We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Rivals Hawaii with stunning views!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rivals Hawaii with stunning views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed in one of the villas up the hill. It was a beautiful three bedroom, with a private infinity pool. The layout of the villa was fantastic, and the views were excellent. The howler monkeys woke us each morning around 5 am, you would think this was a problem but it was actually quite enjoyable. Something about being in the midst of nature, (wrapped up in luxurious bedding of course). Our travel group in the villa was two couples and a single, the villa is actually three separate buildings with a shared common area, very private. In my opinion the views are spectacular as in Maui, but on a smaller scale. The Four Seasons is far out on the Papagayo Peninsula and has the feel of being on an island surrounded by water. The room service staff was first class, one of our favorite daily functions was our little group breakfast by the villa's infinity pool. Do not miss the nature tour around the golf course, the director is passionate about his work preserving nature and it shows during the tour. I think about my experience there all the time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rlvan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,381
    256
    84
    27
    14
See reviews for
588
738
18
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Ho Kus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The resort is terrific. The accomendations are top notch. Beach is sandy, ocean is aqua blue and clear. Pools are great. The staff are all so warm, friendly and knowledgable. The programs for kids and for teens are outstanding! Truly worth going to!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Anyone who has stayed at a Four Seasons property knows that the service is bar none...and the Papagayo location is no exception. My first stay was a trip w my girlfriends. There were 6 of us, and we opted for one of the spacious cabanas: 2 bedrooms, 2.5 bathrooms, formal dining, full kitchen, office, large living space, and an enclosed dining/grill area. The spa was exceptional, the beach grounds indescribable, the views pure, and the food glorious! My stay w my girlfriends was so memorable that my significant other and I returned just a few months later. During this excursion, we stayed in a suite near the beach grounds. The room was just as immaculate as the large cabana. On both occasions, the service was THE BEST I'VE RECEIVED, and I travel extensively around the globe. The food was great at each restaurant, and I'm still in love w the breakfast fruit smoothies and fresh yogurt parfait. Because of our experience w the Four Seasons, we have since stayed at 4 other Four Seasons properties. And we will continue! Looking forward to our return to the Papagayo location. It was well worth it. ;)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wileyccoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We paid extra for fourth floor room. It was worth the price for the view. I recommend those rooms for couples. Both building 2 and 3 have obstructed ocean views. We first stayed in building 3 but found it loud in am with various water activities and children on the Playa Blanca beach. The hotel moved all of our belongings to a new room in building 2 while we were out zip lining. Even the safe and contents were moved and placed exactly the same as they were in the prior room. Building 2 should be your choice. Hotel is too far to really see sights of country unless you are willing to drive 3 hours each way. Better choice is to rent car on arrival take a couple of days to see the volcano, mineral pools etc and then come to the hotel to be pampered. If you want to go fishing, snorkeling or just get away from the hotel I recommend ISSY TOURS. We used them and were impressed with Michael and David who took us to a local Resturant that cooked our catch for lunch. Their prices are much more competitive than the hotel. We did use Witch's Rock Canopy Tour from hotel and we would do it again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank william s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hotel did not disappoint as it once again showed why this is the premier hotel name. We were greeted promptly with all issues, that seem to arise when traveling, taken care of by multiple members of the conceirge team. Our room was somehow bug free the entire week despite being just a few feet from the ocean. Rooms were just as expected, roomy, clean, well appointed, with a very nice, large bathrooom and shower area along with a nice sitting patio. The property was beautiful with a bay beach and an ocean beach separated by 4 pools, all in a span of a 3 minute walk. Food was very good in most restaurants and the golf course was second to none when lloking at the grass quality (no sawgrass) and views fit for multuiple postcards. Monkeys and iguanas all around. If you want to be pampered and not nickle and dimed, pick a Four Seasons: free sunscreen, bug spray, bottled water, enough pillowed lounge chairs on the beach and not feeling that any kindness was just to get a tip. In fact, many workers declined tips saying they were just doing their job.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
110 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We (2 adults, 1 5 year old) stayed at the FSP for 4 nights during the middle of spring break.

The hotel is about a 30 minute drive from the Liberia airport and the entire peninsula is quite beautiful. Service, especially the bell desk and valet, was exceptional. Service at the restaurants and by the pool were at typical Four Seasons standards.
The room we had (an El Cielo) was nice and large with a great view of the Playa Virador. They put our daughter's name on the tub and had plenty of kid friendly amenities (robe, sink caddy) in the room to make her happy.
Rooms are huge, plenty of space. One great feature was the laundry on each floor, complete with detergent and fabric softener. The beaches were clean and service, including sun tan lotion and aloe, were great. Given that it was Spring Break, there were quite a few kids at the pool, and we encountered people "reserving" chaises. Its Spring break, it happens.
Food at the Papagayo, Congo, and Caracol were expensive but tasty. The little bar next to Papagayo restaurant actually had a great variety of tapas style dishes.

A few things that maybe werent super positive:
1. The concierge, while very friendly and helpful, would not make activities reservations for kids under the age of 7. We wanted to try surf lessons, zip lines, and horse riding, but since our daughter was 5, the concierge couldnt make the reservation, so we had to call Witch's Rock ( a great operation just outside the gates with friendly staff focused on safety) and the onsite surf instructor directly. My guess is that the FS staff didnt want the potential liability.

2. When we checked in, the receptionist told us that our initial room was not ready but that an "upgraded" El Cielo room was ready, if we were willing to fork over an extra $50/night. We refused, the receptionist went back to speak with someone, and then told us she'd give us the upgraded room regardless. I thought this was a very strange attempt to get some extra $$$ from us.

3. The WiFi is suboptimal. One has to pay for it in the rooms (yuck) but it is free in the lobby. The connection wasn't great and there was minimal service at the pool/beach which would have been nice.

Would we stay here again? Yes, we had a great time. But we would hope that the FS would make the WiFi changes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cubsfan73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

My partner and I stayed here over the Easter period. We are big fans of Four Season hotels and resorts, having stayed at many of them around the world.

First impressions of the resort was based on the room, a Cielo room on the 3rd floor. The room was underwhelming to say the least and does not compare at all well versus other Fours Season resort hotels.

Although the hotel sits on a large and lovely peninsula, the actual resort felt very claustrophobic, with the restaurants, bar, pool and room blocks all on top of each other. It felt more like a Sheraton than a Four Seasons. The pools were very crowded, swarming with kids, and not very relaxing.

We tried all the restaurants, including the Beach Club Marea restaurant and the Caracol Steak house. The setting of these last two is the nicest, as they are away from the hotel and make the most of the views and scenery. Caracol is a typical steak restaurant, overpriced and not particularly good food. Of the restaurants at the main hotel complex we enjoyed Congo's the most as we got a table each time as far away from the building as possible, overlooking the beach. The service was also very good in here.

To get away from the crowds we spent most of the time on Playa Virador on the Pacific Ocean side. This is a lovely beach and we enjoyed it immensely and the beach service was generally good if erratic.

I think this is a good resort if you are going with a family, but not so good if you are looking for a quiet and relaxing time.

When we got home I re-checked my bill and realized they had over-charged us on the room rate by about $166 per day. Given the high price for the rooms and additional 10% resort charge, for which you don't get anything extra, I was disappointed. However after emailing the hotel they realized they had made a mistake and said they would post a credit to my credit card. Always check your bill!

Would probably not go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MidAtlanticMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
2.8 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
3.0 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
El Mangroove, Autograph Collecti...
#4 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
3.1 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#1 of 2 in Playa Panama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
2.0 mi away
Occidental Grand Papagayo by Barcelo
Occidental Grand Papagayo by Bar...
#7 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,816 reviews
16.6 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Property: Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing