 20%, not 10%, will be applied automatically to your bill). So the only down side to the resort experience is that the restaurants are very, very expensive.

Four Seasons took care of everything! From our departure tax forms and to the delivery of delicious treats every day to our rooms (fruit baskets, various chocolates, and macaroons and plenty of wage bottles). This was definitely one of our top family vacation experiences and hope to come back in the near future. It was an amazing experience at the Four Seasons Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Hotel guest rooms had beautiful views of the ocean or bay, although the trees at this time of the ye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank XrsPappas5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear XrsPappas5, wonderful to read those last sentences!!! “top family vacation” and “hope to come back in the near future” are the rewarding words we love to read and hear. Your review is very detailed and really shows what an amazing place Costa Rica and the Peninsula are. Finally, thank you for your feedback on our restaurants, with a renovation just around the corner, we will rebrand and rejuvenate our outlets to make them fun, exciting and delicious! Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

This was the first visit to both Costa Rica and a Four Seasons resort for my wife and I. The experience the staff at the Four Seasons created was unforgettable. We had several amazing dinners during our stay. Our first was at Di Mare's where we picked our own fresh fish that morning with Di Mare's chef and got advice from him on how to prepare it. Later that night he brought out the most beautiful deep fried snapper we had ever seen. We had cooking lesson another day with the chef from Caracol. Later that day we dined at Caracol and the chef came out twice to greet us with two outstanding dishes. He had remembered us from earlier in the day and wanted to make it a special visit. Everyone went above and beyond on a daily basis to make our trip as relaxing and enjoyable as it could be. Costa Rica itself is a incredibly beautiful. The people have well deserved pride for their country. There were so many things to do from surfing and snorkeling to hiking in a cloud forest. We can't wait to go back with our kids.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank van_williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear van_williams, thank you for your kind comments and especially mentioning our Chefs. They are extremely proud of their dishes, and we are so proud of them. Great food during a vacation is crucial and happy our teams were able to create some unforgettable moments. Come back soon - Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

If you are staying at the hotel, you might want to consider the condos about a mile from the hotel, which is still part of the resort. We have been to the hotel part and the condos, and the condos are much better, but more expensive.

Room Tip: condos are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Nick, thank you for your review. The great thing of course when staying at the Four Seasons, are all of the complimentary activities and amenities we offer. From the various food and drinks samplings offered all day around the pool and beach, to the Star gazing and nature hikes, from the mountain bikes to the snorkeling gear, just to mention a few ... always worth staying with us! Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
2.8 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
3.0 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
El Mangroove, Autograph Collecti...
#4 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
3.1 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#1 of 2 in Playa Panama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
2.0 mi away
Occidental Grand Papagayo by Barcelo
Occidental Grand Papagayo by Bar...
#7 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,813 reviews
16.6 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Property: Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing