We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Rooms:
Amazing finish to everything in the room - beds big and comfortable with lovely soft cotton finish

Food:
Amazingly prepared food from all around the world and service was first class

Resort:

Beaches 10/10
Pools 10/10
Staff 10/10
Spa 8/10 - lose 2 points for rushed feeling when in the Spa waiting area

Overall:

5 nights in pure paradise

Pura Vida!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DubDougTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCos, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Thank you for your incredibly kind words about our pool and beach, food and staff. So glad you enjoyed yourself here in paradise! I am sorry that you were rushed in the spa and will certainly make sure our team knows so we can improve. I hope you can return again so we can pamper you and treat you to some new delicious dishes and fun experiences in Costa Rica. Pura vida,
Pascal Forotti
General Manager
Four Seasons Costa Rica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,968)
There are newer reviews for Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

932 - 938 of 1,968 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014

The Four Seasons was our last stop on a 2 week trip to Costa Rica. We stayed for 3 nights. When we arrived we were lucky to have been upgraded to a suite. This hotel is fabulously beautiful. The grounds are stunning and it's location between the Gulf and Pacific (within walking distance of each) is terrific. Our suite was gorgeous and the very large private patio overlooking the Gulf made us feel very special. The hotel is very spread out so depending on where your room is, you might have to request a golf cart to get to the main hotel area. The pools were large and the pool furniture was very comfortable. The pool staff was incredible in helping us to create the right amount of sun and shade (I like sun and my husband wants shade). They even sent someone around to clean your sunglasses! The hotel staff knows your name and they are very friendly and accommodating no matter where you on on site. We really enjoyed the Costa Rican style restaurant, however we were not impressed with the Brazilian rodizio style buffet. The meat was overcooked and the salad bar was small. We ordered breakfast off the menu since we wanted small portions but the buffet looked wonderful. We also took a sunset nature tour with one of the guides on staff who was very enthusiastic and full of information. We would say, however, that this hotel does not give you much feel for the real Costa Rica. You are basically in a high end resort enclave which truly pampers you. This is exactly what we were looking for after traveling for 2 weeks. However if you haven't seen Costa Rica, the day trips to Arenal or Monteverde would make for extremely long days and do not allow enough time to really enjoy those locations. You are better off staying in those locations for at least a night. There are plenty of onsite activities such as paddle boarding and kayaking and close by activities such as horseback riding. Of course if you are a golfer this is a tremendous place to play and very beautiful. Our stay at the Four Seasons Papagayo was a wonderful way to cap off 2 enchanting weeks in Costa Rica!

Room Tip: The suites are fabulous and very private.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chafffamilytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCos, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review of our resort. I am happy to hear our team was able to add to your stay and you enjoyed the beauty of our unique location. My apologies the food at Congo's was not what you may have hoped for. I hope you are able to return and we will deliver an even more exciting and wonderful stay. We are always creating new and authentic experiences for our guests like our new Costa Rican pottery classes and golf experiences launching this summer. Pura vida and best wishes,
Pascal Forotti
General Manager
Four Seasons Costa Rica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This was our first time in Costa Rica, but we have stayed at many other Four Seasons resorts and hotels, including Halekulana, NYC and Palm Beach.
I will say that the customer service was the best at this property of all, and that says a lot because they were all wonderful;. They know your name from the first moment you enter and throughout the stay there and try their best to keep you happy. We did not meet one service person that was not gracious and smiling and ready to help you. We went for a week with our 2 children, 6 & 8. Of course, they were more interested in the pool rather than seeing the sights, but we did manage to take the tour of the dry forest, Palo Verde, which was well worth the time and it included a guide and lunch.
Unfortunately our 8 year old son caught a stomach bug and was sick on the trip to Palo Verde. The tour guides and drivers did their best to try and make him comfortable, but it was a Four Seasons employee also on the trip with his wife, Javier, that personally arranged private transport for us back to the resort when it was apparent our son was very ill. Wonderful concern!
Back at the resort, a doctor and staff were waiting for us to care for him. Very nice touch.
The entire resort is beautiful nestled on a peninsula between the bay and Pacific, so there are 2 beaches and 4 pools.
We got the private transport to and from the airport, and it was first-class service all the way. We had a beautiful room on the lower floor with a full view of the Bay of Papagayo through some trees. The porch was huge and we had breakfast there daily. The bath was spectacular with Jacuzzi, double sink & shower.
There is a path built into the mountain that lets you walk from 1 beach to the other OVER the mountain-great for a workout! There are about 2000 steps straight up over, and then down and it was incredible although tiring! I will include some photos of the stair complex. We saw monkeys, iguanas and crocodiles there.
If I had to make any negative comment it would be on some of the food. While most was quite good, it was not spectacular and certainly not of the caliber of many of the other 4 Seasons. The best was Tic's Bar Grill, next best was Caracol, then Papagayo. We were actually quite disappointed with Di Mare. It was the fanciest and most costly, yet actually the worst meal we had there! Should have steered clear as many reviewers recommended. The prices were out of this world: $150.00 for a bottle of decent wine; some entrees $58.00. Risotto was $35.00!
Unlike what others had said, however, we found the drink prices and food prices quite reasonable for a resort-certainly no more than any Caribbean destination would be, so we were pleasantly surprised. Also, there was an $8.00 children's menu everywhere, which cut the food bill way down. All in all, the prices were reasonable except as fore mentioned.
Another slight problem is that you are basically captive of the resort. There are no other restaurants or shops within 45 minutes, so god forbid you need something, (like we needed sandals for my son and goggles for my daughter as both had broken), you are forced to buy it there. Swim goggles: $75.00; basic plastic flip-flops: $60.00! That was were the prices seemed out of line.
The assistant managers, pool managers and staff were wonderful. We never met the general manager but saw him many times around the resort.
All in all, it was a fantastic place. We would surely return and recommend friends to go as well.

Room Tip: If you are not booking a resort residence, all of the hotel rooms are the same size. We had as grea...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Backdoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCos, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thank you for your detailed review and I am sorry that we did not have a chance to meet in person, I love indeed walking around the resort and making sure our guests are well taken care off. I am sorry to read that your son caught a bug, and hope that he is better now and has great memories of his trip to Costa Rica. I was happy to hear our team was able to provide some comfort while he was ill.

Also, thank you for the comments about our restaurants. We are constantly working on our menus and offerings making sure our guests find great lunch and dinner options throughout the resort. The resort is a magical place, with wonderful staff and great views, all day sports and cultural activities and beaches to relax … we call it paradise and so glad you enjoyed it. I hope to see you all again soon!

Pura Vida
Pascal Forotti, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

As a caveat, I'll note that we typically stay in very small properties (50 rooms or fewer) when we are on holiday, so this was a departure from that. The property is generally in good condition and the hotel's pickup and dropoff procedures were very smooth. This is a large resort with many rooms, and when it is full, it feels it - particularly in the pool and bar areas. With respect to the latter, we found the bar to be too small relative to the size of the property; if we were traveling with children, we wouldn't care as much, but as a couple who enjoys having some cocktails before and/or after dinner, it left us wanting something more spacious. Overall, it can be a nice getaway for a family (there are loads of activities), but we would not recommend for a couple unless they prefer large resorts and are less interested in privacy. Also, the beach is adequate, but not up to par if one's expectations are the classic white Caribbean sand (it is volcanic, which has its own charm).

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HMMIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCos, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear HMMIII,
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us. I am sorry to read that you did not fully enjoy the resort, mainly due to its larger size and the number of guests we welcomed these past weeks. During the spring break and Easter weeks, we are indeed welcoming many families but always have activities and services available for our couples, such as the private cabanas, private plunge pool suites and Garden and Chef Tables, and so much more. We hope to welcome you back - and please allow us to make that a most romantic stay!
Pura Vida,
Pascal Forotti, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Our family spent a week at the Four Seasons in Costa Rica. I cannot say enough wonderful things about our stay. The resort itself is beautiful, and has every amenity you could possibly desire. The rooms are lovely, there are plenty of restaurants so you do not get tired of going to the same place, the beaches are beautiful and well-maintained and the level of service is as high as I have ever seen.

The high quality of service offered at the Four Seasons cannot be over emphasized. It started with our arrival. Saturday was a very busy day. In order to avoid asking guests to wait in long lines, each family was met individually by a Four Seasons employee, introduced to the resort and then escorted to our rooms. The formal check-in was postponed until later when it could be done more efficiently. Service in the restaurants was flexible and patient, especially given the many requests from our children. The staff was especially superlative when the conditions were a bit more difficult -- for example when the pool is very crowded and there are not enough chairs or enough shade.

My family had a wonderful time in Costa Rica. We are already planning a return visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pool with a view of the Pacific.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyTRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCos, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Amy,
Wonderful to read your review and so glad to know that you and your family are already thinking on planning a return trip. You are very generous with your compliments and my team was proud to pamper your during your stay in Costa Rica.
Hasta pronto - Pura Vida,
Pascal Forotti
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

First, my 16 year old son and I had a blast in Costa Rica, and the Four Seasons resort is a beautiful, magnificent escape with extremely nice staff. But, when you are paying about $1,400/night for the standard room (about 3x the price of some other 5 start resorts in Costa Rica) the problems and shortfalls become very noticeable.

1. Property (5 star)
Pros: Beautiful natural setting on a peninsula surrounded by water. Physcial facilities are top notch, well-designed, and maintained with perfection. Room was very nice and well set up with perfect views. Golf course is outstanding with picturesque views (greens a bit slow). Tennis facilities also very nice with har-tru and one grass court.

Cons: it is very far (45 minutes to 3 hours away from outside activities), so plan to do pretty much everything there. The fitness facility is in 3 rooms on two floors (cardio and free weights, machines, studio), so I found myself running from room to room and going on different floors.

2. Staff (4 star)
Pros: So friendly. They so much want to help. They remember your name. They work hard to make things happen for you, so just ask. Concierge services were superb. Fitness instructor Kelly was 5 star. General Manager was so friendly and responsive (but he has his work cut out for him given some major shortfalls). Room cleaners were excellent.

Cons: Staff has some issues with language...often get orders wrong, don't bring things requested, get bookings incorrect, etc. mostly due to not fully understanding/speaking English. (Our ordering in the restaurant reminds me of the Monty Python Holy Grail scene where the king tells the guards not to let the prince leave the room--search on you tube for 'Holy Grail Guards Scene'). They have too few staff when at peak times. Due to staff shortage, everything is booked up that requires staff--surfing lessons, tennis lessons, educational events, etc.

3. Activities (3 star)

Pros: Great offering for families (but book way ahead as they book up and do not have enough staff to fulfill the request...and there is nowhere else to go that is close). Surfing great but way overpriced ($600/hour for an instructor--$4x $150--as much as most NYC lawyers). Tennis great but only one pro--no slots left, but take the clinic--it is a deal at $30. Golf amazing course, but can't walk it--too far between holes and very, very steep cart paths. Take the Chocolate making course--very educational, but also need to book way in advance.
Cons: Again, not enough staff and EVERYTHING books up, which means you are left sitting by the beach or pool. Also, they go very far out of their way to discourage anyone from hiring the private third party boats on the beach (the beaches are public) or wave runners, etc. Why not just have their own wave runners for guests to rent at a fair price?!?! By the way, I recommend renting the wave runners--fun!! Also, there are absolutely NO events for adults in the evenings. They have a giant property with amazing facilities...why not bring in a DJ and let parents have some fun too on their vacation--dancing and socializing while their kids are either sleeping or with other kids. Instead you are finished after dinner and just go back to your room to watch a $15 movie. They have a beautiful indoor/outdoor pavilion they could set up a bar and bring in a band or DJ. It could be done 3x/week...so easy.

4. Restaurants (2 star)
Pros: friendly staff and the guacamole and chips.
Cons: There are 4, none to which you would return if they were independent restaurants. While staff is friendly, they almost got no orders right (likely language). It is hard to find any food that you would go back for...even at the buffets--poorly flavored, inconsistent, and not properly cooked. Even the burgers they couldn't get to the done-ness requested. I would have put that they have 4 restaurants in the Pros, but when I looked at the menus, 3 of them have 90% of the same menu items--probably share the same kitchen.

All told, I would still go back if it were priced at $400-500/night and then I would book everything in advance (book multiple activities and cancel what you don't want--low chance of booking what you want later). But the extra $1,000 premium per night requires a MUCH higher level than what was delivered. On the food, no matter the price, Four Seasons must do a executive chef makeover here...as there are no other places off the property close enough to eat, and the food is a giant miss.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank MrFordCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Four Seasons is always a favorite. As you saying goes, you get what you pay for. You sure do pay for it at the Four Seasons, but they understand this and deliver the best of everything.
Our travel company had indicated that we had an early check-in, so we arrived early to find that was not the case. They quickly worked to get our two rooms ready while had lunch at the Papagayo restaurant. They had our gluten-free requirement in their system and were quick to give us the correct menus (with lots of options). We had dinner here too during our four day visit and were very happy with all of our meals.
After a long day of travel (our first four days were in the Rainforest), I was disappointed when we arrived in our rooms to find the traditional churros (that were not gluten free). Fred, our customer service person, was apologetic and and sent us some fresh fruit instead. Honestly, I was having a bad day and he handled my poor attitude with care and even checked up on our satisfaction a couple of days later.
Our daughters had an awesome view (first floor, 4101). We paid more for a second floor room (4209) for ourselves and although is was pretty, it was not worth the extra $$. There is a complimentary laundry room in each building and on each level, absolutely genius. It was so nice to have clean clothes, especially with all of the sweating.
So many activities to choose from that were included. We chose: Cooking class (Tomato Risotto), Sundown Kayaking, Giants Golf Cart Tour (so many monkeys), Morning Nature Hike (Ivan found the most beautiful birds and was extremely knowledgable) and Stargazing. I love when a place combines fun with education, so nice. The fitness area was very useful and covered two floors. There is also nice hiking where you will often see lots of monkeys (700 stair hike, watch the directions closely, it is easy to get lost). The pools were lots of fun with inflatables and toys. Ask prices first. We ordered a fun looking drink and after the fact found out it was $17, our bad, could have ordered a nice lunch salad for that much and enjoyed it much more. The beach, so great, enough said, they continually spoil you.
The breakfast buffet was too good and I think I owe an extra pound or two of my visit to this alone. They had lots of gluten-free options and even made my daughter pancakes a couple of days. I bring my own almond milk, but they did have rice milk if requested.
I had a 90 min Bamboo Massage at the spa. Very relaxing and worth the $$.
Our final night was dinner at Di Mare. The servicer (Walter) was incredible and they brought yummy gluten free bread to start and made necessary accommodations where they could (yes, gluten free pasta, pizza and brownies). This was the perfect choice for our last night.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kenapastore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Guest, I am glad you had a great experience with us, and furthermore, that your dietary needs were fulfilled to your satisfaction. We are very proud of our chefs, who are always looking for ways to satisfy all of our guests' tastes and needs. Thank you for your feedback and Pura Vida! Pascal Forotti, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
2.8 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,601 reviews
3.0 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
3.0 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
7.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
7.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range: $670 - $2,722 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing