We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Service in a Playful Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Whether camping or staying in an Italian Villa, you embark with certain expectations and desired experiences.

If your stay at the Four Seasons on The Papagyao Penisula doesn't meet your expectations... it won't be because they didn't do everything in their power to make it an amazing.

The personal touch:
Beyond an obligatory hello and handshake... Manuel Leal, Resort Manager - Luis Gallotti, Director of Rooms and Rory Rodriguez, Pool & Beach Asst. Manager all made it a point to get to know us; asking how they could optimize our stay and checking in with us multiple times to make sure we were delighted with all aspects of our visit... even asking if they could do anything more to improve it.

It was common to hear the staff say "Thank you, for coming to our country." To each and every member of the Four Seasons staff, we extend our most sincere appreciation and gratitude!

The hotel:
It feels a bit dated but is impeccably maintained. Although, nestled between two broad beaches; don't expect traditional sweeping water views from guest rooms because Costa Rica's conservation policy doesn't allow property owners to arbitrarily clear trees... but that's part of this countries natural and rustic charm.

There are multiple buildings situated close to the pools, restaurants and spa as well as suites and villas offering more privacy but those are as much as an 8 minute trek up the hillsides. Upon arrival we were shown and offered either the room we'd selected or an upgraded suite.

We chose a room on the 4th floor of a closer building, facing the Pacific with large covered porch... a charming spot for morning coffee and candlelight dining. Our view was 60% tree tops and 40% ocean. I'd give it a comfortable 8.

The Hotel Location:
Uniquely positioned on a small peninsula within a hundred yards of two beautiful beaches. The Culebra Bay for sunrise and a lake-like calm; the other on the Pacific Ocean providing more waves and dramatic sunsets.

The property is rather isolated which pretty much, limits you to on-premise dining and requires you to engage in day excursions to get a true feel for the countryside and it's people... which, by the way, can be easily arranged.

Dining:
The resort has 4 restaurants and a covered outdoor lounge serving food as well. Only two of the restaurants were air-conditioned... although, it appeared a third could be closed and may have air-conditioning. Temps while we were there ran in the 90's with high humidity so we ended up eating diner at the two that were air-conditioned or in our room.

Tico's, the lounge had three TVs, which made watching the World Cup games fun. I discovered a margarita made with mango puree and cilantro and the "Tropical Roll", a sea bass sushi incorporating mango and pineapple, with a touch of teriyaki sauce... both were delicious.

The best of the restaurants was Caracol, five minutes away, at the golf course. Chef Jorge has done wonderful job creating an excellent menu, building his staff and incorporating an organic garden. He came out and told us about his take on food sourcing, menu construction and even an intern program, teaching locals about food preparation.

Ask about the local oysters. Yes... warm water oysters. They were an amazing surprise... sweet and tender. Another must; the local, grass-fed fillet... one of the best steaks I've ever had.
Caracol gets a 9 for its menu, food, ambiance, personal touch... and air-conditioning ;-)

Di Mare is Italian cuisine and presents the nicest ambiance of their restaurants.... but very pricey for what we got, considering the uninspired menu and food. We're comfortable with big ticket dinners, in major cities like LA, Chicago and NY. Di Mare gets a generous, soft 7. Maybe we just hoped for more.

Papagayo's made it fun letting you pick out your "Catch of the Day" from that day's, locally caught fish... laid out on ice for the choosing.

Not all of the restaurants were open everyday, so if you want to try them all you should get their operating schedules early on. For example Caracol was closed on one of the nights we'd hoped to go and of the two nights we tried for Congo's, both were closed.

Hotel Activities:
I'm not equipped to comment, in that we chose to do day excursions instead of availing ourselves to hotel driven activities. But I was impressed with the choices for children. We've done outdoor movies in our backyard... but imagine your children watching a movie, under the stars while floating in chairs in the swimming pool. This is an excellent family destination!

Local Excursions:
Most excursions from the hotel are a minimum of 90 minutes driving, except for the smaller zip-lining at Witches Rock, about 20 minutes out. The majority of the driving is done on safe, paved road... with the final few miles, often on dirt roads. I never saw rutted paths nor steep cliffside roads like in southern Italy or in the Andes of South America.

Like the local "tour providers" the Four Seasons offers many full and partial day excursions. They are offered on specific days, hold to managed schedules, can be private or group and run as much as 40% more.

Here on TripAdvisor we discovered CostaRicaBestrips.com... and hit the jackpot. Any trip/tour could be scheduled for whatever day suited us.

We tried them for our first trek... The Palo Verde river cruise where we saw lots of wildlife, including 10' - 15' crocodiles and had monkeys climb into our boat.

We immediately signed up for 2 more excursions: Borinquen for horseback riding, the best zip-lining available, hot springs and mud baths. The next was white water rafting in the mountains on the Tenorio Rver, ending with a surprise visit to an amazing water fall, where my wife and I swam in the mist of the cascading waters.

Our guide, Alex, was amazing. He was part teacher, part guide, part entertainer, part cameraman and part chef. He owns a small restaurant, called a "soda" and brought us some of his octopus and sea bass cerviche - soooo good!

Because he wasn't on a schedule, beyond tour timelines, he made a few added stops along the way to show us interesting aspects of the culture, cities, animals and plant life.

I realize I've stepped outside the norm of a typical "hotel review" but only because a trip like this is about the experience. Ours was equal parts pampering, exhilaration, education and entertainment.

It wouldn't have been as pleasurable and fulfilling anywhere else in Costa Rica - or even, Central America - except for here, at the Four Seasons. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank JLUSTYAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear JLUSTYAN, I am glad you stepped outside the norm of a typical hotel review - WOW, what a great and thorough review! Thousand thanks for detailing your experience for the entire travel community and your feedback to us. Costa Rica is for sure a great destination and has so much to offer. Looking forward to your return visit, past November when we complete our resort renovation ... paradise, just a little better. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,968)
There are newer reviews for Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

878 - 884 of 1,968 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014

The Four Season at Papagayo is a truly wonderful destination. We were greater by Pascal and Manuel upon our arrival with a couple of glasses of champagne and genuine excitement that we had chosen their location for our trip. We were off to a great start that never let up.
One of the hallmarks of The Four Seasons in general is that after a couple of days everyone on the staff knows your name, and at this location your room number. This last detail is important because the property is very spread out and golf cart transportation is a requirement if you, like we did, stay in a villa.
We also had the pleasure of being there while Costa Rica was still playing in the World Cup. While I've never been much of a fan of watching soccer on television the infectious pride of the Ticos in both their national team and the sport in general made us interested in an event that neither my bride nor I would have otherwise paid any attention.
From the beaches, to an excursion that the hotel arranged for us, the fantastic spa, and relaxed dining atmosphere of all the restaurants this is simply a great place to go and unwind.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EricM040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear Eric, we are very glad you had a memorable honeymoon and enjoyed every minute of your stay with us here in Paradise! Ticos are so proud about their performance during the World Cup, and we are happy you had the chance to experience that side of Costa Rica. We sincerely hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again and celebrate with you many years of happiness. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

My husband and I had the wonderful blessing of staying here for 6 nights the first week of July. We enjoyed a comfortable room on the 4th Floor of Building #3 (room 3410). The location of this building was perfect for a very short walk to the pools, beaches and restaurants.
We enjoyed many HOURS just playing in the pool, relaxing and enjoying some of the FS activities. I was surprised to hear that the resort has been open for 10 years as it is in great shape!

The staff here is top notch-- especially the bell staff, Playa Blanca staff and the pool area staff. They are amazing-- always smiling even in the heat of the CR day. They made us feel so pampered- everything from making up our pool chairs to cleaning our sunglasses and serving fresh cold coconuts that they cut open and placed a strawed into for fresh coconut water-- we were spoiled! I especially loved seeing the GMgr, Pascal several time a day-- EVERY DAY! He was always around checking in with guests and hotel staff-- what a treat and what care he takes to ensure the best service. I have stayed in many hotels for work and pleasure and this is the first time I have where I have experienced seeing the GMgr so often. All of the staff seemed like they enjoyed their job at FS and many had been there for several years.

The food was very good-- we expected we would pay hotel prices and knew that we would be in a secluded area. We enjoyed the morning breakfast buffet, Ticos Bar (pizza and sushi were yummy), Congos (Brazilian- we did not try craved meat though as the hot bar/salad bar were enough for us- but it looked yummy! ), we also ate at Di Mare which is fine dining. We enjoyed poolside chips and guacamole (fab!) too.

We brought some snacks and water for our room so that helped in case we had the munchies-- you do get water at the pool and also a couple bottle with turndown service.

One of our favorite onsite activities was the Tour of the Giants where you take a golf cart guided tour around the golf course- you can experience beautiful property, golf course, and see lots of monkeys and other wildlife. We had a great guide named Christian who was very informative. We did not partake in the off site tours- but there are a lot to choose from if you are looking for some adventures-- we wanted to relax and enjoy the property this trip.

They have paddle boards, kayaks, boogie boards and other items to check out and use on their beaches. They also have a surf school there that looked like a great experience.

You can pretty much do as much or as little as you would like! We loved every minute!

PS, they also provide your exit visa and charge it to your room so we did not have to stand in line at the airport- nice touch!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayLilTRAVELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear JayLil, thank you for you kind comments! We all love pampering our guests and what a pleasure doing it while wearing shorts in paradise!
Now, if you consider that we are in good shape after 10 years, you will be amazed once we conclude our renovation in November. We are working very hard on making paradise that little bit better. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

When one imagines a perfect Resort this one is not far off. The restaurants are very tasty and the staff is all suburb and friendly. Furthermore, it is certainly worth booking a room with its own plunge pool (one of the villas) as these often have some of the best views over the water from high points and are very private. The beech was very nice as was the pool and all of the staff working both of these venues were exceptional. Overall the perfect place to recharge during the very cold winter up in the Northeast.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IV12121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear IG, thank you for your great feedback! The villas we have all stunning views indeed and such a pleasure to enjoy with their large balconies, kitchens and outdoor showers. Thank you as well for your kind words about our pool and beach teams - those guys are running all day long and pamper you with Pipa Frias, little food tasting and healthy juices ... just to mention a few of our hourly complimentary offerings, so much better than cold winter days in the Northeast. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

My family and I just returned home from a fabulous week long adventure! Seriously, we did not want to leave! We stayed in a two bedroom villa with a plunge pool (5212 & 5211) which I'd highly recommend. We were hesitant at first, because the Villas are located a short distance from the main building. This was never an issue, as the golf cart drivers (Luis & Antonio our favs) were always available to pick us up and take us back. The property is absolutely gorgeous and meticulously maintained. I can't say enough about the friendly and professional staff! Everyone from housekeeping to Mr. Leal, the resort manager made our vacation amazing! My husband and our daughters (ages 13 & 10) enjoyed paddling boarding, kayaking and snorkeling on the beautiful beaches. I myself camped out poolside with a mojito and constant pampering. During our stay we took in three excursions: Rainforest skywalk, Palo Verde River boat tour and Zip lining at Witch's Rock. We enjoyed all three, but would highly recommend the zip lining. It was only 20 minutes from the resort and the guides (Mario and David) we great! Overall, this was one of our best vacations to date. Looking forward to returning sooner than later!

Room Tip: The Villas are the way to go!
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4Mainers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear Mrs. Mainer, thank you for sharing your experience with us! I am glad to know you enjoyed Costa Rica, our resort and everything we had to offer. One of the best vacations to date - that says it all. And I am sure the next time, after our remodelation in November, it will be even better! Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We just got home from our trip in Costa Rica and had to take a moment to talk about our stay at the Four Seasons which far exceeded our expectations. Every detail was perfect, the staff was five star all the way, we never heard nothing negative from them and they were very warm and friendly, they made our experience even better. There are plenty of restaurants so, you do not get tired of going to the same place, the beaches are beautiful and well-maintained. The views from our villa were breath taking not to mention the monkeys that would swing by in every morning. It truly is a magical place to stay that made us feel extremely welcomed and very relaxed!! Yes, the resort is a bit secluded, we previously arranged adventure tours and airport transfers with Issys tours which is highly recommended in trip advisor! We had no problem with this company. One day they took just our family out on a volcano tour with zip lining and hot springs. We also did sport fishing with snorkeling and had an incredible day! All in all, the Four Seasons in Papagayo gulf is a terrific place for vacationing. We would surely return and recommend friends to go as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sean s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear Sean, it is great to know that you had a wonderful stay with us and that we exceeded your expectations. We feel very proud of our staff and resort - and feedback like yours is just great to read. Creating memorable experiences is our goal, and having you return to the resort is the best compliment. Best regards, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We've always been huge Four Season's fans and the experience in Costa Rica this week only solidified that. Having never been there before, we relied heavily on the expert advice of Camilla and Andrea from the Concierge department. We gave them some "must-see" attractions and let them take it from there. They were outstanding recommendations and everything was right on time. We paid more but the private tours of Sensoria, Land of the Senses (ask for Jose Gonzalez with Swiss Travel to escort you and hope that Joaquin with Sensoria is there to greet you), the deep sea fishing on El Jeffe, and of course the zip-lining at Witch's Rock (ask for Luigi) were over the top! The airport was a breeze and very clean which was also a plus. But what really made this trip was The Four Seasons staff. I've read other comments on Trip Advisor that make me ask "you must not have stayed at the same place we did" because everyone was very accommodating! From the very visible and welcoming General Manager (Pascal) to Adam in Guest Services, Henry at the Playa Blanca, Andrea at Congos and many, many more. All true hospitality professionals. There were lots of food and beverage options on property to choose from and not cheap by any stretch. Something about drinking rum out of a fresh coconut though made it all worth it. The accommodations were exceptional and hearing the waves crash every day along with a Howler monkey wake-up call made us feel like we were somewhere very special. Lastly, the locals there were so welcoming too. They often asked if this was our first trip there and thanked us for choosing Costa Rica as our vacation spot. Loved it, loved it, loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear Richard, it was a pleasure to meeting you and your family during your stay and we are glad to know it was such a success. All the great accolades you are giving us will be shared with our teams - this is the fuel that makes them go strong! Thank you for being a loyal Four Seasons guest, and see you soon again. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
2.8 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,605 reviews
3.0 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
3.0 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort
7.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
7.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range: $681 - $2,762 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing