We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

As one expects when staying at a Four Seasons, everything was perfect, expensive, but perfect. The golf course is stunning, the staff gracious, the toiletries are Origins. Favorite dish was the tamarind beef ka-bobs in the bar. Dinner at the golf club was outstanding.

We loved watching the monkeys, lemurs, iguanas, smaller lizards, and all the birds.

The breakfast buffet is very good, but too expensive if not included in your rate.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a two bedroom villa, where it was very quiet and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,347
    248
    82
    27
    15
See reviews for
579
717
16
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is a beautiful resort, but was overrun with children. The only place on the property without children during our 10 day visit was the adult pool, and several times, we had to have the staff remove a few.

Don't get me wrong, this is a beautiful place, but when the bar has a kid's menu, and resembles a day care facility (gross amounts of food all over the floor) you know this resort is not the place for a romantic get away. I am not talking about just during the day, but there is one bar on the property and it was full of children until late into the evening. There was NO place on the property for adults to have a drink, let alone dinner, without children running, unsupervised, everywhere.

We asked the manager of the resort why they did not cater, at least somewhat, to adults, we got some line about "future Four Seasons guests".

I think they need to worry more about their CURRENT Four Seasons guests.

Food was average, which is fine, but the prices were high given the average quality.

The service was very good when you can get it. Escape to the "Beach Club" which is run for the community, and you can escape most of the children.

Room Tip: Get on an upper floor, away from families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCOSPFGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear David, I am sorry you found our resort “too child friendly” and could not have the experience you were looking for. I will follow up with our staff so we take care of all of our guests accordingly. We certainly hope that you may give us another chance some day in the future to make it up to you! Best regards, Pascal Forotti, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Everything is first class, as you'd expect from the Four Seasons. But the warmth, helpfulness and genuine interest and friendliness in their staff is truly special. This is a little bit of paradise, with howler monkeys, pizotes, iguanas and so many birds right on the property. Two fabulous, ridiculously warm beaches are different and only a minute apart from each other. Never crowded, amazing food with a local touch, peaceful pools and lots of opportunities for excursions. We rented a car, which was great to see more of this remote part of Costa Rica, and explored several beach towns south of the resort.. The tours we took to various sights included well-educated and informed local guides. All in all, perfection...and because it's a Four Seasons, it's not an inexpensive trip by any means, but it is memorable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SLG52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altadena, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband and I had an amazing time in Costa Rica.. We just returned earlier this week, September 30th. We had the good fortune of staying at the Four Seasons Resort located in Peninsula Papagayo.. The hotel is beautiful.. It was surrounded by plush green lands as well as the amazing views of the ocean.. We stayed during their low season so the hotel was very quiet.. 2 of their 4 restaurants were closed for renovations however the remaining restaurants were happy to serve items from the other 2-restaurant menus. They also had a few additional renovations throughout the resort however they did their very best to remain as quiet and unseen as possible. Each pool has a staff member ready to greet their guests with a chair set up followed by refreshing ice cold water. The hotel had plenty of complimentary activities that varied from: kayaking, paddle boarding, snorkeling, morning hikes and afternoon hikes. I would suggest a few things prior to visiting. First is transportation, the resort is relatively secluded therefore it’s about a 45-min drive into the next town. Taxi's can be expensive as can the transportation provided by the resort. The resort typically offers water taxi's however however since it was the low season they were not available due to maintenance. An additional option is renting a car for the day which the hotel has an agreement with National Rent a Car at: $125 per day. We were given a Toyota Rav-4 which included a full tank of gas as well as a GPS (no need to refill the tank when you return). We rented it for 2-days and went out on a few excursions which included visiting Arenal, Rainforest hike, Tram and a wild land boat tour. On our way home after the first evening of having the car we stopped at a local market to buy a couple of bottles of wine and snacks to take back to our room.. Meals at the hotel can become expensive. They include a 10% service charge which is on top of their 13% sales tax. Overall we had a great time.

Room Tip: Each room is nice, they each have a view of the ocean.. At night you get a couple of crab visitors t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liliana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My wife and I spent 5 nights at this beautiful facility. The staff could not have been more gracious or more friendly. Everything was first class. The facility sits on a peinsula with the Pacific Ocean on one side and a bay on another with the large pool in the middle. In some spots the peninsula is only 100 yards across. The beach and waves on the ocean side were fun, and the bay side beach offered stand up paddle boarding and kayak rentals. This was a grown ups only trip, but our kids would have loved the facility and beaches along with the many attractions within a couple hours drive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaandbeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This property is first class. They offer everything the well seasoned, and well heeled traveler can ask for. We loved the service and amenities. However, we found the tour and activity packages to be overpriced. If you are coming to scuba dive, book direct with a local shop, Rich Coast is great. Its about 50% the cost. If you want to visit the parks, call Mardigi Tours. They are first class and about 60% of the cost of the hotel tours. They take small groups (there were two of us) and they pick you up and bring you back. Between the hotel and the local operators, you can have a tremendous experience in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SETraveler_Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Loved this place. It amazed me how close two totally different beaches could be. The bay side and beach side were steps away from the central pool. Our room was on the bay side close to all of the activities. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. Room service was timely and accurate. We loved having our breakfast on our screened-in patio. We will definitely come again. Best vacation ever.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gulf of Papagayo hotels
2.8 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,128 reviews
3.0 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
El Mangroove, Autograph Collecti...
#4 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 stars 528 reviews
3.1 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#1 of 2 in Playa Panama
4.0 of 5 stars 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 stars 941 reviews
2.0 mi away
Occidental Grand Papagayo by Barcelo
Occidental Grand Papagayo by Bar...
#7 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.0 of 5 stars 2,714 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#2 of 3 in Sardinal
4.0 of 5 stars 5,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Property: Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing