We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

My husband and I just returned from our honeymoon in Costa Rica, which started with a wonderful 6 day/5 night stay at the Four Seasons. The hotel is stunning, the service was impeccable, every meal was delicious, and we felt completely spoiled all week long. Every hotel employee we interacted with was delightful, polite, courteous, and informative, and took extra care to answer our questions and go beyond their job duties - for example, our waiters told us about fun local hikes, our drivers would pull off to the side of the road to point out wildlife, and the reception staff took care of our departure taxes without us having to ask. It was the ultimate luxury experience and we could could not have asked for a better honeymoon destination. If you can afford it this is the best there is.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Emily, Once more, congratulations on your wedding and Happy Honeymoon. We aim to create great memories and I am glad to know that yours was one to remember for ever. We look forward to celebrating many more anniversaries to come in gorgeous Costa Rica. finally - thousand thanks for the very kind comments about our teams - the TICOS are really special indeed. Best regards, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,523
    278
    90
    31
    16
See reviews for
653
806
18
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pearland, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

A short plane ride and we were in Costa Rica on our way to the Four Seasons Resort. We traveled with friends for a business awards trip. The van that picked us up at the airport was spacious and comfortable, the driver and guide were friendly and funny. The peninsula is BEAUTIFUL, the grounds of the resort are breath taking. From check-in to check-out the staff was amazing. So helpful, pleasant and friendly. We went to Witches Rock for a zipline canopy tour. Loved it, so much fun. A visit to the spa is one of my favorite memories from the trip. Lounging on the beach with lunch and drinks and listening to the waves was fantastic. We learned to make chocolate on the beach. Some of our group went on a chartered fishing trip and brought their catch back to the resort where the chef prepared the fish for our group. It was a kind of a shame we didn't spend more time in our beautiful room, it was so comfortable. I could have spent a whole day on the balcony watching the birds, monkeys and other wildlife. This is definitely a place I want to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Nancy, how nice to know you are a short plane ride away, that means we may be welcoming you back very soon. The new airport has really opened the skies for us and Liberia is an international destination with many flights daily, all week long, all year long. Amazing Peninsula with many activities offered and so happy the chocolate class was a hit - who does not like to eat his/her self-made chocolate. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We traveled here with a small group and our trip was absolutely amazing. This hotel is very zen and amazingly well-appointed. The treehouse design and open-woodsy feel is so relaxing. We had a beach front room and loved seeing the monkeys and iguanas and gorgeous birds.

The buffet was also delicious. We may have developed an addiction to their guacomole.

Great service. Great environment. Resort done right!

Room Tip: Beachfront, all the way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank motogrrl2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear motogrrl, those canopy suites are just amazing indeed, right in the middle of the tropical dry rainforest! And after 10 years, nature has taken over again and we are just so fortunate to have all the wildlife around us. Gorgeous Costa Rica ... and the best solution to a guacamole addiction, is to come back for more. I know once you start with those freshly baked chips ... mmmmmh. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

From the personalized pickup at the airport and ride to the resort (with great history and cultural lessons by our driver along the way) we knew this would be a special family vacation. Once we entered onto the Peninsula, the beautiful views were breathtaking and completely set the mood for what was a fabulous week at the Four Seasons. The service was impeccable - so friendly, so caring, and so thoughtful. Special thanks to Maria, Diego, Brian Roman, Bernardo and all the service providers – they made every day a joy while at the resort. We rented a three bedroom Villa / Residence…with a stunning view of the Pacific side of the peninsula and the bay area. It was an awesome property which allowed our adult children (19 and 22) to have their own space, but the plunge pool, dining room table (card games) and balcony (monkey watching) were perfect for socializing. We feel close enough to the main resort (golf cart shuttles anytime we wanted) with the right amount of isolation to relax. The Concierge was so very helpful – we spent a half day zip line touring (Papagayo Canopy Tours – awesome, Marvin was GREAT!), a full day Deep Sea fishing (we brought back our catch of Mahi Mahi and the Four Seasons Chief prepared it 4 different ways and delivered to our residence and we ate our BEST meal of the trip in the privacy of the Villa – fabulous!), Golf (what a beautiful and fun course – not too hard either!) and finally a nice massage at the Spa (all four of us! Thanks Manuel!). In between we spent time at the beach where Maxwell took incredible care of us…plus a wonderful young man from Salerno Italy – beautiful views, great swimming, coconut with rum out of the shell – yes!). We enjoyed all the restaurants but the Golf Course Grill (hamburgers and shakes) and Caracol (world class dinner and experience) were our favorites….Papagayo’s for breakfast buffet as well. Finally, on the last day as we were waiting to leave the General Manager came by and asked about our stay – I shared ALL the wonderful things plus the only improvement I could make (the cart service could be automated to avoid missing pickups) – thanks for listening Pascal! I would highly recommend this as a luxurious family vacation. It was expensive, but life long memories are never cheap!

Room Tip: Pacific View Villas are a must! While the Hotel rooms are cheaper, consdier staying in the forest i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GDeiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear GDeiter, it was fun to listen to you in the lobby and get all of these great comments about our teams and so wonderful of you to write them all down again with this review. Loving it - and very happy we created Life-Long Memories. That is what a vacation at Four Seasons should be all about. Pura Vida, Pascal - a proud General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed at the Four Seasons for 6 nights/7days and had an amazing time. The service was hands down the best we've had and we've stayed at several 5 star resorts. We traveled with my 6 year old daughter and she enjoyed the sports beach. It was surprising to see all the sporting activities were free. We're so use to getting nickel and dimed at hotels and did not here. My husband loved Paddling boarding and we even did a family kayak ride (all free). We also took their "Whale of the Giant" golf course tour and boy am I glad we did, AMAZING views and wildlife everywhere especially MONKEYS!!! I Loved the happy hour on the Beach every night and the live music. My only complaint was we didn't bring a friend along for my daughter to play with. They're were very little children around, even in the kids club. We went in June which is their low season, so I am thinking if you go during "season" that may not be a problem. Everyone was super friendly and very accommodating at the hotel. I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: We were in a room right next to the pool, if you're traveling with children request one of the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kladis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Kladis, thank you for sharing your amazing experience with us. It sounds to me it was a family activity filled vacation. Wonderful! You are correct - it is during the first couple of months of the year that we are welcoming more families and your daughter would easily have made new friends. Nevertheless, our Kids for All Seasons (KFAS) attendants are ready to entertain and engage with all of our young guests, make sure they have an awesome time while in Costa Rica. We are looking forward seeing you back soon, especially after November when we complete our resort rejuvenation. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Beautiful resort, in an excellent location. We have enjoyed the tranquility and the hospitality of this magnificent place. The golf course is fantastic. I greatly recommend their Italian food restaurant "Di Mare".

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a villa in the "Pacifico" area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaime E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Jaime, thank you for your review - just like you, I love our Arnold Palmer golf course and the great views. All is Pura Vida, and with the Costa Ricans doing so well in the World Cup, you can imagine the passion and excitement going through the resort. Looking forward to your next visit and the opportunity to WOW you in any of our other 5 restaurants. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The Four Seasons resort is a beautiful, magnificent escape with extremely nice staff. But, when you are paying about $1,400/night for a room (about 3x the price of some other 5 start resorts in Costa Rica) the problems and shortfalls become very noticeable. We did take a limo from the airport to the property and they helped us thru customs...nice.

Pros: Beautiful natural setting on a peninsula surrounded by water. Physcial facilities are top notch, well-designed, and maintained with perfection. Room was very nice and well set up with perfect views. All of the staff is extremely nice and will go out of their way to accommodate your every need. There is an adult only swimming pool which is very nice to have for quiet time. The restaurants are very expensive but the food is also very good.

Cons: it is very far (45 minutes to 3 hours away from outside activities), so plan to do pretty much everything there on the property. The suite we were in had construction going on, and I had to complain several times before I asked for the hotel GM, he did stop the construction and gave us a nights stay credited back to us, we didn't want to hear hammering and sawing when we paid so much.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WCG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear WC, once again, sorry for the noisy start of your stay with us. Thank you for reaching out directly and happy to assist with the matter. How exciting to read that you give our staff and our restaurants a big thumbs up A gorgeous place indeed and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
2.8 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,544 reviews
3.0 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
3.0 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
7.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
7.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Property: Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing