We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Remote location to play a round of good, not great golf with some dramatic views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
310 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Remote location to play a round of good, not great golf with some dramatic views”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We booked this hotel specifically to play the golf course which is unique and memorable. But it has several, mainly three pars, which are too hard for an average player and the rest of the holes are actually too easy. So nice location but so-so course. But the highlights of our visit were a fabulous meal (arugula salad and chicken parmesan) at Di Mare restaurant and Steven, one of the concierges, who miraculously retrieved my bathing suit from our previous hotel an hour and a half away. Facility ambiance is only marred by the property location which seems to block sunsets, at during the dry season when most of us come. Otherwise, this is an excellent upscale hotel. Free if grummpy WiFi.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear AnnandBob, Thank you for your feedback and for making it a special golf related trip. Sorry to know that you felt some of the course not challenging enough, and other holes tougher. Wonderful to know that our new dishes, like the Chicken Parm were a hit and that at the end, you can rate us - an excellent upscale hotel. Best regards, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,469
    271
    87
    30
    16
See reviews for
622
781
18
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carver, Minnesota
Level Contributor
176 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on a company trip, and from the moment we arrived we felt very welcomed. Our meals were fantastic, our group ate at a different restaurant each night. The first night we had a buffet dinner on the beach.
The pools are wonderful. There is so much to do right on the property, we walked the trails and saw many monkeys and beautiful birds. They were very helpful helping us choose excursions off sight as well. It was a great experience. We hope to return to Costa Rica soon!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jwfalk78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear jwfalk78, We are so glad that you and your group had a memorable stay with us ! Moreover, exciting to know that you had the chance to experience many of the activities that our teams are getting ready for our guests daily. With our tenth anniversary year going strong, follow us closely for many special deals and promotions. We are ready to pamper you again. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2014

My husband and I went to this hotel for our honeymoon in early January. We had a truly amazing experience, starting with the bottle of champagne and chocolate-covered strawberries in our room! All throughout our stay people were aware that we were in our honeymoon, and treated us incredibly well, treating us to champagne and asking us if we needed anything else (ALL the time). Breakfast was delicious, we tried absolutely everything, it was simply amazing!!
We completely recommend this hotel for any kind of trip: honeymoon, family, couples. The hotel has activities for everybody!
Thank you Four Seasons Papagayo for an unforgettable honeymoon!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBE14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear MBE 14, thank you for your comments and congratulations again! A honeymoon is such a special occasion and important for us - to welcome you back for the upcoming anniversaries. Our teams are ready to pamper you again, they are creating magic moments and memories every single day. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This location is private, relaxing, and luxurious. We stayed for 5 nights over spring break, and I can honestly say they were some of the most relaxing nights of my life. The private beaches and the infinity pools are spectacular. Love the staff too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tessalexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Tessalexandra, What is the next opportunity for you to come and visit us - Easter maybe? Our reservation team is ready and with our Tenth Anniversary in full swing, plenty of great opportunities for all. Come back soon. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis, tn
Level Contributor
120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The Four Seasons Papagayo is so fabulous that we are already planning our next trip! It was really top notch. It is on a peninsula amidst a jungle. We saw monkeys, iguanas, parrots, etc. everywhere, every day. The staff was wonderful. We sat on the beach and had waiters coming up regularly with cold towels, fresh fruit popsicles, coconut drinks..we jet skied with a pod of sting rays, went bird watching, had a cooking class, got a bamboo massage at the spa, ate divine food. It was heaven. I'm just so impressed by how Costa Rica has preserved its environment and prevented commercialism. It's really a jewel.
Tips: Order the 18th on the green cocktail at the bar for a real treat. It's like a mojito but with basil and cilantro. Get a bamboo massage at the spa. They knead your back with a bamboo stick as though they were kneading dough. Divine. When on the beach, ask for a coconut when you get thirsty. They'll put in a splash of rum if you want :) Bring ear plugs if you want to sleep in. The monkeys and birds can be a little loud.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank popartpooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Popartpooch, Your review sounds like the perfect vacation – and so happy to know you are already planning your next trip. We are ready for you and will tell the monkeys to be less loud! And may I suggest on your next visit you try out our new bikes, the sunset kayak and chocolate making class? Pura Vida and looking forward to welcoming you soon again. Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clair Shores
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

All I can say is WOW, best Four Seasons I have visited. Great Atmosphere, waking up and seeing Howler Monkeys in the trees beside love bird parrots is a great experience. The team at the Four Seasons is very welcoming and hospitable. No request is too great.

The SPA is definitely a place to relax and decompress. The masseuse was great had a deep tissue massage and it was certainly one of the best.

Will definitely revisit.

Room Tip: Any room has a great view, higher floors allow you to see into the treetops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Redbird21623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear RedBird21623, Glad to know all went perfectly well and you enjoyed your stay. Being surrounded by nature, it is always amazing to see the animals close up – and getting pampered at the Spa is a great way to get into Pura Vida mode. Hasta pronto – Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This is an amazing property and experience. The setting is magnificent on the Papagayo Peninsula. The abundant wildlife and great seashore are a unique blend. But what makes this a truly special place is the service which is off the charts. Every staff member is polite, friendly and could not be more helpful. We were there for 9 days and are flying back as I write this. I can not say enough nice things about this location. We have traveled all over the world and stayed at many luxury hotels. This one is right at the top. Congrats to them on their 10th anniversary. I am sure they will have many more.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a residence villa. What a view! And very spacious and comfortable. We are spoile...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BHW4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear BHW4Travel, Thank you for your kind words - about the resort, the area in general and our teams. And our 10th Anniversary this week was a success, looking forward to many more – and share them with you. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
2.8 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
3.0 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
3.0 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
7.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
7.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Property: Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing