We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Cockeysville, MD
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here at the end of a long trip involving a cruise and a land week in Costa Rica. I wanted to stay specifically at this hotel because of the many great things I had read about it. Although it is beautifully situated and is very modern, overall, for a Four Seasons Resort, this is a very disappointing product. The rooms are large, modern, attractive, and soulless. Two of the four restaurants were closed, including their signature restaurant and their Italian restaurant. Had we been advised that this could be a problem when we booked some months ago, we would not have stayed here. None of the open restaurants were air conditioned, and the climate is still warm and sticky, not what you expect on an evening of fine dining in an exclusive resort. Our last evening we actually ordered room service, and had pizzas in our room, a very, very disappointing end to our trip. There was no tour of the property, and no tour or explanation of our room upon checkin. Meal service tended to be slow. The two beaches are very nice, but the two pools are about what one would expect for a luxury resort, but certainly nothing over the top. The architecture is modern, but the overall ambience of the hotel, including the architecture, could be found anywhere in the tropics. There was just nothing special about this property. The Four Seasons Resort at Hualalai on the Big Island of Hawaii, by contrast, is the very embodiment of royal Hawaiian style, and in contrast to this property, has been one of my perennial favorites. This property also pales in comparison to the Springs Hotel in Spa in Arenal, which is far more Costa Rican and over-the-top spectacular, than this property. I do wish we had known about the closed restaurants, as that would have immensely impacted our travel planning. This is not a property to which I would return.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
13 Thank ajgeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear guest, I am so sorry to read your feedback about your most recent stay with us and knowing that we did not deliver what you had expected from this Four Seasons. I sincerely apologize for the fact that not all the restaurants were open during your stay with us in Costa Rica, it is correct that during the month of September and October, we close periodically some of the outlets for a yearly maintenance, trying always to keep a variety of choice available to our guests. Although we are not able to change much on the architecture or layouts of the resort, together with my team, we will look at more ways to make it a more “Costa Rica” experience and hopefully we will have a chance to welcome you back on the near future. Best regards, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,381
    256
    84
    27
    14
See reviews for
588
738
18
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

What an amazing time at a beautiful resort!! We stayed in a 2 bedroom Villa and it was HUGE & very clean (I am a clean freak) Loved the remote control screens for the patio and grill room and adult only pool.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Susan,
It is great to know you had an amazing girls get away and that you enjoy your stay. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had our destination wedding there last month (September 2013). I have no other word to describe our week stay there other than "Perfection!!"
The location is secluded to ensure privacy. You have two private beaches to choose from, one for quiet reading time and the other more active beach has daily activities offered by the resort for no additional charge. The food there was delicious! They have four restaurants to choose from so you have plenty of options to choose from. However, the thing that impressed us the most was the service!

The staff and especially the conference service manager Jean Pierre Hansen went above and beyond to make our wedding the most perfect day we could have asked for. From the minute we arrived, we were treated like royalty and they made sure every little detail was executed perfectly. I can not begin to thank Mr. Hansen and his staff enough for all they did for us and our guests. They made our wedding a dream come true and we will be forever grateful to them.

We will definitely be going back hopefully very soon!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Alissa,
I am very happy to know that your wedding was perfect. Such an important event in people’s lives, has to be perfect!! I will share your comments with our staff, so they get excited as well. I hope we are able to welcome you back to celebrate your first wedding anniversary! Best regards, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
92 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

The best service I have ever experienced any where
Food great
People friendly
Even grounds keepers say a happy Hola
Cool activities including ATVS AND Zip Lining and surfing and fishing
Restaurants are lovely

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank networkConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear guest, that sounds like so much fun! I am glad you enjoy your visit! Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Amazing...As every Four Seasons seems to be actually.
The location is just superb - two beaches with completely different views and atmospheres.
Lots of activities - great food and great service.
Very pricey but that's to be expected when you decide on a Four Seasons.
Costa Rica has so much to offer in terms of activities and things to see and do.
I could live here permanently!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Debbra you will certainly love living here permanently!! I hope we have the opportunity to at least, welcome you back in the near future. Best regards, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC, USA
Level Contributor
222 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

We sprung for a one bedroom suite (villa) with a plunge pool. Once in a lifetime accommodations and view. Everything about the resort is larger than life and spectacular (prices included). Small things about Four Season's service continually surprise you...like the cold towel and bottle of water offered by the gatehouse guard when we were hiking past. Only downside is that the property is VERY remote from everything...we rented a car so that was not an issue for us.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for sharing your experience with us. Glad to know that you had a great experience. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

GREAT:
Staff and service was very professional, friendly, and eager to please.
Beach properties were serene and truly magical.
Food was very good (at resort prices).
I do not golf but this place made me wish I did. (recommend taking the property tour through the golf course)
Explore the property including the other beaches.
Check out the Beach Club for a great restaurant alternative to what is on the main resort. The beach is also unique (black sand with different waves/weather) and worth making use of.

CAUTION:
The resort provides excursions/adventure itineraries which are priced very expensively for what can be easily be accomplished for much less if you drive yourself to the locations.

Room Tip: The standard rooms available for public booking (aka not a property owner or timeshare holder) is li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Jamin, good to know you enjoy while in our slice of paradise. Thank you for your comments. Pura Vida, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
2.8 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
3.0 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
El Mangroove, Autograph Collecti...
#4 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
3.1 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#1 of 2 in Playa Panama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
2.0 mi away
Occidental Grand Papagayo by Barcelo
Occidental Grand Papagayo by Bar...
#7 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,809 reviews
16.6 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Property: Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing