We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Great resort, beautiful setting, excellent customer service. I won't bother repeating the accolades heaped on by other reviewers - I'd certainly agree with all of the positive comments! - but I did want to share takeaways and tips from my recent trip with my significant other. (A) We stayed at a Barisa Room with ocean views and a terrace. The terrace is screened in which is awesome (the screen is barely visible and not obtrusive at all). The result is that you can hang out there, eat on the terrace, leave the doors open and listen to the ocean while you sleep with no fear of mosquitoes or other insects. Huge positive (B) Breakfast buffet is nice but at $45/person (that is the total with required 10% gratuity charge and tax) it gets to be a bit steep to do it daily. A nice experience once, but for other days I'd suggest doing room service for breakfast. Also, free coffee and tea is offered in the lounge right outside of Papagayo's during breakfast time (C) Do the Holistic Papagayo Pedicure at the spa. Best pedicure of my life. I think the person who helped me was named Gabriela. (D) Check out the on-site art gallery/cafe for beautiful ceramics , carvings and jewelry for sale by local Costa Rican artists. My favorite is Tony Jimenez. They also have some nice items at the gift shop within the hotel. Note: the Liberia airport also sells this stuff, but believe it or not, the prices seem more reasonable at the Four Season shops. (E) Difficult to arrange for a group tour on Sundays so plan accordingly. As we were traveling as a couple, if we wanted to do anything on Sunday - barring this insanely crazy climb a wall /go rappeling/ swing through the jungle adventure experience (no, thank you) - pretty much our only option through the hotel was to do a private tour for $600-$700. We opted out of the private tour and ended up doing a "non-recommended" fishing/boat through a local person who was soliciting for business on the beach. I am not suggesting/recommending you do it, but our trip turned out fine. (F) Heed the "Beware Jelly Fish" signs. Lots of Jellyfish - big and small - on the beach. (G) Go ziplining. Do the Papagayo Canopy tour rather than Witch's Rock. At the Papagayo Tour you get to zipline over the Tempisque River. (H) L'Occitante products in the bathroom - fab! Alas, all the samples I took from the hotel got confiscated at the airport. Note: Heed all the airport security signs. Word to the wise: There are two checkpoints for liquids. Once through security, another immediately prior to boarding the plane. They aren't kidding around...make sure your regulation size bottles are in a plastic, ziplock baggie, or prepare to go home empty-handed! In closing, awesome trip. Would definitely return to Four Seasons Papagayo. Our trip was during dry season so weather conditions were beach perfect, however, I'd be up for going during rainy/green season just to see how beautiful it must be there...and of course, would choose to stay at Four Seasons Papagayo!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShuliQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFFSCOS, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Shuli, thank you for your kind words and taking the time to write this very detailed review. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed most of your stay, and that you would like to visit us during the green season. As you say, it is beautiful in here during that time of the year and we have lots of indoor activities so our guests can enjoy the beauty of the green surroundings and have a great time at the same time! I hope you are able to return and experience more Pura Vida. Pascal F., General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,318
    247
    81
    27
    15
See reviews for
568
705
16
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My mom and I went here over one of my school breaks, and it was fantastic! we were treated well and it it really truly first class! i can't say anything about the price because i don't know about it really or anything, but i had such an amazing time that i really don't even care. it was a little slice of heaven from the hard-working world and challenges in life. however, out of all the places i've been, (hawaii, paris, mexico, bahamas, etc, and out of all of the Four Seasons Hotels i've been to or visited, this is by far the most memorable. the views when you first arrive will take your breath away. the food was delicious, and the beaches were beautiful and amazing. there are also days where you can eat fabulous food on the beach where there are MASSIVE buffets! The hot tub spa is so relaxing, and all of the trips that you can go on are so much fun! this resort really does give you a first-class taste of Costa Rica. however, keep in mind that if you have sensitive skin, there are SOME microscopic jellyfish in the ocean, but they kind of move around to different areas. when i went on one of the snorkeling tours, i got bit quite a bit, so next time i'm just going to wear a long sleeve shirt designed for snorkeling. do not listen to ANY of the bad reviews! take it from somebody that had the time of her life there! there is a fantastic kids club and i even got my hair done! i can't wait to go back and experience this fun again! In some pictures, however the ocean doesn't look too clear, but no, the ocean is a gorgeous aqua-blue color and is exceptionally clear! don't forget to pack your shades and sunscreen, and have an amazing time!

Room Tip: If you choose the room closer to the pools and restaurants, then you're closer to everything and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerforeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great hotel, with beautiful views. The service is perfect . They know your name the first day. They have 4 pools one that is an adult only pool. The food was fine but have had much bEtter. The location of the resort is pretty far away from many of the excursions but they have day trips with transportation. If you go to costa rica this is the best place to stay!

Room Tip: Stay in building 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank krochetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We are currently at the FS Costa Rica and thoroughly enjoying it. We are 2 adults and 2 kids, ages 7 and 9. Couldn't wait to get home to write a review, because we are having so much fun comparing this property to the FS in Maui, where we have stayed 3 times. Both are fantastic. Here are some differences:
- there is far more pool area appropriate for kids at this property. Depths here are no more than 42", which allows our kids to stand easily, but also allows us adults to swim easily. Great family fun in the plentiful pool space. Also, kids have been having lots of fun underneath the bridge that crosses one of the pools.
--snow cones (like shave ice) offered poolside at no charge here
--towels are easily accessible by pools here, you grab them as needed from shelving (in addition to those initially provided by pool attendant)--in Maui, the attendants are the towel keepers.
--not surprisingly, more wildlife to see here--monkeys, iguanas, pizotes, amazing birds, all without leaving the property
--super hot here--it is the second week of April and in high 90s. So, hotter and more humid than Maui.
--food is comparable--very good, aiming to please and cater to what you want, a nice Latin flair/inspiration to it here.
--great 20-minute room service menu
--the standard (non-suite) rooms are closer to the ocean than in Maui--we hear and see the waves crashing from our lovely screened-in terrace (we're in a 2nd floor rm). Screen is motorized and can be easily opened or closed
--terrace is spacious, with couch, end table, another table, and several chairs. We are spending our room-time mainly on the terrace.
--beaches are slightly closer to pools, here, and there are two, versus one at Maui property
--used a kayak at no charge today--they rent them for a fee at Maui FS
Staff is very friendly, as in Maui.
Overall, a wonderful resort!

Room Tip: We tried to fit us two adults in one double bed and the two kids in a double bed... Poor sleep the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 433TracyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed in one of the villas up the hill. It was a beautiful three bedroom, with a private infinity pool. The layout of the villa was fantastic, and the views were excellent. The howler monkeys woke us each morning around 5 am, you would think this was a problem but it was actually quite enjoyable. Something about being in the midst of nature, (wrapped up in luxurious bedding of course). Our travel group in the villa was two couples and a single, the villa is actually three separate buildings with a shared common area, very private. In my opinion the views are spectacular as in Maui, but on a smaller scale. The Four Seasons is far out on the Papagayo Peninsula and has the feel of being on an island surrounded by water. The room service staff was first class, one of our favorite daily functions was our little group breakfast by the villa's infinity pool. Do not miss the nature tour around the golf course, the director is passionate about his work preserving nature and it shows during the tour. I think about my experience there all the time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rlvan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Ho Kus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The resort is terrific. The accomendations are top notch. Beach is sandy, ocean is aqua blue and clear. Pools are great. The staff are all so warm, friendly and knowledgable. The programs for kids and for teens are outstanding! Truly worth going to!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Anyone who has stayed at a Four Seasons property knows that the service is bar none...and the Papagayo location is no exception. My first stay was a trip w my girlfriends. There were 6 of us, and we opted for one of the spacious cabanas: 2 bedrooms, 2.5 bathrooms, formal dining, full kitchen, office, large living space, and an enclosed dining/grill area. The spa was exceptional, the beach grounds indescribable, the views pure, and the food glorious! My stay w my girlfriends was so memorable that my significant other and I returned just a few months later. During this excursion, we stayed in a suite near the beach grounds. The room was just as immaculate as the large cabana. On both occasions, the service was THE BEST I'VE RECEIVED, and I travel extensively around the globe. The food was great at each restaurant, and I'm still in love w the breakfast fruit smoothies and fresh yogurt parfait. Because of our experience w the Four Seasons, we have since stayed at 4 other Four Seasons properties. And we will continue! Looking forward to our return to the Papagayo location. It was well worth it. ;)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wileyccoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
2.8 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,087 reviews
3.0 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
El Mangroove, Autograph Collecti...
#4 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 stars 510 reviews
24.7 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#2 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 stars 847 reviews
2.0 mi away
Occidental Grand Papagayo by Barcelo
Occidental Grand Papagayo by Bar...
#7 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.0 of 5 stars 2,662 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#2 of 3 in Sardinal
4.0 of 5 stars 5,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Property: Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#3 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Four Seasons
Liberia Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing